#ROW80 Check-in and #WIPpet Wednesday: I can’t think of a clever title today

row80Writing? Sure, I’ve worked on my writing so far this week… except for the fact that Monday night I was totally distracted getting tickets for the Doctor Who thing (see Monday’s post), and then last night… actually last night I was just lazy… and then tonight, I had my boyfriend over and he had the computer because he’s trying to get things organised for his own overseas trip at the end of the year and his computer doesn’t work so he needed mine to check his itinerary and stuff…

… I started reading The Nutcracker… that counts as research for Operation: Sugarplum, right? What do you mean, no? See, the thing is, I’ve taken to reading at work instead of writing, because I’m running out of new material to write for AMCF; there’s more that will need to be written, but I need to get back to the editing to figure out exactly where I still need to slot new stuff in… at the moment there’s more new material in the second draft than old, and I kind of want to remedy that. There are a couple of scenes whose Scrivener cork boards have “DON’T FORGET TO FINISH WRITING THIS SCENE” on them, but I don’t want to come back to them just yet. I think they need some more context before I can finish them.

So long story short, I haven’t achieved any of my two hours’ writing time for the week yet. But I will! Promise! I have tomorrow and Friday nights at home, plus the  weekend (bar the couple of hours where I go out grocery shopping, and then the more hours where I cook soup and curries for the week).

I did fulfill my sponsor duties so far as I’m aware… actually, looking at Sunday’s linky now, it looks like I missed one… oops. My bad. Guess I forgot to check back to see if any more had been added. Will have to make sure I don’t do that again.

Anyway!

wippetwednesday

Today is also WIPpet Wednesday, where bloggers come together to share snippets from their current WIPs, excerpts which somehow correlate to the day’s date. Many of us get creative with what is known as WIPpet maths, in order to make the excerpt we really want to share fit the date, but I’m boring, so I’m just giving you ten lines (as they appear in my Scrivener file) for July 10. This scene takes place directly after last week’s, but is from Felipe’s POV… what with Cait being unconscious after he hit her in the head and all.

Prince Felipe chose not to dwell on the uncomfortably loud thump with which Cait’s head hit the wall as she fell and instead focused on the fact that he had also managed to shoot Simian in the shoulder, rendering the insurgent’s dominant arm useless and sending him reeling back against the wall, where he then slumped to the ground.

“Where the hell did that come from?” Simian growled, nodding towards the pistol still in the prince’s hand as he held his own up to his wound in a fruitless attempt to stem the blood flow.

“There’s something to be said for this civilian clothing,” the prince replied. “It’s much roomier than the paraphernalia I’ve had to wear all my life. There’s room for hiding a pistol in the back of your trousers and giving the illusion that you’re unarmed. My leg may have been injured but my arm’s still as quick as it ever was. They train us well in the Nardowyn military.”

No pithy remark to follow up the excerpt like I usually have, because I’m actually pretty exhausted and am really keen to finish this post so I can go to bed! You can join in the WIPpet fun at this linky or check out fellow ROW80 participants here! Goodnight!

~ Emily

40 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in and #WIPpet Wednesday: I can’t think of a clever title today

    • Emily Witt says:

      Hee, yay!

      Don’t worry, she will! Felipe only spends a little bit of time being smug, then once he’s assured Meg that he hasn’t gone completely crazy, they start on getting Cait out of there.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      He’s definitely not. He knows his game is up. Meanwhile Felipe gets to be all, “See what happens when you try to kidnap my girl?” about it (not that she’s technically his girl at the moment, but shh). Rest assured Cait will be all right eventually, though she might be a bit headachey for a while.

      Like

  1. L. Marie says:

    I agree with Kate. It counts as research. And I can’t help chuckling at the sound poor Cait’s head made! “They train us well in the Nardowyn military”–sexy!

    Like

  2. Raewyn Hewitt says:

    Prince Felipe gets more and more fun the longer I’m reading him. I’m still reeling from the thud of Cait’s head… well I suppose you’ve got to be practical about these things. And I’m guessing after her last knock on the head she’s going to need to have a sense of humour. (Or a few choice words…).

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Originally, he was going to be a Prince Phillip, except then I realised that is the name of both the Duke of Edinburgh and my favourite Disney Prince, so that would have been weird on too many levels. Normally I probably would have gone with Phillipe, not quite sure what made me decide on the F instead. Maybe trying to get away from the Phillip connection. I’m glad you enjoyed!

