#WIPpet Wednesday – Is there something I’ve forgotten?

2013-Participant-Vertical-BannerYou guuuuys! I worked out how to turn my phone into a Wireless hotspot, which means I can use my own Internet quota at my parents’, rather than simply relying on theirs (which is nothing). We’re six days into NaNoWriMo now, and I am nowhere near as far in as I had hoped I would be. Which is to say, I am pretty much on par with your average NaNo schedule (10,000 words by Day 6) but I had hoped to be well ahead because of my travels in the coming weeks. Not to worry, though, I am gradually persuading myself that a blue circle in among the purple ones on one’s NaNo profile is not the end of the world.

Today is also Wednesday, despite my brain telling me that my parents always visit me in Canberra on weekends, and since we got home yesterday, it couldn’t be any later than Tuesday. Wednesday means WIPpet Wednesday, in which a bunch of us writers post an excerpt from our current WIP that somehow correlates to the date. Then we link it up here and check out each other’s work. Feel free to join in! 🙂

My maths for today is the 6 (for the day) plus 1 plus 1 (for the month) for a total of eight lines. In this scene, from one of the stories I’m working on during November, the characters have just completed their first year of university, and are heading out on a road trip to celebrate. It’s not the smoothest read at the moment, but, well, NaNo.

“Does anyone else feel weird and slightly guilty?” Justin asked. “Like you should be studying something instead of driving off for a holiday, even though you know you don’t have to study anymore?”

“Yes!” Nate exclaimed. “There is this niggling voice at the back of my head that is convinced that I’ve forgotten some major piece of assessment.”

“You had that perfect calendar up on your wall for the whole semester,” Dom teased him. “You couldn’t have possibly forgotten anything.”

“Doesn’t stop me from being paranoid.” 

This is based on my own end-of-semester experiences. Didn’t matter how many years I was at uni, this was always the mindset after handing in that last paper. I’ve gotten far more into this story than I expected, and it’s been quite fun. I am glad, however, that after a couple of days of the characters being drunk, they have finally sobered up in the light of some stupid decisions which are going to come back to bite them. I’m also nearly at the part where I get to start telling the parallel story that also goes on in this one. I’m hoping that will boost my word count quickly, since I’m quite invested in those characters and have been waiting to get to them.

Anyhoodle, I’m going to head off now and see if I can bash out another 1000 words or so before dinner. I’ve been a bit procrastinate-y all day, but I shouldn’t have too much trouble, methinks. I’ll catch up with you guys over the next few days.

wordpresssig2

14 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday – Is there something I’ve forgotten?

  1. kathils says:

    I hate that feeling when you’ve been immersed in something for seeming ever, then you’re done and . . . and . . . aren’t I supposed to be doing *something*?!!? Nice intro. Can’t wait to see where it leads. Good luck with NaNo.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It’s so true! I get the feeling we’re a studious bunch around here and have all experienced it at some point, if not about study, about writing or some other similar project.

      Like

  2. L. Marie says:

    It’s hard to turn the student brain off. Though I have the feeling something vital has been missed and this is all foreshadowing.
    Yes, good luck with NaNo. I’ve got to get my pages in for today.

    Like

  3. Elaine Jeremiah says:

    I know that feeling, when you think you’ve still got an essay deadline looming. For ages after leaving uni I’d have this recurring dream where I hadn’t finished all my work for my degree even though I was about to leave. It was always a relief to wake up in the morning and realise it was just a dream! Great excerpt. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I had exactly the same problem! I remember getting my conditional invitation to graduation, and then on the day results came out, being convinced the invitation would be revoked because I’d forgotten something. I think at that point I would have been happy if I opened up the grades thing on the website and found I’d just scraped passes in everything!

      Like

  4. Eden says:

    I have that feeling still, sometimes even about schoolwork, and I haven’t been in school for over twenty years. *shudders* I can almost see this scene given that opener.

    Hotspots… Oh! Hopefully this visit won’t add too much to your cellphone bill, Emily.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I am on a prepaid plan, and get 500mb for $5, which isn’t the greatest value for money, but will certainly do in the circumstances! 😀

      I used to get it worse about piano exams; I’d wake up thinking I hadn’t practiced something, or still needed to learn something, and then realise I was fine.

      Like

  5. booksbysmiles says:

    When me and the hubby pack for a vacation, or I’m bringing my little lunch bag to work and packing along my book or maybe my phone charger or something a little extra, or maybe the hubby and I are just leaving for one reason or another. It is very, VERY common for that door to open a second time, sometimes even a third, because we had that ‘nagging feeling’ that something was forgotten. Most of the time it’s true, but there is the occasion where I am standing in the doorway, and the hubby is assuring me that we really didn’t forget anything THIS time. 😛

    So even though I don’t have college memories, I can SO relate to this!!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

