#ROW80 Update: Look at me go! and #MirthMusicMonday: Some romance and some silliness

row80You know how I said I probably wouldn’t get much written this week because I was going to be all lazy and at home and on holidays and not getting any writing done? It was LIES!  I actively pulled out my notebook or my tablet when I was lounging around watching TV or whatever, and managed about 3500 words over the course of my five days away. So, you know, PRETTY CHUFFED with that result. And just to show you what a wild life I lead, about 780 of those words were written on the night of my birthday, because I had nothing better to do (I had been out for lunch that day, though, and we went out again on Saturday night, so I was not left wanting for celebration, really). I wrote one scene that was easily inserted early on in A More Complicated Fairytale, and then straight through from when Cait returns home to when Felipe gets home a couple of weeks later to when they FINALLY get together (I mean… spoiler warning! Because none of you saw that coming, right?). For two characters who are usually so chatty, they spent an awful lot of time in that scene sitting in awkward silence and staring everywhere but at each other. As I said on Twitter at the time, I just wanted to bash their heads together and yell, “JUST KISS ALREADY!” Except, of course, once I got to that, I was like, “Oh, yeah, I hate writing kissing. Kissing is horrible to write.”

As for sponsor duties, I was unable to get to them for either Sunday or Wednesday due to my parents’ distinct lack of Internet (they only get a gigabyte a month, which is plenty for them, but means I have to show incredible restraint). I shall work extra hard on this week’s check-ins to make up for that. I also missed my WIPpeteers this week, but I will try and at least read your posts from this week before they disappear, even if I don’t get to leave comments.

That’s about it for my ROW80 update (find other ROW80 updates here, but as I said last Sunday, I’m now going to combine ROW80 posts with Mirth and Music Monday, the brainchild of one ReGi McClain (here is the linky if you would like to post something mirthful and something musical and join in :D). In my MMM post a couple of weeks ago, you got to hear my voice yelling the word “Doctor” in Rafe Morris’ Schnitz and Giggles song. That seemed to get a good reaction so here is a full twenty-five  seconds of me being easily amused by table decorations at my 21st birthday party three years ago. The other voice is my niece. I am doing my slightly affected “on video” voice, but it’s close enough to my actual voice to pass.

And now for the musical part of my post. In celebration of Cait and Felipe finally being engaged, this is the video which basically sums up how I imagine them once they get past all their issues and allow themselves to be adorable and romantic with one another. You just have to ignore the fact that it is actually from Phantom of the Opera and take it completely out of context. I find when I watch my housemate’s DVD of this entire production, I have such a cognitive dissonance, because Raoul and Christine are definitely not like Cait and Felipe for the rest of the show (someone remind me to finish writing that post I started about most female characters in musicals, Christine Daae included, being kind of useless).

And now it’s time for me to go, for though this post will be published early Monday morning (I hope – I’m new to this scheduling thing), I’m typing it Sunday night, and I really should learn to go to bed before 11pm. In my defence, I didn’t get home today until 8pm; it’s the best part of an eight-hour journey from my parents’ back to Canberra. So yes. Goodnight!

~ Emily

15 thoughts on “#ROW80 Update: Look at me go! and #MirthMusicMonday: Some romance and some silliness

  1. Debbie_e says:

    Well done on your five day word count. And I liked how you snuck it in when you were doing other things. I’d find only a gigabyte of internet a month tough too!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks, Debbie! Once I got going, the importance of the scene kept me on track. I think it’s good to prove to myself I’m not always lazy! (Considering last time I had a week off work I wrote about 1000 words of the seven days!)

      Like

  2. Tia Bach says:

    Congrats on the word count! I love when I make time for writing in a week I never thought it would happen. Kudos! And I get you on sponsor duties. I’m moving and then going on vacation and not sure what kind of Internet I’ll have. Eek!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I think even with sponsor duty-related goals, we just have to accept that sometimes it’s not going to happen. After all, I’m sure the “that knows you have a life” part of the ROW80 tag line applies to those, too! 😀

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  3. L. Marie says:

    I add my congratulations and my laughter about this line: “most female characters in musicals, Christine Daae included, being kind of useless.” I hope you will finish that post!!! And I hope you had a pleasant birthday.

    Like

  4. ReGi McClain says:

    “I’m videoing the stars. ” LOL! It’s nice to know their are other people like me out there. 🙂 I’m really not a grab-the-camera type, but I made my husband re-photo a flower that fell onto a leaf about 4 times. Then I re-photoed it myself because I thought I could do it better. ( I couldn’t. We had the wrong camera with us. It was hopeless.) All because I thought, “Look! That flower is so pretty lying on the leaf that way.”

    I love Phantom of the Opera music. 😀 (Except Point of No Return. That one creeps me out a bit.)

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Bwhaha, yes. I am easily distracted/amused/taken in by things, particularly if they’re shiny. 😀

      I used to be all into the romanticised stuff in Phantom and loved Point of No Return, and totally thought it was a terrible tragedy that Christine went off with Raoul instead of staying with Erik, but recently I was thinking about it and I was like, “Actually… no, Raoul is quite clearly the better life choice here… and PONR is actually a bit rapey when you think about it, isn’t it?” Don’t get me started on the characterisation of, well, everyone in Love Never Dies, though.

      Like

      • ReGi McClain says:

        I read the book long before I saw the musical, after I saw the 1925 movie at an old time theatre. Erik is just kind of creepy all around. Raoul goes through more than the musical can convey to rescue Christine (rats *shudder* ugh). The musical is very much set up to make people feel sympathetic toward Erik, but he doesn’t deserve it.

        Like

      • Emily Witt says:

        I keep meaning to track down some of the other movie versions but never get around to it. I would love to see the 1925 one, and I think there’s one with Charles Dance that’s supposed to be quite good, too…

        I have to admit I am a pretty big fan of things that are macabre and weird and dark (kind of secretly, though; I tend to give a wholesome and pure impression), so I loved reading about all the weird stuff that Raoul goes through. And I was only 14 or 15 when I was reading it, so probably loved it even more.

        Like

      • ReGi McClain says:

        I’m down with dark. 🙂 Very, very, very few people would guess it from my appearance, though. (And by very few, I mean none thus far.)

        It was great fun to see the 1925 version. The place we went to was set up like an early 1900’s theatre. They even had a guy playing the score on the kind of whatchamajiggy they used before talkies came out. One guy came in costume. 🙂

        Like

      • Emily Witt says:

        That sounds so cool! I did a bit of a search on YouTube and someone has uploaded it in its entirety, but I don’t know if it’s got a soundtrack or whether it’s just the film in silence.

        Like

  5. rosedandrea says:

    I get that way about sparkly things, as well. My husband took to calling me a magpie because I would just rock my hand back and forth to watch my wedding ring sparkle. In truth, it’s as much about what the rings signify (almost 3 years now and my heart still jumps when I see him) as watching the light reflect off the diamonds.

    The actress who plays Christine impresses me. She plays the part almost effortlessly, and it doesn’t come across as silly or simpering. 🙂

    Congrats on all the new words! It’s always nice when you surprise yourself. 😀

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Aww! 😀 I would totally be doing that, too!

      Yeah, Sierra Boggess is really good (I believe she is a “phan”-favourite… I can’t believe I just used that term, haha). Sometimes it just comes across as the person singing the part and looking around with wide eyes, but her reactions are actually kind of what you’d expect of someone being stalked by a psychopath composer living under your place of work.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

