#WIPpet Wednesday and other news

Aw, man. I had all these grand plans of getting ahead with my blog visiting, but I have been feeling exhausted since Saturday afternoon and no matter how much sleep I get, that hasn’t seemed to go away. So I’ve basically been lying around the house doing absolutely nothing. I bought myself dinner tonight because the thought of coming home and cooking was depressing. Hopefully I’ll perk up soon, and be more on the ball this week.

In other news, though still speaking of blogging, I have been thinking about the time I’ll be away over November-January. Originally my plan was to simply post up a hiatus notice, and maybe drop in for WIPpet Wednesday every now and then (because, y’know, when I’m visiting the UK and Europe for the first time in my life, I’m sure I won’t have anything better to do). But then I was thinking it might be fun to come up with some sort of series and invite other people to write some posts that could go up here. Nothing too deep, especially considering I’ve only just conceived of this today and don’t have that much time to organise it; I was thinking of “5 Fictional Characters I’d Have Over For Dinner” and then thought perhaps just getting people to do any Writing Top 5. I’m away for eight weeks, so the OCD part of my brain would prefer eight volunteers to make it nice and even, but that’s not imperative, just so long as I can do something regular. Would anyone be up for this?

Incidentally, I’ve been thinking of getting into this guest posting thing (both hosting people and hijacking others’ blogs), so let me know if you’ve got something coming up! ๐Ÿ™‚

wednesdaybanner

And now for WIPpet Wednesday. To join in, all you need to do is post an excerpt from your current WIP that somehow corresponds to the date. Then link up here and check out the other posts. I’ve been mostly beta reading this week, plus suffering from the aforementioned laziness, so I don’t have anything to share from my usual WIPs. As such, I’m going to share a bit of a fanfic I started writing today. Unlike other people who share fanfic for WIPpet Wednesday, though, I’m not writing for a well-known fandom likeย Lois & Clarkย orย Star Trek,ย I’m going nice and obscure.

Unless you’ve managed to catch it on… PBS, I think is the American station, you’re probably not with the Australian 1920s crime drama,ย Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries.ย Basically, Melbourne socialite, the Hon. Miss Phryne Fisher, helps Detective Inspector Jack Robinson to solve grisly murders in 1929. Well, he’d tell you she gets in the way of him solving grisly murders, but that’s a technicality. We’re halfway through the second series now, and they have a very strong bond. Constable Collins is always on the scene as well, and him and Miss Fisher’s maid, Dot Williams, have been together for quite a while now, and basically every episode I end up basically yelling at my screen, “UGH, WILL YOU TWO JUST GET MARRIED ALREADY?!” So I decided to write the fanfiction where that happened. Sort of. It’s from Jack’s POV. I could go on about this show all day, but in order to stop me from doing that, this is the scene where three of the four leads meet, and here is a music video that gives you a bit of an idea of how adorable Dot and Hugh are. They’re both only about a minute-and-a-half long. Anyway! Without further ado, five paragraphs (October 23, 2+3 = 5). And go!

Hugh Collins and Dorothy Williams

Three days later, when Jack arrived at the station, he found Collins already behind the desk, wearing an ear-to-ear grin.

โ€œI donโ€™t think Iโ€™ve ever seen someone so cheerful about paperwork, Collins,โ€ he remarked.

โ€œOh, morning, Sir,โ€ Collins replied, clearly trying to suppress the smile in response to the Inspectorโ€™s comment, but failing. He picked up one of the files he had sitting on the desk. โ€œUm, the Coronorโ€™s report for the Underhill murder came back.โ€

โ€œCollins.โ€ Jack accepted the file, but he quirked an eyebrow at the constable.

โ€œSorry, Sir.โ€ He straightened his shoulders. โ€œI took your advice, Sir, and stopped waiting for a perfect moment. I asked Dot… I mean, Miss Williams, to marry me last night, and she said yes.โ€ He finished his announcement and the grin returned. Happy to hear the news, Jack smiled as well, though he managed to keep his a little more contained.

