#ROW80 Check-in and #WIPpet Wednesday Post

wednesdaybanner

Hiho! Confession: I’m not really in the mood for writing a blog post tonight, but I would never miss a WIPpet Wednesday, so this will be quick. Today is Wednesday September 4, so it’s time for me to share an excerpt from my WIP, which somehow relates to the date. I have four paragraphs from Operation: Sugarplum. It’s kind of a placeholder scene, since I haven’t completely finished the preceding scene, but it’s following roughly what needs to happen. This follows on from the last couple of weeks’ WIPpet posts.

When the monster* was gone, Max stood up slowly and looked over to Clara. She was lying against the garden wall that ran around her house, her eyes closed. One of her arms was bleeding; that must have been where the magic had hit her. He jogged quickly to her and squatted down next to her, pulling her into a sitting position.

“Hey,” he said quietly, moving one of his hands to support Clara’s head. “Hey, can you hear me?”

Clara half-opened her eyes and squinted at Max, trying to focus on him but not quite succeeding. “Hurts,” she mumbled, wincing and squeezing her eyes closed again.

“Okay, time to get you inside.”

*Monster is  not actually the word used here, but I don’t want to give away too much about the nature of said monster.

I haven’t done a great deal of writing this week, instead cheating slightly by using my two hours’ writing time this week to start going through AMCF and editing. I didn’t realise I was missing Cait and Felipe until I started spending time with them again. And it’s always fun going back to the beginning when the ending is so fresh in your mind.I’ve also sent it off to a few betas, so it’ll be good to get some feedback from them. The friend who read the very first draft is currently moving house, so I haven’t sent it to her yet, even though she said she’d be interested in reading the second draft. Her house-warming is this Saturday, so I figured I would broach the subject with her then.  Unless I write some more on Operation: Sugarplum this week, though, WIPpets may go back to AMCF for a little while. Oh, and if anyone else would be interested in betaing, it’s not too late to send me an email. fuzzyagent999[at]yahoo[dot]com[au] is my address.

Also, my boyfriend and I started a new writing project together this week, inspired by P.S. Longer Letter Later by Ann M Martin and Paula Danziger.  We have a notebook in which we are writing letters to one another, him in the guise of a Year 10 student named Reuben looking to do a work experience week with the local community theatre, and me doing the voice of Hillary, the outreach coordinator of said theatre. Reuben is rather over-enthusiastic and wants to do EVERYTHING (his words), and Hillary is trying to remain business-like whilst getting the kid to actually make some sort of decision about what he wants to do. We’ve only just started, there are two letters from Reuben and one from Hillary. I have the book with me at the moment to write the next one. So I’ll keep you posted on how that goes.

Anyway, it’s taken me way too long to write this post, so I’m going to finish up here, go and read the WIPpets that have already been posted, and then go and read in bed for a while. I’m onto the third book in the Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathon Stroud now. I pulled the physical copy off my shelf and it fell apart in my hands, so I’m really quite relieved that it’s available for Kindle! As is the prequel to the series, which I did not have a copy of. (What’s that? I was trying to avoid Kindle purchases until I’d read most of the books on my shelf? Yes. Well. Look, over there – a distraction!). I messaged the friend I had borrowed it from, and he said it was a second-hand copy when he got it, so he doubts it was my fault, which is rather a relief. Anyway. Yes. Going. Goodnight!

wordpresssig2

17 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in and #WIPpet Wednesday Post

  1. L. Marie says:

    More! I want more!!
    How cool that you and your boyfriend are doing an epistolary novel project. Um, it will be an epistolary novel, right?
    I’m sorry I can’t beta. I’ve got four manuscripts to read right now.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Haha, we’ll see! We did have a discussion about where roughly it could go, so it might end up that way!
      That’s all good! I’ve volunteered to read two different ones lately, and that’s probably going to be enough to keep me going for a while.

      Like

  2. ReGi McClain says:

    You hit the exact center between “aww, his concern and tenderness are so sweet” and “sheesh, he’s practical”. 🙂

    How exciting that AMCF is ready for betas!!! About how many words does it stand at?

    The writing project with your boyfriend sounds fun. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Hee, thanks. He’s not quite practical enough for it to occur to him to get her house keys out of her bag before helping her to the door, though, so she ends up being jostled around quite a bit.

      I knooow! Though I did have a moment this morning of the “Ahhh, why am I giving this to people to read, what am I doing?!” variety. It ended up a little over 37k.

      Like

  3. Jae says:

    Intense. Now I’m wondering what this monster had done. 😀 Nitpicks from me, I’d change “stood up” to “rose” and “was laying” to “lay” and “was bleeding” to “bled” for a smoother read. Also, could “jogged quickly” be changed to “dashed” or “darted” so you eliminate another -ly? Again, these are nitpicks, you’ll know what’s best for your story. 🙂

    Like

  4. Eden says:

    Sounds like Max is going to be getting some questions from Clara soon. If not, it’ll be equally interesting to know why. Events are certainly strange enough right now….

    (And I totally get your lack of desire to write a post today… It’s sunny and gorgeous out and one of our last warm days before winter comes. I didn’t want to be on the computer at all, and yet… I ended spending most of the day here,)

    Like

  5. Kate Frost says:

    Poor Clara, I think you captured the pain she’s in really well. That’s an interesting project you and your boyfriend have started.

    I’d love to beta read for you but I won’t have much time until the second half of September if that works for you and won’t be too late? I’ll email you about it. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks! 🙂

      That would be fine! I’ve got a couple of other people that have said it’ll probably be later in the month when they get to it, and I’m telling everyone that there’s no huge rush. 😀

      Like

  6. Christina says:

    Oh, poor Clara, I hope she isn’t injured too badly.

    A friend and I used to talk about doing something similar to what you’re describing, but never got around to it. It’ll be interesting to see how yours turns out 🙂

    Like

  7. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Great excerpt after big huge action scene!

    What genre is the book you want a critique on? Be happy to trade crits, but if it’s a genre I don’t usually read or don’t like much, I don’t know how much help I would be. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Hi Ruth, sorry for the delayed response. AMCF is a sort of quasi-Regency/Victorian romance set in a fictional kingdom during a fictional war. I’ve done quite a few WIPpets from it, which you can find here if you’d like an example of the style.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

