Drive by #WIPpet Wednesday post

Firstly of all, if you would like to participate in the blog series type thing I mentioned last week as a way for me to keep this blog running while I’m overseas, I set up a Google doc over here for people to claim dates and topics. If you have a Google account, you can edit the form yourself. If you don’t, let me know which day you would like and I will fix it up for you. If you could get your post to me before about November 10 and I can schedule the post before I head off overseas, that would be fantabulous, but don’t stress if this is not something you can do. While this blog may not be receiving so much attention, I will still be checking my emails obsessively, and blogging over at my travel blog, so it won’t be too hard to put up a post here while I’m at it.

Would anyone be particularly perturbed, though, if I got rid of the different Top 5 topics idea and had everyone do a “Top Five Characters I’d Have Over For Dinner” post? Because I’d be kinda keen to read a bunch of those.

Anyway, onto WIPpet Wednesday. I have been finishing off the beta reading I owed people and made a start on Elaine Jeremiah’s new book, The Inheritance (which I believe is going to be free at the end of week; see Elaine’s blog for more info) this week, so I’m just going to share a little bit more of the fanfic I started sharing last week. I’m posting three lines, my WIPpet maths being that it’s the 30th and 3+0 = 3. Also, I just wanted to post this section, okay?

As Collins shook his hand, Jack wondered how Miss Fisher would feel about losing her companion, and if Collins would be brave enough to argue should she decide she wanted to keep Dot on in some capacity even after the wedding.

If you’re wondering, the answer to that second pondering of Jack’s is something along the lines of “Nope. Not in the slightest. He might try, but Miss Fisher would simply raise one perfectly sculpted eyebrow at him and his argument would crumble to pieces.”

To join in on WIPpet Wednesday, simply post an excerpt from your current Work in Progress that somehow relates to the day’s date (eg. the 3 lines) then link up with us here. Thanks as always to K. L. Schwengel for hosting. πŸ™‚

I don’t honestly don’t know what my posting/catching up and commenting schedule is going to be like from here on out; my last day of work is this Friday, I’m heading to my parents’ place with their 1gb of Internet per month on Tuesday and I fly to England a week later. So, um… I’ll see you when I see you? wordpresssig2 Good luck to all NaNoWriMo participants! My profile is here, add me as a buddy! πŸ˜€ Love you all. ❀

15 thoughts on “Drive by #WIPpet Wednesday post

  1. ReGi McClain says:

    Aww… Poor Collins. I hope he manages to grow a spine. Or maybe it’s not so much a lack of spine as a super-de-uper friendly personality? Either way, I hope he gets just enough over-it to make a stand. πŸ™‚

    Why don’t I take November 8th or December 22nd for you? I don’t mind the change. πŸ™‚ It might be nice to have some idea of who everyone else is inviting, though, so I can invite someone different, but it’s not necessary. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      He has that unfortunate problem of young, slightly sheltered guys in that he’s totally fine until he has to talk to a beautiful woman. More likely than not, though, Miss Fisher would just be teasing because she knows she can get to him.

      Did you mean December 20? Since I’ve got a cluster of 3 at the beginning already, I’ll put you in on that one if you like.

      Like

  2. Kate Frost says:

    Great little extract and again I like the 1920s tone.

    I’m happy to write a ‘Top Five Characters…’ post. I’ve put my name down for a late December slot simply because there’s so much going on/to do in November so I hope it’ll be okay if I send you my post whilst you’re on your travels (although I’ll make sure I get it to you in good time). πŸ™‚

    Good luck with NaNo (I’ve just added you as a buddy) and see you towards the end of November! So exciting! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Eden says:

    Hmmm, top 5 characters? Oh, now I am really torn. I may just want to write a post anyway. Guess I don’t have to decide right away. It looks as if you have a few people lined up already. (And I easily have five characters to choose from….)

    Poor Collins… And poor Jack! He’s got concerns for a friend that he will never be able to shed.

    Like

  4. Christina says:

    I’m down to write a ‘top 5 characters I’d have over for dinner’ instead of the other idea I was thinking of. It’d be a lot easier actually!

    Poor Collins, here’s hoping he can stand up to Miss Fisher.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

