#ROW80 Check-in: Accidental new WIP and #WIPpet Wednesday – Wait, what?!

So I was thinking. I had said I was going to do a quick line-edit-type-of-thing on A More Complicated Fairytale before I sent the second draft out to beta readers. But I also needed a break form that story, and I am working on Operation Sugarplum and Keep Your Enemies Closest at the moment, so… instead of just having it sit there, I figured the second draft might as well be being read over by people and getting some feedback. It’s about 37k if memory serves, and WIPpet Wednesday excerpts can be read here if you’d like an idea of the type of story it is (to sum up, for those not familiar with it, it is a quasi-Regency/Victorian setting and there is an outspoken heroine and a war and a dashing prince and drama and romance!). Either let me know here, or send me an email at fuzzyagent999[@]yahoo[dot]com[dot]au. If you aren’t interested/haven’t the time/whatever else, but know someone who might be, please feel free to share this post/my email address/whatnot.

In other news… this is a thing that happened on Monday night:

newwipoopsrow80-2So. Um. Yes. Annoyingly, I can’t really even use it for WIPpet Wednesday posts, since that would get confusing when I’m regularly posting sections on Saturdays. But that’s okay. I spent all three of my breaks (morning/afternoon tea and lunch) on Monday writing new stuff for it. I also realised that the section I’d written last year, I had written before the further world-building I did  in which I discovered all Mireille’s people are all born with magical abilities was done. So I’ve gone through and edited some references to magic in.

A couple of people in my writer’s group have stories that they serialise, and post as they go, pretty much, and it’s interesting hearing them say that one of the perils/thrills of doing it that way is having to live with what you’ve already posted, even if it doesn’t work with something you come up with later. I’m actually planning on cheating a bit with mine. This Saturday will start a few lines before the end of last Saturday’s post, but with an amendment that gives a bit more depth to the end of that scene. My blog may have over 120 followers, supposedly, but I’m fairly certain only maybe 20 of those actually read it regularly, and I think they’ll forgive me. 🙂 Obviously, if something three posts ago affects what I’m writing now, I’ll try and work  with it, but… well, we’ll see how it goes. I was thinking that maybe when it’s finished, I’ll put the whole thing into a PDF and just have it a link on my Writing Projects page, with full disclaimers of it being a bit inconsistent and all.

wednesdaybannerBut on to WIPpet Wednesday! Want to play along? Simply post an excerpt from a WIP, or write the opening of a new one, that somehow corresponds to the days date. This might be as simple as 28 lines (maybe from Chapter 8) for August 28, or you could get more creative and throw in some more complicated operations and such. The linky is here and as always, it’s thank you to K. L. Schwengel at My Random Muse for hosting.

I’m adding 2 and 8 together today to give you 10 lines, because I don’t actually have a huge amount of Operation: Sugarplum to pick from at the moment (kind of stuck on a fight scene where I don’t know how I want it to play out). This scene is not long after last week’s, in which Clara was being followed on her way home from uni. She’s been caught by a creature with long claws and bad breath, who wants to know where “the Prince” is. Clara is trying to insist she doesn’t know any princes when Max (her boyfriend in this newer version, if you remember) shows up, and the creature is all, “Your Highness, so nice to see you.” Or words to that effect.

Wait – Max was the prince the creature had asked about? Under other circumstances, Clara might have laughed at the suggestion. She had known Max a long time and while she loved him to bits, of course, “princely” was hardly a word she would use to describe him. “Adorkable” (with the additional ‘k’) was usually what she went for. It summed up everything she liked about him, but also gave a sense of how he’d been known to cancel a pre-arranged date night to sit in his room and continue work on the app he was building. Afterwards, he’d given her a big, doe-eyed expression, handed her his phone and told her she could be the first one to play the new level, and she found she couldn’t stay mad at him for long.

Right now, however, Max didn’t seem at all surprised to be addressed with the royal title, and was making his way determinedly towards Clara and her captor.

“Let her go,” he said, his voice raised. “It’s me you want.”

In my head(/on my Pinterest board), Max looks like Josh Groban in fetching suits and scarves and things. I wouldn’t be able to stay mad at him after getting doe-eyed expressions either.

And now I must leave you, as I hope to get up early enough in the morning to ride my bike to work. I have a writer’s group gathering tomorrow evening, so hopefully I’ll get my other hour of writing in for the week. I might bounce some ideas off people for that fight scene I said I was stuck with. So it might be Friday before I get around to your posts, but I will see you then! Cheers!

wordpresssig2

27 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Accidental new WIP and #WIPpet Wednesday – Wait, what?!

      • Jae says:

        I did the same thing in my WIP with “sheeple” and was surprised when my writing group was like, ooooh, how interesting. I thought that was a pretty common word these days. But yeah, adorkable is perfect in that little excerpt, so a word well chosen. 🙂

        Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Nope, he’s well aware of it… but he and Drosselmeier have kept it hidden even from those they’ve known for most of Max’s life. Everything’s about to come spilling out, though!

      Like

  1. Eden says:

    You’ve got a winner there, Emily, with “adorkable”… I know so many guys that would work for. And ooooohhhh…. big-wide-puppy-eyes…. Now I want a Max of my own. 😀

    That was an awesome scene. Though… an offer for some time with Cait and Felipe does sound tempting… I’ll get back to you in a week or two after I visit some other beta reads I’m looking a, if that it okay..

    Like

  2. ReGi McClain says:

    Adorkable. Awesome. 😀

    I like this scene. 🙂 I feel sort of like I’ve stumbled on a spoiler. Not that I didn’t know all along who Max was, but seeing Clara’s surprise feels a little naughty out of the context of the book. I wonder how the next scene will play out. I’m not as familiar with the non-ballet (i.e. original) version of the Nutcracker, so at this point I’m clueless as to whether Max gets to rescue Clara or vice versa.

    Like

  3. shanjeniah says:

    I married adorkable. Spawned it, too! =D

    I just MIGHT fit the term, myself….

    This excerpt is delicious. Her surprise, the juxtaposition of this new image on top of who she knows he REALLY is….

    Offering to beta read, too. You can send it along to memismommyatyahoodotcom – but maybe ping me on Facebook that you did…I tend to neglect my email!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I like to think I fit it, too. 😉

      Thanks! The juxtaposition of those things has been really fun to explore in this scene.

      Awesome! I shall send that off to you tonight! Thank you! 🙂

      Like

Talk to me! :)

