#ROW80 Update and #WIPpet Wednesday: First day out

So far this week I’ve only worked on my writing for half an hour. I’ve powered through editing of A More Complicated Fairytale and am now at another point where I need to write a bit of new material to link up various scenes at the end. I did sketch out which scenes need to be done the other day, so now it’s just a case of not being a lazybones. And avoiding people at work who insist on asking me what I’m writing (like it’s changed since last time?). I’ve kinda sucked at my sponsor duties for Sunday’s round of check-ins, I probably only made it to about half of them. I kept saying I would get to it, and now Wednesday has snuck up on me! I will endeavour to visit the people I missed for this check-in, though. That is what I did when I missed someone before, and it made me feel better.

Anyhoo, onto WIPpet Wednesday funtimes! I’ve got 17 lines for you this week (today being the 17th) but we’re going much earlier on in the story than we’ve been for the past few weeks. Prince Felipe has only recently been admitted to the hospital, and due to the nature of his injuries, hasn’t been allowed to move about much at all. Finally, though, he’s told he can go out in a wheelchair and get some fresh air. This dialogue takes place the first time they go outside.

“So, Cait, how many proposals of marriage have you received since you’ve been here?”

“I beg your pardon?”

“I know what these are men would be like, Cait. You’re a pretty girl and they don’t see any girls, pretty or otherwise, until they end up here.”

Cait laughed. “To date, I have received no marriage proposals,” she informed him, “but the outrageously flirtatious remarks already number in the thousands, I expect.”

Felipe laughed at this, but then cringed and placed a hand on the wound on his side. “Well, I’d be disappointed to hear anything less,” he said.

“Are you all right?” Cait asked, her smile disappearing and concern taking its place. Judging by the expression on the prince’s face, the wound was still smarting.

“I’m fine,” he said. “I just have to remember to remain completely serious at all times until this damn thing is healed.” He paused and glanced up at Cait, and then added, “Please forgive my language.

“I’ve heard a lot worse in my time here.”

By this time they had reached the gardens and Cait maneuvered the prince’s chair next to a bench where she could sit down herself. She and some of the other nurses often brought their patients from the convalescent wards to this spot. Under other circumstances, it might have been considered romantic, but to the soldiers it was simply a respite from the sights, sounds and smells of the wards.

Maybe it’s just me, but I actually really like the idea of an injured hero who has to rely on other people to get his stuff done for him (if I do say so myself). Good thing he’s a prince, and there are plenty of those people about. 🙂

Want to join in on the WIPpet fun? It’s easy! All you need to do is post an snippet from your current WIP that somehow relates to the date (eg. 17 lines/words/paragraphs, etc or something from Chapter 17 or Chapter 7 for the month or whatever… get creative!). Then post the link here and check out some of the others. If you’re still confused, or would just like some more info, ReGi McClain posted a really good explanation last week.

I’m not going to hang around too much tonight, because I am really sleepy. My cat decided it would be a good idea to wake me up at some ungodly hour this morning by standing on my chest and licking my face, and while I initially thought I was going to be fine making it through the day in spite of the broken sleep, but I got to about 3pm and started nodding off on my keyboard… Also, I am quite full of epic Ethiopian food because it’s payday and that means payday dinner with the boyfriend, but a full tummy just compounds the sleepiness. I am tortured by the question of whether to start the Doctor Who novel I won a while ago, or the ebook I bought with the steampunk version of my city (even if it is set about 30 years before my city actually existed by name). Actually, I should just finish last month’s Doctor Who short story before this month’s comes out next week. Sigh. I’ll figure something out. Goodnight, my lovelies.

~ Emily

33 thoughts on “#ROW80 Update and #WIPpet Wednesday: First day out

  1. kathils says:

    I have to say, I love to torment my hero types by making them rely on someone else. It tends to make them somewhat cranky. Hee, hee.

    Like

      • kathils says:

        I can sympathize. I’m a terrible patient. Actually, when I’m not feeling well or hurting, just leave me alone. And absolutely do NOT try to tell me I can’t do something when I KNOW I — *cough, hack, ouch, swoon*

        Like

  2. Kate Sparkes says:

    I agree, too. Guys (or gals) who never need anyone else can get pretty boring or unrealistic. And think of the character growth that happens when you can bring someone that low!

    I wonder whether our characters hate us…

    I totally sympathize with Felipe here. After my c-sections it hurt SO much to laugh! I almost had to ban one really funny friend from visiting, because he couldn’t help making jokes. Don’t let Felipe sneeze or cough, either… yowch!

