MMM – Funny songs for real life

I very nearly forgot about Music and Mirth Monday, but it’s okay, I’m here now! I still haven’t responded to comments on yesterday’s post, nor have I done any writing for today (getting to that next) but I have been working on a job application that’s due Thursday, so I have a good reason! Anyway, both my music and mirth today is care of a Canberra musician by the name of Rafe Morris. I was listening to his music on the way to work this morning, so since I’m making this post up pretty much on the spot, here is a TedX talk he did in Canberra, where he shared some funny songs for real life.

And as a bonus, here is the theme song he wrote for the improv show I often go to on Monday nights. It was part of a fundraiser for a music festival – the improv people gave them funds and Rafe wrote the theme song in return. The show is called Schnitz and Giggles for reasons that would take too long to explain, really, and that’s me who yells out “Doctor!” at 1:28. 😀

With that, I leave you. If you would like to join in Music and Mirth Monday, just post a similar post and then join up at the linky here. Many thanks to ReGi McClain for hosting!

~ Emily

9 thoughts on “MMM – Funny songs for real life

  1. L. Marie says:

    Oh man! He’s so funny and clever. And how cool to hear your voice!! I love an improv show. We took one of my nieces and her friends to an improv show for her birthday. She was dragged on stage and made to participate. Loved the experience!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I was terrified the first time I went along that I would be dragged up (not good at thinking on my feet), but now I’ve realised this group don’t actually drag people up except for the Serenade (where they improvise a song about their volunteer). I’ve done that one, though it turned into a rather inappropriate song about my workplace. I didn’t mind, though. 😀

      Like

  2. ReGi McClain says:

    I agree with L. Marie. Now we have a voice to go with the words. 🙂

    I have to run right now, but I got through Soup Kitchen Lady and the theme song. So funny! I wonder what the inspiration was for Soup Kitchen Lady…

    Like

  3. rosedandrea says:

    Laughed all the way through! 🙂

    The sunglasses song reminded me of my husband’s sadness after finding that his Great Aunt had swiped his ray bands off the dash while his brother had our car for the weekend.
    Complicated I know, but it’s been months and I swear my man is still in mourning. 😦

    Like

Talk to me! :)

