#MirthMusicMon – The Galaxy Song, and #ROW80 Check-in: Primarily Progress

music_mirth

I’m going to do Mirth and Music Monday first this week, because I can!  I went to see Professor Brian Cox’s live show on Saturday night, and he was awesome! Not only is he incredibly intelligent and passionate about science, he’s also really funny and entertaining! In the middle of talking about how he ended up as a BBC science presenter, he ended up on a rant about Justin Bieber and One Direction and how awful it would be if they presented television science. Then he forgot what he had been talking about previously. He also talked about the episode of Doctor Who he had a cameo on, and was humorously bitter over having to refer to the Doctor as “a better man than me”.  Anyway, this song, sung by Monty Python star Eric Idle, and co-written by Brian Cox, was played at the show, and there are some funny moments in the video, so I thought I would share it. It was used as the trailer for his most recent show, Wonders of Life, which I am watching right now because I bought all the DVDs.

row80-2As for writing this week, I think I probably worked for two hours on Operation: Sugarplum, particularly if you count both writing and plotting. Still haven’t got a complete outline, but I got some really good feedback on Wednesday’s post (both about the excerpt and some other aspects), which was really helpful. I didn’t write 500 words on my Short Story Saturday story, but I do have another 2000 words or so before I run out of material, so as long as I get working on it now, I’ll be all good. I visited all my sponsor posts after Wednesday’s check-in, so that’s good.

I also COMPLETED two goals for my 101 Things in 1001 Days project. I played the Tangled video game all the way through to the end, and I went a whole day at work without getting distracted by fun things on the Internet.  I also documented Saturday for an A Day In My Life post, which has been posted up on LiveJournal, and which I will post up here as my end of the week post. My goal is to do 3 of those posts, but at least I’ve made a start now. You can see my whole list of Mission 101 goals by clicking the link at the top of the page.

The first half of this coming week I may not get too much done on goals, as I will be preparing for a job interview I have on Wednesday. I’ve worked at the level this position is on, but only in an acting role, so I’ve never actually been interviewed for this level. I want to read the organisation’s business plan, annual plan, things like that, so that I can refer to those in the interview and prove that I understand the point of the position. So it might not be until Thursday that I actually work on my usual goals.

Anyway, I’m not going to hang around any longer because the episode of Wonders of Life that I was watching just finished, and I need to have some dinner and then get to work on that preparation I just mentioned. Catch you on Wednesday!

wordpresssig2

10 thoughts on “#MirthMusicMon – The Galaxy Song, and #ROW80 Check-in: Primarily Progress

  1. Shan Jeniah Burton says:

    Emily,

    It sounds like you have a lot of good things going on! Wishing you much, much luck and recognition of your talents on Wednesday, and happy writing thereafter.

    For me, it’s a little opposite. The children and I will be at a conference from Thursday to Monday, so I will likely get very little done during those intensely social, intense input days. I’m trying to bank some progress between now and Wednesday, to compensate a little -and I knew this was coming, so it’ll work out OK.

    Looking forward to your next WIPpet, and going to check out your 101 things, too! =D

    Like

  2. ReGi McClain says:

    Aaaaand that’s why I didn’t pursue a career in zoology. What a job! “Hear you, slimy underling! Obey my mighty command and wander around those lionesses with their cubs there or my wrath shall be great.” 🙂

    I hope your interview goes well!!!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Haha, I know, right?! Another occasion he was talking about at his show was when they decided he had to be on an iceberg for the presentation, and he was like, “Okay, right…” It wasn’t until he was on said iceberg that they informed him they couldn’t actually rope him to the boat or anything, just in case the iceberg tipped over. And he was like, “… the iceberg might tip over?” The director also made him put his beanie back on after it had been blown off and landed in the Arctic Sea, and he had a headache for a week from the cold.

      Like

  3. L. Marie says:

    I remember that episode with Prof. Brian Cox–the cubes! How cool that you got a chance to see him! Best of luck on your job interview!!! You’ve got so much going on. I’m still totally envious of you going to the 50th anniversary celebration! I told my nephew, who is a Doctor Who fan. We both plan to squeeze in your suitcase.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I remember turning to my housemate and saying, “Was that the actual Dr Brian Cox?” and she was like, “I’m fairly sure…” I wasn’t as familiar with his work back then, so I wasn’t completely sure.

      I would be happy to add you and your nephew to my list of people to buy 50th Anniversary souvenirs for, if you were comfortable emailing me your postal address. Otherwise, never fear, there will be zillions of photos!

      Like

  4. rosedandrea says:

    Professor Brian Cox is so much fun to watch! I love how he can take a complicated scientific idea and put it into bite sized, easy to understand thoughts.

    Good luck with your interview on Wednesday. Fingers crossed! 😀

    Like

Talk to me! :)

