#MirthMusicMon – The Very Model of a Modern Major-General and #ROW80 Check-in: Damn that book being good!

music_mirth

The other night, I finally got around to doing something I’ve been meaning to do for years and downloaded a version of Gilbert and Sullivan’s The Mikado from iTunes. The following night, I did the same with The Pirates of Penzance, and as such, have been listening to them all week. So it only makes sense that something from one of those is my contribution to Mirth and Music Monday this week. I did manage to pick about the longest song that I could, but it really is the best one. This is the version of Pirates that I grew up with on video, and it never ceases to amaze me that the guy playing Major-General Stanley is the same guy playing Nanki-Poo in this production of the Mikado. Said productions were only a few years apart. I think Mikado was second, too. The same company also did HMS Pinafore, that was the only one I got to see live, and I’m pretty sure I was too young to understand half the jokes, but it was still lots of fun. Anyway. I am rambling! Video!

And now onto my ROW80 check-in. Um. Well. You know how I said on Wednesday that I had started a new book and it had grabbed me in the first two pages? Well, it continued to keep me reading so much so that I gave up any plans of getting anything else done until I finished it. Which was yesterday. The book was The Amulet of Samarkand, the first in the Bartimaeus trilogy by Jonathon Stroud. And it was awesome. But that did mean I basically had today to get anything done. And I did write for two hours! The two hours preceding the writing of this post, in fact. I wrote about 300 words on Operation: Sugarplum; not the best result, but  the scene that I’m currently working on is proving tricky to actually make turn into words on a page.

I did, however, also manage to add 500+ words to my Short Story Saturday serial, Keep Your Enemies Closest. Actually, I also worked on that a bit yesterday, going through what I wrote last year and fixing it up and making it better. The story is coming along nicely. I’ve come up with a bit of world-building tonight that I wasn’t expecting, so that’s exciting. Also exciting is that people seem to be enjoying it so far, even if it is basically me foisting a first draft on an unsuspecting audience.

… I am vaguely worried it is going to turn into a full-fledged WIP, but… I could actually live with that. It is a prequel to Friend of the Enemy, so if I end up writing one instead of the other, I’m not hugely bothered. The plan I’ve got for it in my head is paced reasonably quickly, so even if it does take over, hopefully it won’t be for too long.

Anyway, it’s time for me to schedule this post for tomorrow morning and go to bed. I shall catch you all at your check-ins. 🙂

wordpresssig2

10 thoughts on “#MirthMusicMon – The Very Model of a Modern Major-General and #ROW80 Check-in: Damn that book being good!

  1. ReGi McClain says:

    That one is so different from the version I’m used to. It’s a fun song to listen to. I don’t fancy singing it myself, but it’s fun to watch someone else sing. 🙂

    *sigh* I’ve had that problem with books. I just bought a bunch in a series I was waiting for the author to finish so i could read them all straight through.

    Like

  2. shanjeniah says:

    I find that books that compel me to finish them really feed my writing (maybe why you found that unexpected worldbuilding?).

    I have always loved this song. I can’t sing all of it, but I can do a creditable job on the first few lines…I tend to talk fast!

    My WIPs are so jumbled up in order right now that I just go with it. i now I am at least two years from having anything ready to publish, and, as it turns out, the ones that will mot likely beready first are later volumes in the double series. That’s OK – they’ll be waiting while I finish others, and that may mean I can release the entire series within a relatively short time, which may be excellent if there is reader demand.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

