#WIPpet Wednesday: Last resorts…

Ohai, you guys! How is October already? I know they the older you get, the faster the year seems to fly because it becomes a smaller proportion of your life, but I’m only 24! If it goes this fast now, what’s it going to be like when I’m 50? Or 80? It is now less than 6 weeks until I go overseas, though, which I feel is sort of milestone. Six weeks is a good unit to measure by. And it was six weeks yesterday. Yay! I also discovered that some of my friends in England have won tickets to the 50th Anniversary Doctor Who event for the same day that I’ll be there, so that’s pretty awesome.

Anyway, it’s also Wednesday, which means this is a WIPpet post! How does WIPpet Wednesday work, you ask? All you need do is post an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date. Then hop on over to the linky and join us! 🙂 As always, thanks to K. L. Schwengel for hosting. I’m just being boring today and posting two paragraphs. They follow on from last week’s excerpt, since I have written very little since then. I have mostly finished the fight scene, though, and am reasonably happy with how it turned out. So that’s something. 😀 Anyway, here we go.

As she watched, Clara didn’t think her heart could have sped up anymore, but as she watched Max’s situation get more dire, this felt like exactly what it felt like it was doing. Not knowing what else she could do to help, she looked around for something she could throw, and on seeing nothing, rifled through her bag for the same reason. The biggest thing she had was her sunglasses case, and she couldn’t see that being much use. Then she looked down at her feet. The boots she was wearing had rather chunky heels on them. If she could hit the creature (the real one, not one of its six clones) with one of them, it might at least distract it enough for Max to regain the upper hand…

She unzipped one of her boots, stood up slowly so as not to attract attention, and took aim. Hoping that it would find its mark, she then lobbed it at the creature in the middle. She bit her lip as she watched it curve through the air and then fist-pumped as the heel of her boot made contact with the creature’s head. The impact knocked the creature forward and as its concentration was broken, the six copies shuddered and disappeared. Clara’s feeling of triumph was short-lived, however, when the creature turned itself on her and with a snarl, formed one of the blue orbs and sent it in her direction.

Well, that’s not exactly what Clara was hoping for. Good thing she’s got Max to look after her in the aftermath.

I’m going to wrap this up so that I can get onto reading others’ posts, and then do some betaing before bed. Catch y’all later!

wordpresssig2

21 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday: Last resorts…

  1. kathils says:

    That’s definitely one of those “oh shite!” moments. It was a plan. Not a well thought out plan, perhaps, but you need to start somewhere. Kudos to Clara for taking action and now, um, Max, a little help maybe? *runs*

    Like

  2. Kate Frost says:

    It was a great idea and a fantastic aim but a definite oops moment when the creature turns on her! She’s resourceful though and has guts which I like.

    Only six weeks until you’re in the UK – whoop whoop! Are you still planning on coming to Bath? If so it would be great to arrange to meet up with Elaine too. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks! I’m trying to have her come across as a relatively normal sort of girl who’s forced to think on her feet being forced into these weird situations.

      I am indeed! I get to Bath about lunch time on the 25th and am there until the 28th, when I head to Paris! I am staying at the YHA, so I guess that will be my first port of call, after which I am footloose and fancy-free.

      Like

  3. Elaine Jeremiah says:

    Great extract and exciting too. I just have a comment about sentence structure which is that in the first sentence you’ve repeated the phrases ‘as she watched’ and ‘felt like’. Hope you don’t mind me pointing that out; to me it would read better without the repetition, though I guess you’d probably iron that out with a proofreader anyway. 🙂

    Like

  4. booksbysmiles says:

    Good idea: Lob a high-heeled shoe at a monster to save Max and distract the creature
    Bad idea: Lob a high-heeled shoe to distract a monster from Max and realize you had no back-up plan when the blue orb of death hurls toward you.

    AHHHHHH!!!

    Like

  5. Christina Olson says:

    I second everyone that the first sentence was a little bit rough because of the repetition of ‘as she watched’. Other than that little quibble, it’s a great excerpt! Hopefully Max can recover before anything happens to Clara!

    Like

  6. L. Marie says:

    I missed this last week, since I was out of town. But I see that this week’s excerpt works with this one, so I needed to read this. Glad Clara took action, though she paid for it!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