    Like

  3. Dawn Montgomery says:

    It’s wonderful to see a hero or heroine who have to come to terms with receiving help. I Lol’d at Kate’s banning of her friend after her c-section. I’m so sorry she went through so much, but I think I have a friend exactly like that. LOL. Enjoy your rest. 🙂

    Like

  4. Elaine Jeremiah says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed this extract Emily. I do so love the character of Prince Felipe. He’s able to say exactly what he thinks, hence the first line of this ‘…how many proposals of marriage have you received…’ Great! I can understand Cait being startled by that question – I definitely would be too in her position! 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks, Elaine! He is quite loveable. I love it when he says things out of the blue that make Cait say, “… What?” Actually, I think I should add something to the effect of “Cait blinked” before her “I beg your pardon” because I think that is exactly what she would be doing.

      Like

  5. L. Marie says:

    I love an injured hero!!! And I can relate too, having had surgery. Plus, if he irks Cait, all she has to do is jab him in the injured spot.
    Sounds like you have some great reads there!

    Like

  6. ReGi McClain says:

    Oh, the ickiness of being intensely sleepy and equally intensely curious about a story! How well I know it. More than once I’ve stayed up reading until my eyes were watering and the next day was shot to pieces. *sigh*

    I have mixed feelings about this bit. It’s sweet, fun, and tragic all at once, and nicely written. On a purely impersonal level, I think it’s great. However, having been on the pushing end of a wheelchair for a loved one… well, it’s not my favorite reading material. Which means you’ve done a good job of writing the scene realisticly. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks ReGi, I’m so glad it comes across realistically. I don’t have any personal experience with this sort of thing so I am drawing purely on what I’ve learned through working at the War Memorial.

      I have done the same thing! You’d think we’d learn…

      Like

  7. sarah says:

    The more torment the hero goes through in the story makes him all the more endearing to me! Please tell me gets injured lots of times. *grins* I do like prince Filipe’s charm and wit. This scene was engaging, and I wish to read more!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      LOL, well, he doesn’t actually go back to the war after this because of Stuff That Happens, but even by the end of the story he hasn’t completely recovered and is still walking with a cane. If that appeals to you? 😀 He is rather charming. Also a bit of a sook, but I love him anyway.

      Like

      • Sarah says:

        Ohhh, excellent. I hope someone takes his cane away and he has to hobble around and keeps falling down, which frustrates him and keeps him in this world of pain… Okay, well, MAYBE that doesn’t have to actually happen, and I can just imagine it a little bit, and that is still good enough. *evil grin*

        Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      He is pretty chilled. A lot of that has to do with growing up as the King’s second son – up until quite recently there was no threat of him having to succeed the throne or anything like that, so he’s always been pretty pressure-free and doesn’t really give that up even when his circumstances have changed. Plus, I think you’d have to have that sort of attitude when you’re fighting a war, o ryou’d just go crazy.

      Like

  8. Kate Frost says:

    I like Felipe’s physical helplessness and yet he’s still got that glint in his eye and is happy to be teasing Cait. His injury is a great device for the two of them to get to know each other too.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      After some of the things he’s seen, he needs to stay positive. Having Cait there definitely helps, espeically since they’re on much friendlier terms now than they were for a while.

      Like

  9. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Nice dialogue between the characters! I had a bit of a disconnect, though, between the formal language, the whole prince thing, and the wheelchair and hospital situation, which felt more modern to me. But I’m sure those details of the world are disclosed before this passage.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      The setting doesn’t play much of part in this scene, but it is actually a sort of quasi-Victorian era. The wheelchair is one of those old type cane ones, and the hospital is actually a country house that has been converted. This excerpt probably makes a bit more sense with the context.

      Like

  10. Christina Olson says:

    I feel your pain on your cat waking you up too early. Our boys like to wake us up by head butting us – they’re not very big on licking – or by jumping on sensitive parts of our bodies… like our stomachs. And they always do it an hour or so before we actually need to be up!

    I really enjoyed the dialogue between Felipe and Cait and I look forward to reading more as they get to know each other 🙂

    Like

  11. Gloria Weber says:

    I like that the scene tried to stamp out the romantic-ness of it all. Though it’s there! They can’t deny it in hindsight! 😉

    Now pardong me while I… Doctor Who! SQUEEE! Always pick Doctor Who!!! Squee! 😀

    Like

Talk to me! :)