Aggh, this sounds silly, but it’s really nerve-wracking the first time I write something in a new fandom. I’m always worried I’m going to get something horribly wrong and all the fans will hate me. I guess that’s one thing we don’t have to worry about when writing our stories.

I have managed to finish this post a bit earlier than I normally do, so I’m going to sign off here and duck around to visit those of you who have already posted. I’ll catch the rest of you soon!

wordpresssig2

28 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday and other news

  1. kathils says:

    I’ve never seen the show, but this scene plays out really well. He sounds a bit like an excited kid at the end. I get the impression of a somewhat self-conscious fellow.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      That’s pretty much spot-on. He’s probably only supposed to be 20 or 21 (though of course the actor is a bit older) and really wants to impress Jack or Dot or whoever, but sometimes his mouth runs away from him or he gets a bit muddled some other way at which point he gets all awkward.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Aggggh, don’t remind me! I was thinking of trying to start living on the UK time zone a couple of days before I leave, but I fly out at stupid o’clock in the morning UK time (a nice mid-afternoon flight, Australian time), so I think that would just muck me up again.

      Like

  2. L. Marie says:

    Hi. I’ve never seen the series you mentioned, though I think I’d love it. Great WIPpet. I can help out with a post. Could you please elaborate on what you mean by “getting people to do any Writing Top 5”? I’m a bit confused. Please drop me a line at my blog if I can help.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It’s gorgeous! You should totally find it and watch it all! I mean… what? I’m not some kind of Miss Fisher evangelist or anything… ๐Ÿ˜€

      All I meant was pick any list you fancy doing, such as “Top five characters I had a crush on as a teenager” or “Top five tips for writing punchy dialogue” or anything like that. I figure it’s something people shouldn’t have to think too much about. I would love to have you contribute, will drop you a line some time in the next few days.

      Like

  3. Kate Frost says:

    I’ve not seen the show either but I think it reads really well – definitely got a 1920s vibe to it and the characters sound appealing.

    I’d be interested in doing a post for your blog whilst you’re away (providing it was for December time as I’m trying to keep November as free as possible).

    Like

  4. Eden says:

    Here’s where I (grips hands on keyboard a moment determinedly) am going to try very very hard to NOT take on one more things for November… But I so want to help out with a guest post.

    No… I just can’t do it…

    But…

    No, I say. No!

    ๐Ÿ˜‰

    (Can you see I’m a little conflicted here? I owe you some beta notes though… I think I better get those to you first, eh?)

    I love your fanfic idea, Emily. And now I MUST watch this series. It looks wonderful.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Lol! It’s all good! Please do not overload yourself for my benefit! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yay, a convert! (She says, having just claimed a few comments up to not be an evangelist for this show). I have no idea how easy it will be to track down in your part of the world, but I hope you can find it, and that you enjoy it!!

      Like

      • Eden says:

        Even if it’s not on the air here (it is, though just at a time I almost never want to be watching television), I know the magic downloading. It will be achieved. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

  5. Christina Olson says:

    I totally hear you about the nerve-wracking and being afraid that other fans will hate you. I worried about that when I started writing my Dragonriders of Pern fic, and it’s part of the reason why I haven’t started on the Sleepy Hollow fic rolling around in my head. Well, that and I have enough on my plate already, followed closely by the fact that I’m not a big Ichabod/Abbie shipper.

    While I’m not familiar with the series, I really enjoyed the snippet you shared! Collins excitement is adorable ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I would be happy to help you out with a blog post for when you’re gone ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I feel exactly the same with Sleepy Hollow! I don’t particularly want to write shippy fic, either, as much as I do adore the two leads.

      I don’t know if you felt the same when you posted that snippet from your Dragonriders fic, but I’ve found this really encouraging, since people who’ve never seen the show are giving pretty accurate descriptions of the characters just from reading this little bit. Maybe I’ll do this more often!

      Awesomesauce! I have just now set up a Sign Up Sheet if you would like to grab a date and think of a topic. (I hope the link works, I’ve never actually used Google Docs before).

      Like

Talk to me! :)

