#WIPpet Wednesday and #ROW80 Update – In which we get a little bit meta

wednesdaybannerHello! It’s Wednesday and I’m so determined for my WIPpet Wednesday post to go up on time this week that I started writing it last night. Since I posted late and missed the linky, some of you might have missed the news that I figured out a lot of stuff in Operation: Nutcracker and have been working on it again! There is still a lot that needs working out, but I feel like I’m getting somewhere with it again and it’s been really exciting visiting Max and Clara again. Though I did have a moment while I had my Nutcracker on Ice DVD on (my neighbours were blaring techno all weekend, so I figured blaring Tchaikovsky back at them was only fair) and I realised I kept referring to the Nutcracker Prince in that as Max. So that’s a thing.

Anyway, for this week’s WIPpet, I have four lines (2 + 2 for the 22nd of January). I didn’t even actually think about what I was writing when I wrote this, and it wasn’t until I sat back and read it and went, “Wait…”

“So now everyone is waiting for their long lost Prince to return home and save them,” Clara summarised, though Max heard the skepticism still in her voice. “I can’t decide whether your life is the plot of a fantasy novel or a Disney movie.”

“Disney movie, definitely,” Max declared seriously.

Silly Max. If only you knew.

Also, on the subject of meta, I found out a thing the other day and it kind of broke my brain a little. The actress who plays Cait in my dream AMCF cast was in a workshop for a musical version of the movie Ever After: A Cinderella Story. Which might seem like not too major a thing, until I add that the character of Prince Felipe is very, very inspired by the character of Prince Henry in that very movie. So I had a bit of a moment then, though now that I’ve written it down, it’s probably not as mind-blowing for anyone else as it was for me. 😛

row80-2As for writing goals, well, I wrote about a page and a half of Operation Sugarplum on my breaks at work on Monday. When added up, said breaks work out at about an hour. Today I took my print out of the current version of AMCF in with me and have really started working on the edits and the Post-It-Noting. I have green ones for where entire scenes need to be moved or changed, orange ones for timeline-related stuff because I’m reasonably sure my timeline isn’t entirely straight, and pink ones for random little changes, including spelling/grammar/”is this even a sentence?!” issues. Though a lot of those are just being written straight in, in pink pen. So that’s my two hours for the week up already, and I plan on doing more editing this evening if I have some time.

I’ve also met my blogging schedule for the last couple of weeks, so that’s pretty awesome.

If you would like to join in on WIPpet Wednesday, simply post an excerpt from your current WIP that somehow correlates to the date (we encourage creativity with the dates) and then link up with us here and check out others’ offerings. As always, thanks to K. L. Schwengel for hosting us. 🙂 If you are more into the A Round of Words in 80 Days, check it out here.

On that note, I’m going to sign off and go back to drinking the tea I bought from the actual Twinings shop in London and listening to an album of the St Paul’s Cathedral Choir singing Christmas carols and pretending I’m back there for the Christmas concert I attended. Catch you all later. 🙂

wordpresssig2

27 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday and #ROW80 Update – In which we get a little bit meta

  1. Kate Frost says:

    Somehow I don’t think Max’s life is going to turn out like a Disney movie… nice WIPpet!

    Hope you enjoyed your tea, while imagining you were back in London at Christmas. 🙂

    Like

  2. Tui Snider says:

    How cool that you visited the Twinings tea shop in London. I like your idea of putting on Christmas carols and turning the clock back to Christmas! I sometimes do that when it gets really hot here in Texas: I put on my fave Nutcracker CD and watch icy biopics about polar explorers.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It was pretty much my favourite shop in all of Europe – I have had dreams about it since coming home and I’m not even that big a tea drinker. But it was so cosy and both times I went in there it was raining and gloomy outside and the shop was warm and smelt of freshly brewed tea.

      I was doing exactly that last week when we were in the middle of a heatwave, though I was alternating between the Nutcracker and Disney’s Frozen soundtrack. I’m not sure if singing about snow actually helped, but it was pretty awesome.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Haha, I am lucky in that I don’t have a three-year-old, or a tiny person of any age for that matter! I think I like this approach because I like to be able to see at first glance that I’m making progress. I don’t even have to open the book to see all these multi-coloured flaps sticking out and know that I’m getting there. But you’re totally right, I love hearing about others’ processes!

      Like

  3. Kathy says:

    I think it would depend on what era of Disney movie we’re talking about. Mid-1990s/post Little Mermaid Disney wouldn’t be so bad; Disney Pixar could be kind of awesome; Pre-1990s Disney could be terrifying (the pink elephants on parade in Dumbo still freaks me out and may be the real reason I’m not a drinker…) and Live Action 1960s-1970s Disney would be a special kind of hell…

    I like your snippet; it’s short but it piques my interest in the rest of the story. Good luck!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Haha, that’s true! I remember watching Snow White when I was 19 or 20 for the first time in years and being completely freaked out by the Queen’s transformation scene. I think Max fancies himself as a Prince Phillip (from Sleepy Beauty)-type. That is kind of close to what he has to deal with. Just minus the dragon.

      Like

  4. Eden says:

    Being A Disney prince… Ah, silly boy. Now original Brothers Grimm prince? I can see you doing that to him.

    Speaking of little people and the Nutcracker… my 8 year old would be right with you, drinking tea (tea shops are one of our passions) and enjoying Tchaikovsky. He gets upset when we change the radio station off classical…

    Like

  5. shanjeniah says:

    My tiny people have stopped being tiny, but Post-Its are still valuable here – beguiling blue eyes would charm them right off my pages.

    My solution? Bic Cristal gel pens in multiple colors – aqua for bits I love, black for revision notes, red for editing notes/ excisions. And, for the Weft series books, especially those written as one book with a Warp story, deep blue denotes fanfic elements that need to go or be reworked. I love those marked-up pages, and they don’t seem to tempt our young wildcat to attack the pages…I feel a little like a sculptor, trimming and chiseling to get to the yummy goodness waiting to be discovered.

    I love this bit of dialogue, and your discoveries. I would hardly be the one to pooh-pooh your discovery and revelation – I sit watching Enterprise, looking for a glance, a caught breath, a restless gesture – and any of them could lead me down whole new paths….

    I’m looking forward to seeing where all this will lead you. And, if you need some chill in your life, I’ll send you some! We’ve got plenty to spare, here!

    Like

  6. Denise D. Young says:

    Wait–you color-code your post-it notes when editing?! That is a fantastic idea. Why, after all these years, didn’t I think of it?

    Your WIP sounds interesting. Snappy dialogue, which I always love. 🙂

    Like

  7. ReGi McClain says:

    LOL! ” A Disney movie>” 🙂 I wonder how many people can claim that and actually mean it.

    My dad once won a “neighbor war” by blasting bagpipe music directly into the floor of his apartment. (The guy living under him liked to blast metal. My dad likes metal, but prefers to listen to his own.)

    Like

Talk to me! :)

