#WIPpet Wednesday: Why’d you have to go and do a thing like that?!

Hi everyone! Tomorrow I join my tour group for a whirlwind 11 day tour around Europe and as such, I’m currently sitting in a laundromat in Paris waiting for my clothes to finish washing (I know, I’m such an exciting traveller!  I am going up the Eiffel Tower in a couple of hours, though, so it balances out). As such, I thought I’d bring my tablet with me and write a quick WIPpet post to share with y’all. This scene is not from A More Complicated Fairytale as such, but an outtake/”fanfic”-type thing I wrote during NaNo. As I think most of you are aware, the catalyst for the war that Felipe ends up fighting in is the assassination of his older brother, the Crown Prince, Sebastian. The two of them were very close growing up, and I’ve always wanted to write the scene where Felipe finds out that Sebastian has been killed. I finally got around to it! I have here four paragraphs for the 4th of December. Felipe has just heard the news and is lying on his bed, having shut himself in his room.

“You idiot,” he cursed the ceiling,  as though it were his brother. “Why would you go and do something so completely stupid?”

He cheeks became hot again and this time he felt his eyes welling up, too. He didn’t want to cry. Crying seemed like some kind of acknowledgement that Sebastian was gone. The longer he could deny the whole thing was happening, the better.

He didn’t know how long he lay there before he heard the door open slightly.

“Felipe?” The voice was Carmen’s. He had assumed it would be her. Very few people were allowed into his room unannounced, and he wasn’t expecting either of his parents to appear any time soon.  In the few months that Sebastian had been on National Service on the Nardowyn-Gallit border, Felipe had become fairly used to not having him march in without knocking, but now he would have given anything to see his brother walk through the door.

I’m not sure if Carmen has come up in a WIPpet before, so for those who have not read the whole AMCF manuscript, she was the boys’ nurse when they were growing up. Since she was so close to the whole family, she was given her own apartments in the palace even after her services were no longer required.  She and Felipe have always been very close; he rants to her a lot and she listens with a slightly bemused expression on her face. She’s also the first one he very excitedly tells about meeting Cait.

If you would like to join in on WIPpet Wednesday,  simply post an excerpt of your WIP that somehow correlates to the date and then link up with us here. Thanks, as always, to the very awesome K. L. Schwengel for hosting.

You know what else is awesome? Last week, when I was in Bath, I got to meet up with fellow WIPpeteers Kate Frost and Elaine Jeremiah and I can safely say they are both very awesome ladies. Also, Bath is pretty much how I imagined Nardowyn. We just need to stick a palace somewhere by the river and we’re totally set.

Anyhoo, my washing is done and I’m back at my hostel and even though my Eiffel Tower booking isn’t for another hour, I have to catch about three different Metros to get there, so I’m going to head off sooner rather than later! Catch you all later!

19 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday: Why’d you have to go and do a thing like that?!

  1. kathils says:

    A three way WIPpeteer meeting and we’re first hearing of it now?!!? Where are the photos? You guys are holding out on us.

    Ah, Felipe. It’s a hard thing to deal with. I love how you mention he didn’t want to cry because that would be like acknowledging his brother was really gone. It’s rather like saying it aloud for the first time. It makes it so real.

    Like

  2. Kate Frost says:

    You’re pretty awesome yourself Emily! Enjoy your whirlwind Europe tour over the next week or so. 🙂

    There’s a really clear sense in this scene of Felipe desperately trying to keep himself together and not give in to his emotions. It’s definitely times like this you need someone familiar and comfortable like Carmen to walk in.

    Like

  3. Eden says:

    Eleven days in Europe is way too short of a time… Of course, any is awesome. And a WIPpeteer gathering to boot! Whoo!

    At least you were in a laundromat in Paris. I have an annoying habit of handwashing my clothes in hotel bathtubs (sorry about the TMI). As for the Eiffel Tower… I spent eight days in the city while in high school and never went up the thing. Post pics please?

    Loved the WIPpet, Emily. Just one small nit, mostly a language flow thing where you have:

    The longer he could deny the whole thing was happening, the better.

    I’d make that shorter, more terse, something to give a sense of Felipe’s adamant feelings that he refused to admit his brother’s death.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It’s all going so very fast! I spent Saturday in Switzerland, Monday in Venice and last night (I think last night was Wednesday, right?) in Munich. Tomorrow I’ll be in Amsterdam and then on Sunday we return to London!

      Thanks for the feedback. If/when I revisit this, I’ll have another look at that line.

      Like

  4. Ink and Papyrus says:

    I loved the excerpt and your mentions of Paris and Bath made me nostalgic fro my own European adventure last year. Bath is probably one of my favourite places ever. Hope the rest of your trip is amazing! 🙂

    Like

  5. ReGi McClain says:

    Very nice! I like his stubbornness. It’s almost like a child who thinks shutting his eyes tightly will keep him from being found.

    How amazing to meet other WIPpeteers in person! Ah! daydreams. Someday…

    Like

Talk to me! :)

