In which Emily gets reflective.

A year ago today, I was sitting in my parents’ house,  annoying my mum with questions like “What’s a good name for a prince?” The previous night I’d had a dream that had involved one, and had been inspired to a) wade my way through the dream logic and make it make sense and b) turn it into a story.  After 2012 had been such a fail year for writing, I was determined to make sure 2013 was better.

As you probably guessed, the prince in question was Prince Felipe, and the story it became was A More Complicated Fairytale. Cait was originally going to be called Madeleine, and was also a Josephine for a while before I settled on Caitlin. I knew that there would be some kind of war involved,  but I didn’t really expect it to be the backdrop for so much of the story as it is. So much of the story just flowed from my fingertips without me even having to think much about it. After a dry writing year, it was a wonderful feeling.

This was also the first story that I got to a point where I was happy to let people read it, and also the first story I have ever bothered to take further than a first draft. I met the WIPpeteers in March and their feedback has been invaluable.  I think, overall, we can certainly call 2013 a success as far as writing goes.

2014 is shaping up to be just as awesome, if not more so. Day 1 began with a trip to Greenwich to explore a 19th century merchant ship and geek out at the Royal Observatory,  followed by a West End performance of Jersey Boys, which literally had me dancing in the aisles (only during the finale,  I promise).

I’ll be starting work on  the next draft of AMCF as soon as I return home. I’m going to be taking over the lease on our flat when my housemate moves out with her boyfriend, so I’ll have the master bedroom,  which means room for a desk, and I’m also planning on investing in a desktop computer. I’ve accepted the offer of a new job, starting in February. It’s fewer hours than my current one,  but it’s a permanent position, and I feel a permanent 28 hours a week is preferable to a full 36 that could be pulled out from under me at the end of a contract period. Fewer hours though, means more time that I can set aside for writing.

And now for a WIPpet.  I’m being a bit lazy today, as I’m typing on my tablet and the only copy of AMCF available to me is read only, so I can’t copy and paste.  Being the first of January, here is one line from fairly early on in the piece.

“I’m afraid His Royal Highness insists.”

Suffice to say this is the beginning of Cait thinking for quite some time that Felipe is a conceited prat.

If you would like to join in on WIPpet Wednesday,  post an excerpt from your current WIP that somehow corresponds to the date (one line for the first, for example), and then head on over to K. L. Schwengel’s blog to find the linky and join us. I’m going to go now because the new episode of Sherlock is on BBC iPlayer (I am going to miss that when I go home) and Jersey Boys hyped me up way too much to go to bed yet. If I don’t get around to your posts beforehand, I’ll be arriving home Sunday, so I’ll do the rounds while I’m trying to combat the jet lag.

Happy new year, everyone!

image

10 thoughts on “In which Emily gets reflective.

  1. Eden says:

    Yeah, I’d think that Felipe was a conceited prat if I were on the receiving end of that as well. Good thing that love wins out… eventually. 😀

    Your plans when you get home sound grand too, Emily. Best wishes for a wonderful new year with a new job.

    Like

  2. Kate Frost says:

    Cait can’t really say no to ‘His Royal Highness’, now can she? I love how conceited she thinks he is in the beginning.

    Sounds like 2014 is already shaping up to be a great year both writing and otherwise for you. I’m so glad you’re still having a fabulous time in London – Jersey Boys sounds like fun!

    Have a safe flight home and a very happy new year. 🙂

    Like

  3. Elaine Jeremiah says:

    Hope you had a safe trip home Emily and that you get over your jetlag quickly. Good excerpt, setting the scene well for the rest of the story. I like how from what I’ve read of AMCF Cait really doesn’t like Felipe to begin with. There’s great (sexual?!) tension between them.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks, Elaine. The flight home was pretty uneventful, and I managed to stay up all day Sunday and kick the jetlag early.

      Cait and Felipe are a bit odd like that, I was thinking about this the other day and I can’t decide whether it’s sexual tension or just tension or something in between!

      Like

Talk to me! :)

