#ROW80 Check-in: A terrible influence, and #MirthMusicMon – More Gilbert and Sullivan

nanowrimo_logoSo at the end of November last year, there were a group of NaNoWriMo participants in my region, me included, who decided to continue meeting up every so often and writing together. We called our group PoNoWriGro (Post November Writing Group, though recently we agreed it’s that time of year where the Post really needs to change to Pre). We meet every second Thursday and alternate between going out for dinner and having write-ins at someone’s home. This week was an out-for-dinner week, and at one point the subject turned to this year’s NaNoWriMo… someone asked me if I knew yet what I would be writing, and I said I wouldn’t be participating this year, since I’m heading off to the UK on November 12. This was met with exclamations of, “But that gives you twelve whole days! That’s only, what, 4000 words a day? You can do it!”

And at first, I was like, “Don’t be silly, that’s a ridiculous idea!”

And then I thought about it. I am planning on November 1 being my last day at work. That gives me the whole following week to get myself packed, and get up to my parents’ for a few days before I head off. When I put my mind to it, I can bash out 1000 words in under an hour. So I’d just have to do four sessions throughout each day. And I do have a 24-hour plane trip ahead of me. A couple of my PoNoWriGro buddies are already saying they’ll most likely be NaNo rebels and maybe work on two stories, so if I were to that as well, I would be in good company (I’ve rebelled in Camp NaNo before, too, so it wouldn’t be the first time), and that would also make it easier bashing out 4000 words a day. The only question is WHAT DO I WRITE?! I was actually thinking Operation: Sugarplum could be one, but I would have to come up with another story as well. I’ve had a bit of a look at the “Adopt a Plot” forum on the NaNo website and there were a few that took my fancy, so we’ll see which one I end up going with.

As for ROW80 goals, this week has been good! I got in my two hours’ editing work on AMCF, along with sending it out to the last of my wonderful betas. I passed row80-2page 80 today, and since the whole thing is 160 pages long, that’s something of a milestone. I might actually have it finished before I go overseas in November. Huzzah. I also visited all my sponsor posts for Wednesday, plus some! Which is a marked improvement from the last few check-ins. AND I wrote 1500 words on Keep Your Enemies Closest, so I now feel less guilty about not working on that the last couple of weeks. Though I was writing it at my writing group’s write-in at a cafe today, and I only had my tablet, and I couldn’t for the life of me remember any of the characters’ names apart from Gallivan and Mireille, so there is a lot of “Private ____ said” and that sort of thing. So this week I’ll probably focus on editing and making it fit properly with what was already written, rather than writing anything new.

That’s it for writing news, so now onto Mirth and Music Monday, the brainchild of one ReGi McClain. Click through to her blog to find the MMM linky.

music_mirth

I’ve been listening to more Gilbert and Sullivan recently, and I couldn’t decide which version of this song I like best, so you get two. In the first you have the Jon English swinging from ropes and arguing with the maestro and pretending to be an opera singer, and in the second you have Anthony Warlow doing a pretty spot-on impression of Captain Jack Sparrow.

I’m going to take off now; it’s nothing personal, but my upstairs neighbour called me not long ago to invite me up for apple pie and tea before bed, and I am very open to that (actually I’m going on a healthy eating thing as of tomorrow, but might as well make the most of it before then, right?), so… yes. Ttfn, lovelies!

wordpresssig2

11 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: A terrible influence, and #MirthMusicMon – More Gilbert and Sullivan

  1. L. Marie says:

    Wow! Now that’s how you set some goals! You should put this on a T-shirt: “That’s only, what, 4000 words a day? You can do it.”
    I’m reading a book about pirates, so these videos are appropriate today.

    Like

  2. alberta says:

    high setting goals for November – am dead impressed:) love G&S but for some reason cannot get these two to show me the pictures only the music – which of course is great – I was brought up on the Savoy operas and they were the first songs ever I could sing – Dad would play them on the piano and we would sing along:) thanks

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Oh, that’s a shame, there is some fun choreography going on in them! Never mind, though. Pirates of Penzance and The Mikado were the closest thing to opera I knew growing up, but I had huge exposure to musicals.

      Like

  3. denizb33 says:

    Love Gilbert and Sullivan! I’m jealous of your upcoming UK trip 🙂
    But yes, a shortened NaNo sounds do-able! Go you!
    Lucky thing, to have a local group that stays in touch like that. I’m still trying to find a few more people in my neck of the woods…

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I am so grateful for them. I had wanted to be part of a writing group for ages, but the ones I knew about locally never seemed to really be what I was looking for. These guys are awesome, though!

      Like

Talk to me! :)

