#ROW80 Round 1, 2014

row80-2So the new round of A Round of Words in 80 Days began on Monday, but I only just got home, so I’m hopping in now. In 2014, my goal is to get A More Complicated Fairytale to a point where I am happy to publish it. Based on the feedback I have gotten from betas, I want to write one more version, and then get onto proof-reading and such.

For the moment, I will make my usual “write for an hour two nights a week” writing goal, though once I know what the hours of my new job are, I might be able to add a bit more to that.

My blogging schedule will be thus:

Monday – Mirth and Music Monday
Wednesday – WIPpet Wednesday and ROW80 Check-in
Every Second Friday – Book review

So apart from blatantly stealing the idea of a book review series from Ink and Papyrus, I am aiming to read as many of the unread books on my shelves and my Kindle as possible this year and perhaps a required schedule will keep me on the ball. I don’t tend to bother finishing books I don’t enjoy, but I do want to look at what I’m reading critically and be able to discuss what I’ve enjoyed or not versus others. I’ve  got two written and another one started already so I’m well on my way to creating a good buffer, as long as I keep it up.

I do have other goals that I’ve set for myself for 2014, but they’re not really ones I feel the need to share on here.

wednesdaybannerOnto WIPpet Wednesday. For those who have not heard of it before, WW is where a group of writers come together to share excerpts from their current WIPs. The only requirement is that they somehow correlate to the date. Then join us at this linky and see what others have on offer. Following on from last week’s post, today I have another excerpt in which Prince Felipe is being insistent and Cait would rather like to bang his head against a wall. In last week’s post, she was being told that His Royal Highness insists on her presence at the ball that night. This next part takes place at said ball.

“Cait, isn’t it?” he said when he reached her.

“Yes, your Highness. Short for Caitlin.”

“May I have this dance, Cait?”

“Your Highness, I’m not really one for dancing, I really think…”

“Nonsense, I insist.” He held out his arm and Cait was left with no choice but to take it. He led her right to the centre of the ballroom and then other couples filled in the space around them. The musicians began playing a waltz, and Cait tensed as Prince Felipe put one hand on her waist.

This post has been in the making for about 24 hours, so I’m going to leave it there. I probably won’t see you until Monday, as my parents are driving back to Canberra on Friday and I’ll be getting myself settled back in before heading back to work. I’ll try and get to a few of your posts, though, when I can. (I said that last week, and then only got to about three blogs, but I’ll see how I go!)

wordpresssig2

27 thoughts on “#ROW80 Round 1, 2014

  1. Ink and Papyrus says:

    Thanks for the mention 🙂 Hope your trip was truly amazing and that you made it back safely. I look forward to your book reviews. It will be interesting to see if we end up reviewing any of the same books and the differences we have of them.

    Like

  2. kathils says:

    I love Cait and Felipe. You know the nice thing about banging your head against the wall? It feels good when you stop. *waits for chuckles* *shrugs* Okay, but my dad always thought that was funny. I’m ROWing this session as well.

    Like

  3. Kate Frost says:

    I have great sympathy for Cait here being made to dance – I’d want to bang his head against a wall too.

    Good luck with your ROW80 goals and glad you’re back home safely. 🙂

    Like

  4. Elaine Jeremiah says:

    Another great interaction between Felipe and Cait. Really looking forward to reading it from start to finish when you publish it. So she can’t say no to him, at least not at this point. How annoying! Hope you had a fab time over here by the way. Glad you’re back safe. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Hopefully you won’t have too long to wait! 😀 She doesn’t want to make too much of a scene, but she does make her displeasure known to him on the quiet.

      I had an awesome time, but I have to admit I am quite glad to be back home!

      Like

  5. ReGi McClain says:

    Hehehe. I love how Cait’s respect for the prince is so borderline. 🙂 She’s a great character. 🙂

    Yay! I’m so glad you’re jumping back in! We missed you. 🙂 I watched a terrible version of the Nutcracker (not ballet) last night and I kept thinking, “Emily’s Operation: Sugarplum blows this thing out of the water.” Even Beloved, who’s only ever watched one blip of the Nutcracker ballet and doesn’t know the story KNEW whoever made that movie mangled it. Isn’t that sad?

    Like

      • ReGi McClain says:

        The DVD we borrowed from the library was called “The Nutcracker: The Untold Story.” IMDB lists it as “The Nutcracker 3D”, which actually accounts for some of the hokyness. There were some strange effects we think must have been planned and maybe kind of cool in 3D, but are just weird in 2D.

        Like

  6. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    Emily, your goals look good! I hope you are able to carve out a little more time for writing, and that 2014 is very good to you.

    Like

  7. Adrian says:

    yay for being back and yay for Cait and Felipe!

    I’m not so sure I’m liking how he’s using his power to make her do something she doesn’t really want to do. I’m going to have to sit on that one for awhile.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      He probably does come across as a bit more dickish out of the context of the scene, but Cait does give as good as she gets in her own way following on from this. He is an entitled prat at the start, though, I will fully admit to that.

      Like

  8. shanjeniah says:

    *Whistles and tries to avoid crowing “I know what’s gonna happen! I know what’s gonna happen!”*

    Drat.

    I didn’t avoid it. =/

    I loved this snippet. So much tension in every word, gesture, and touch. So much frustration…

    Happy you had fun, and that you’re safely home. Your goals sound very reasonable, and hopefully will give you time to adjust to the new job.

    Welcome back to your WIPpet home! =D

    Like

  9. Eden says:

    Nice goals… (they look a lot more reasonable than mine)

    It would have been very interesting to see Cait actually refuse, or allow herself to be so clumsy that Felipe gets very uncomfortable while dancing with her (perhaps enough enough that Cait regrets what she’s done and apologizes… and shows herself as a graceful partner… sets up more of the “love hate” feelings she has for him, perhaps?)

    Like

  10. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Welcome home! (Even though you’re now much farther away from me that you were just a few days ago. *g*)

    Nice snippet. Those dratted princes, who always insist on having their way!

    Good luck on your very clear-cut goals. I especially like the idea of the book reviews to get you to tackle all the TBRs — maybe I’ll steal it. 🙂

    Like

Talk to me! :)

