#ROW80 Check-in: Goal 1, check! and #MirthMusicMonday – “I’m not sure where this metaphor’s goin’…”

finisheddrafttweet

That’s pretty much all I need to say right there, isn’t it? Despite procrastination and a busier-than-expected weekend, I brought the second draft to a close at 37282 words tonight. One of three goals for this ROW80 round is now complete! πŸ˜€ And with a whole month and a half to spare. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

I do need a break from it, though; I realised I was becoming frustrated with the story and the characters towards the end. I’ve started working on Friend of the Enemy [working title], and you can read a bit more about that, including a little background piece in the form of an in-universe text book, on my Short Story Saturday post. My WIPpet Wednesday posts will probably be from this one for a little while now. And I know, I know, I still need to get on to finishing the outline for Operation: Sugarplum.

Anywho, that’s really about it for this week. Have some mirthful music to start or end your week, depending on when you’re reading and what time of the week you consider Sunday to be. I was watching Legally Blonde while typing this up, so here is one of my favourite numbers from the stage musical based on the movie. Elle’s pretty awesome, but the stylist, Paulette, is my favourite character. The dialogue at the end of the song is pretty boring, but make sure you skip along a bit to the reprise.

And since I have nothing to say that can really top that, I bid you goodnight!

wordpresssig2

16 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Goal 1, check! and #MirthMusicMonday – “I’m not sure where this metaphor’s goin’…”

  1. Debbie_e says:

    Well done. I’m chuffed that you met you got your second draft done.
    Definitely a good idea to do something else now, at least for a while. I still have three weeks to get my current draft done and I’m sure I’ll be sick of the sight of it by then.

    Like

  2. Fallon says:

    congrats on finishing the second draft! That’s a great accomplishment. I always think about taking a break when I finish a draft, but, yeah, it rarely happens. I usually get excited about the next project and want to dive right in.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I think I really needed the break this time; I’ve done the two drafts since the beginning of the year (sure, it’s not a long manuscript, but still), and it’s been really nice to just play video games or whatever and not think about writing. I’m pretty keen to get back into it now, though, so I think that’s a good sign!

      Like

  3. ReGi McClain says:

    *snicker, snicker* Metaphors…

    Woohoo! Yay for finishing second drafts.You definitely deserve a week off. πŸ™‚ (But I still want more Opeeration: Sugarplum.) I look forward to reading some of Friend of the Enemy, too. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. rosedandrea says:

    I may be a brunet, but I really felt like the much joked about dumb blond when my brain started looking for the favorite on your tweet. *face palm* …anyway…

    Congratulations! Yay! Really happy for you!

    I did not know they made that movie into a play. Now the search is on to find a copy of it. Loved the movie, and from that clip, I think I’ll love the play just as much. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    Congrats on finishing your first draft! Woo hoo!! I’m all about rewards when goals are reached so have you something in mind to celebrate?

    Enjoy the week off, see you at the next check in.

    Like

  6. shanjeniah says:

    Emily,

    I don’t procrastinate. I take pauses when I need them – coffee breaks of the soul, you might say…

    I slow down a bit after finishing a draft, but, since I always have a buffet table of goals, I move on to other things – which were often relegated to lesser status while I focused on the WIP.

    I like frequent shifts, and lots of possibilities.

    WAHOO on finishing, and on taking a break if you want one. Hooray for new projects, and completed goals! I lift my coffee mug in your honor!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

