#WIPpet Wednesday and #ROW80 Check-in: Yes, I sort of dropped off there for a bit.

I know, I know, I kind of vanished after last Wednesday’s post. I wish I could say it was because I was busily writing and forgot to blog, but actually I was just being lazy. Well, Saturday I had a full day, starting with voting in our Federal election, then off to an art gallery in the afternoon and then a friend’s house-warming in the evening. But Sunday I was just lazy. I was also lazy for most of last week and didn’t do anymore writing or editing. I was still reading the Bartimaeus trilogy at that point, though. Luckily, I have finished it now (still dealing with how it ended, though; it took me completely by surprise!), so I don’t have it to distract me. I did finally get back to my editing AMCF tonight, though it took me a while to remember where I’d edited up to, since my file had decided not to save the marker I’ve been putting in the file where I stop. So I sort of ended up casting my eyes over what I’d already been through as well, which is not a bad thing, but means I’m probably not as far along as I might be.

I have sent the MSS out to a few betas and have a couple more lined up (Kate F and Eden, I will probably send it to you guys tomorrow evening). I did have a bit of an “Ahh! What am I doing sending this to people and letting them read it?!” moment the other day, but I am getting past that.

So for today’s WIPpet, I am going back to ACMF. Today is the 11th of September, so I have 11 lines to share. This scene takes place just after Cait has been appointed as Felipe’s full-time carer in the hospital, and is having a chat with the doctor who is also looking after him.

“I must warn you, though,” Doctor Raymond said when they had finished going through all the medical details, “he is already bored and complaining of a lack of fresh air in his room. In a few more days, it should be all right to move him. If I’m not to be found, ask some of the other doctors to help him into a wheelchair for you. A turn about the gardens might keep him quiet for a while.”

Cait suppressed a smile. “Have no fear, doctor,” she said. “I am quite capable of handling the prince’s whining.”

“Good girl. Well, that is all you need to hear from me. You may start these new duties immediately.”

“Thank you, doctor.”

Under other circumstances, I might make an attempt to talk a bit more in this post, but it is already 9:30 and I had an interrupted night’s sleep last night, so I should consider going for a shower and to bed. I’ll get to your WIPpets as soon as I can! You can join in the WIPpet fun here (thanks to K L Schwengel for hosting) or visit other ROWers here.Ā  šŸ™‚

wordpresssig2

30 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday and #ROW80 Check-in: Yes, I sort of dropped off there for a bit.

  1. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Nice excerpt! Historical fantasy romance, huh? Sure, I think I can beta read for you. You can send me a doc at rmnnestvoldatyahoodotcom, and then I can just make my comments with track changes, the easiest way to go that I know.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      She’s got a pretty good handle on him. Their relationship is such that she doesn’t get in trouble for being upfront with him, so when he’s being a spoilt brat, she points it out to him (much to his chagrin).

      Thanks Alberta! Same to you! šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Eden says:

    Cait not only knows how to handle a prince, she clearly knows how to handle a doctor too. (Maybe even Doctor Who… Yeah, I would suspect so.)

    If you’re reading, Emily, you’re doing stuff. Don’t feel guilty. Just do what you can when you can.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Cait would be an awesome companion for the Doctor! (I was actually really disappointed when it was revealed that Victorian Clara from the Christmas special was not actually going to be the companion; I just really want one from a different time period, dammit!)

      They were pretty awesome books, so I can’t feel too guilty. šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Beth Camp says:

    Love that Beta moment of doubt — reminding me how much courage and tenacity it takes every day to write and to ultimately send it out! This excerpt has some interesting flavors, sort of a cross between doctor/nurse talk and a sense of Victorian times. I don’t know Cait and the prince yet, but I’m looking forward to reading more.

    Like

  4. Adrian says:

    lol I love the sly “hand off” if I’m not here, then find someone else…kind of thing going on. And Cait’s just like, yeah whatever, I got it, don’t worry. It’s an interesting dynamic for her.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      To be fair, there are quite a number of other patients he has to look after as well. It is interesting; she got this responsibility handed to her but at the same time there are plenty of people whispering behind her back about exactly what her relationship with Felipe is. Lots to deal with!

      Like

  5. Shan Jeniah Burton says:

    Emily,

    I am so glad you hit send. And I’m making sure to tell you which parts I especially love, and why, so that it’s not so crushing when I offer those suggestions about your darlings.

    I already liked Cait, and, getting to know them better, I have a new fondness for that sometimes whiny rogue of a good-egg Prince Felipe.

    They have a chemistry that reminds me a bit of my husband and I. I am having a lot of fun over here! =)

    Even better, I’m gaining clarity for my own nascent pre-editing for Bounded by a Nutshell, too….

    Like

Talk to me! :)

