Mirth and Music Monday Doctor Who Style!

So some of you may know I’m a reasonably big fan of Doctor Who. How big? Well, I’m going halfway around the world in November to attend the 50th Anniversary Celebration Weekend in London, so… pretty big. (I’m not just doing that, I’m also spending about seven weeks gallivanting about the UK and Europe, but this thing is the reason for doing it at this time of year and not in the summer when all the gardens-type places I wanted to visit in France would actually be open). And guess what? TODAY THE TICKETS GO ON SALE! Being on the mailing list means that I have the code for the two-hour window for priority tickets from 9am – 11am BST, before they go on sale to the general public. As you can imagine, I am sitting here, poised, and a little paranoid. So! Let’s have some Music and Mirth to take my mind off things, shall we?

Both these clips are from the 2010 Doctor Who at the Proms. The music in this show is phenomenal; I have a number of the series soundtracks, and went to the Australian version of this concert, the Doctor Who Symphonic Spectacular, at the Sydney Opera House in November last year. Sadly, there was no appearance from Matt Smith a la this first clip, but Alex Kingston (River Song) and Mark Williams (Brian Williams, Rory’s dad… and also Arthur Weasley if you’re more into Harry Potter) were the hosts, and Ben Foster still conducted and the show’s composer, Murray Gold, was there and played the keyboard for the encore, so one can’t really complain. Anyway, here is Matt Smith as the Doctor, saving the Royal Albert Hall from total destruction with the help of a very clever and very adorable audience member:

On a slightly moodier note, this piece of music is a medley of This is Gallifrey: Our Childhood, Our Home and Vale Decem. This Is Gallifrey gives me ALL THE FEELS every time I hear it/watch the episode it is in, as does Vale Decem, though I haven’t actually watched The End of Time even a second time, because I really wasn’t all that fond of the 2009 specials or of the 10th Doctor’s regeneration. Maybe I will rewatch one day. I don’t know. Anyway. BEHOLD THE FEELSY MUSIC!

Ahh! It has gone 6pm and the tickets website has slowed right down which means everyone is trying to get on it and now I’m really nervous. So I’m going to sign off here, and go be a nervous wreck for the rest of the night. You will see my victorious or devastated tweets at some point later, I’m sure.

~ Emily

Update: I have ended up with 2 tickets, one for Saturday November 23, which is the actual anniversary date, and one for the day after that. I bought the second one during the pre-sale, just in case, since all the Saturday pre-sale ones disappeared like hot cakes. But then getting through the general sale stuff was a breeze, so I have a Saturday one as well, which means, Yay! Tom Baker!

5 thoughts on “Mirth and Music Monday Doctor Who Style!

  1. L. Marie says:

    So glad you got tickets! I soooooo envy you! Great videos and music. Nice to see Karen Gillan again. So cool to see the regenerations!!! (To see that poor woman sobbing her eyes out when David regenerated into Matt Smith.)

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks! I’m so excited now!
      I’ve never cried in a regeneration before, but I think I got more attached to Matt over the past few years so it is highly possible I’m going to be crying all over the place Christmas night.

      Like

  2. Eden says:

    That was definitely feelsy music. Wow! Love… And ooh! I so wish I was going. You must post pictures and details. I’m sure I’m not the only one who will be living vicariously through your experience, Emily.. 😀

    Like

  3. Christina says:

    Wow! Congrats on getting to go the Celebration! I may or may not be green with envy right now 🙂

    And oooh, that music does hit you right in the feels! And of course they had to include the scene with Rose and Nine… oof… I think I’m going to go curl up in a corner and cry…

    Like

Talk to me! :)