      Like

  3. kathils says:

    I adore Felipe. Knocks poor Cait senseless and then exchanges pithy dialogue. If I were him, I’d consider not being anywhere around when she comes to — prince or no.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I would do the same, but as we’ve established previously, he’s secretly a total softie and will be sitting by her bedside waiting for her to wake up (sounds cheesy but I promise it’s not so much in the actual thing).

      Like

      • kathils says:

        What a guy. I’m not sure I’d like him quite so much if he didn’t sit by her bedside and take his punishment. 😉

        Like

  4. Eden says:

    Now I have to wonder what normal clothes for Felipe would be… Hmm (picturing something very skin-tight… no wonder Cait was interested). I dearly hope Cait feels okay after that blow.

    As for no writing… well, some weeks are on, some weeks are off… It happens. And yeah, it’s research. Especially if you’re trying to stay close to the original story. Basically, don’t be too hard on yourself, Emily.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Lol, it’s more the issue that he would be used to wearing stuff like this. I’m sure he could hide a gun down the back of his trousers, but the chances of retrieving it quickly and without notice would be much slimmer.

      Yeah, this week might be more of an off week. Though I did manage to do some outlining on my lunch break today, so maybe I just needed a bit of a kickstart.

      Like

      • Eden says:

        Sometimes a little kickstart is what we all need. I’ve got some writing I need to catch up on too. Let’s inspire each other to get more done… tomorrow (it’s after midnight here). 😀

        Like

      • Eden says:

        I believe (though don’t quote me on it), but there were often well hidden by the pinstripes of the pants, pockets in many such outfits that would allow one to to both secrete and release a weapon with ease. That’s a question that a costumer might be able to answer better.

        Off weeks happen…yeah, but…. did you manage to get any writing work done today? (said I’d be your moral support!) I did some, but not nearly as much as I’d have liked.

        Like

      • Emily Witt says:

        Hmm, that’s a good point; I’m not very knowledgable on it either, but it’s the sort of thing that would have made sense. I do know a couple of non-professional costumers who are currently working on a local production of Phantom of the Opera, I might ask one of them, or might look into it myself. Either way, he’s wearing something other than usual royal regalia but I might rephrase what he says so that it’s more to the effect of “Much easier to give the effect of being unarmed when there are no obvious hiding places” or something like that.

        Like

      • Emily Witt says:

        Totally neglected to respond to the second half of your comment: I did get some stuff done. I’ve made a page of notes about the Nutcracker and things that I will have to figure out for my versoin of it. That was on my lunch break. In the evening, I probably worked on editing for maybe an hour? So I’m back on track. The scenes I was editing were ones I didn’t remember hugely well from when I originally wrote them, so it was nice to revisit them.

        Like

      • Eden says:

        Great to know you’re finally on track. Sometimes it just takes a bit of redirection.

        Yeah, it makes sense to talk to your costuming friends. One, if they’re doing the sewing and design, they might enjoy the creative challenge too. And two, it might even give you more ideas to work with.

        Have fun with it either way. Details can be sorted out as they come, but loving your story is vital.

        Like

  5. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Huh, recently I’ve stumbled across several people doing this #wippet Wednesday thing. Maybe I should look into it too. Been seeing some interesting excerpts. 🙂

    Good luck on getting your writing time in this week!

    Like

  6. Debbie_e says:

    Love dyou rsnippet. It had a great start to it and made me chuckle.
    Good luck catching up with your writing goals. I find I’m most productive on Fridays and the weekends too. Sometimes during teh week you need to be lazy before your brain fries.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks Debbie! That’s very true, particularly since at the moment I’m trying to do extra hours so I don’t have to work on my birthday in a couple of weeks (cos who wants to do that?)

      Like

  7. Gloria Weber says:

    The week is longer than we give it credit for. We need not do everything at the start of it. (And other lies I tell myself?)

    Oh, Princey P… Ignoring life and focusing on fashion. How very royal of him. 😉 Awesome excerpt.

    Like

  8. kimpdx says:

    The good news here is that you’re thinking about your writing and making plans. You didn’t abandon your work because you weren’t doing the two hourse of writing you wanted to. Way to go! And sometimes you really do have to do more plotting and planning before you can move on. How are things today? Getting to the writing yet?

    Like

Talk to me! :)

