A Late #WIPpet Wednesday and #ROW80 Update

Yeah, so I’m a day late with this. But you see, it’s getting up to nearly 40 degrees (104F, I think) here each day, and so last night instead of coming straight home from work and writing a blog post, I went to see The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. And was totally amused by the fact that Legolas has aged in the prequel. Which is even more awkward than an Elf having aged in a sequel. But mostly I was there for the air conditioning. American friends, may I swap you some of your cold for some of our heat? Not all of it, but if we can meet at a nice, mutually-agreed-upon halfway point, would that work for you guys?

row80-2Anyway, so A THING, YOU GUYS! You know how I kept getting really stuck on Operation: Sugarplum and was at one point considering it mostly-shelved. While I was at the cinema forty-five minutes before my session (well, I wasn’t going to venture outside after dinner, was I?) , I finally figured out the thing that I had been stuck on, namely, what exactly is up with Max’s kingdom and their enemies and why Max is the only one who can fix it. So, y’know, rather big, plotty things to be stuck on. And it still needs to be sketched out further, BUT I FIGURED IT OUT! And that’s SO EXCITING! Particularly considering I think I do need to work on something else for just a little while before diving back into AMCF.

The other thing that I think has helped is the resolution I made with regard to this story. Before, I was trying to be really clever. Every word I wrote had to somehow reflect back to the original Nutcracker story. And that was stressing me out. I’ve convinced myself to relax and just get the general theme. Christmas, magical lands, the name Drosselmeier… that sort of thing.

wednesdaybannerIt’s been so long since I last looked at it that I can’t really remember what I wrote, but I wrote a scene today anyway picking up from where I think I left off, so let’s have some stuff from that for WIPpet Wednesday this week, shall we? But not much. Here are sixteen words for the day plus one for the month that take place after Max explains everything about him being a prince from a magical kingdom.

Clara considered him carefully for a moment. “Do you know how ridiculous you sound?” she finally asked.

In Max’s defence, he did warn her she wouldn’t believe him, and she did say, “Try me.”

To join in on WIPpet Wednesday, simply post an excerpt from your current WIP that somehow correlates to the day’s date, and then link up with us here. A Round of Words in 80 Days can be linked up with here.

I should really go to bed now, as it’s only 33 minutes away from midnight and sadly tomorrow is not the weekend yet. It’s so hot, though, and I won’t be able to sleep! Bahhh…. *wipes brow* All right. Off I go.  See you all soon!

wordpresssig2

6 thoughts on “A Late #WIPpet Wednesday and #ROW80 Update

  1. Kate Frost says:

    That told him! 🙂

    I don’t envy you suffering in 40 degree heat, although I’d gladly swap some of the rain we’re having at the moment. So pleased you figured out a big plot point! (That air-con must have helped.) 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Mmmm, rain. I could get behind that. 😀

      I think it must have been the aircon. It was very exciting. I probably looked a bit odd with this piece of paper with random scribbles on it in front of me and me with a big grin on my face.

      Like

  2. Ink and Papyrus says:

    Nice excerpt. 🙂 Congrats on working out your plot problem – I had a similar revelation a few weeks ago and it is a relief to have those things sorted. 🙂 Also, the heat. Egh. It has been about 43 where I live for the past four days. 😦

    Like

  3. Eden says:

    I’ll happily give you some of our subzero (F not just C) degrees for some of your higher temps. Don’t think things work that way…

    That aging thing is funny. Especially since there was no mention of Legolas in the actual book the Hobbit anyway…. What a way to make things awkward. (It’s one of the things that always messed with my head about vampire shows like Buffy and such… when the vampires start to age?)

    Poor Max…

    Like

Talk to me! :)

