#MirthMusicMon – One for the language nerds

music_mirth

There’s no ROW80 check-in today, since we are between rounds, but Mirth and Music Monday is still a thing! Let me introduce Tripod, the musical comedy group whose music I was going to post a couple of weeks ago, but then I got distracted by the Umbilical Brothers instead. This song is about prefixes, and how some words appear to have a prefix, but take the prefix off and what remains is not a word. It is called “Kempt”. I didn’t watch this all the way through, but if they sing it exactly the same way as they do on the recording I have, there is some bad language towards the end, so I apologise for that.

And just to prove they are also awesome musicians, here is a performance of Paul Kelly’s “Meet Me in the Middle of the Air”, which they did with another musical comedian, Eddie Perfect, on an episode of The Sideshow in memory of someone who was involved with the show.

Man, if only I could always avoid getting rambly on blog posts and write them up as quickly as I wrote this one; I’d save myself so much time. I’m busy writing job applications this week, so I’m going to go write another response to another selection criterion (I HATE selection criteria!) and then… I haven’t actually decided what I’m going to do after that. Read the other MMM posts, perhaps. 🙂 Catch y’all later.

wordpresssig2

6 thoughts on “#MirthMusicMon – One for the language nerds

    • Emily Witt says:

      Isn’t it gorgeous?! I remember watching that episode the first time and expecting them to lurch into something comedic at any moment and then it got to the end and I was just like, “… Wow.”

      Like

  1. ReGi McClain says:

    I had to look up kempt. *blush* Evidently we don’t say it correctly on the West Coast of the U.S., because I’ve never heard it pronounced that way before. I kept trying to add prefixes to it to see if I got something I recognized. 😛

    Meet Me In the Middle of the Air was beautiful. Those guys have amazing voices. 🙂

    Like

  2. rosedandrea says:

    Uh-oh. I think you just handed me my next procrastination technique. These guys may be just as addicting as Arrogant Worms. I must investigate. See you in a day or two. You know, when I run out of their videos of YouTube. 😉

    Don’t you just love it when a blog post just seems to fall together? I don’t get it very often, but when I do it’s cause for much celebration. 😀

    Like

Talk to me! :)

