#ROW80 Check-in: Party funtimes!

row80Friday was the 22nd birthday of one of my writer’s group members, so to celebrate, we had a pajama party write-in at her house last night, which resulted in words being written and epic sugar highs being achieved (there were 2 types of brownies, both with 1:1 sugar-flour ratios, lollies, chocolates, everything). There was also a large supply of stuffed animals on hand: the Orca of Wit for best lines, BAMF Hippo for epic fight scenes, and the Two Sharks; Super-Massive Epic Shark and Teeny Weeny Shark, to be held by the 1st Place and Last Place participants of any word wars that take place. More stuffed animals were added as the night went on, including the Penguin of Inferiority Complexes. I’m sure that somewhere in there I managed the final 20 minutes of my weekly 2 hours of writing. Probably more. Either way, I wrote 930 words, so I’m calling my writing goals met for this week.

I didn’t look into short story options this weekend, because both days of the weekend I was out all day. I did make it around to all my sponsor people. So that’s good. I finished The Butterfly Storm by my friend, Kate Frost, and am currently reading The ColoradoKidbut after that, I think I shall make myself read The Nutcracker before I read anything else, so I can maybe return to Operation Sugarplum for a while. But yes. So basically, doing well.

Oh, oh! Also, I got to see Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing today, because my cinema decided to do a few more screenings of it. Benedick and Beatrice are my favourite Shakespearean couple and have been so ever since I saw a production at uni a few years ago. I recently purchased the digital download of the David Tennant/Catherine Tate RSC production, so I have to admit, I was comparing this version to that one a bit, but overall I liked it. The RSC version is funnier (though Nathan Fillion was hilarious), just by way of being interpreted more that way, but the performances in the Joss Whedon one were wonderful, as was the cinematography and the music. After watching him as Leonato, I have decided I am adopting Clark Gregg as my unofficial dad.

Anyway, my neighbour has invited me up for a cuppa before bed, so I’m not going to harp on any longer. I’ll see you tomorrow for Mirth and Music Monday. 🙂

~ Emily

14 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Party funtimes!

  1. elaine jeremiah says:

    Oh I love ‘Much Ado About Nothing’! It’s my favourite Shakespeare comedy. I really want to see the Joss Whedon version. I absolutely love the Kenneth Branagh one, but I do enjoy watching multiple versions of my favourite stories. It’ll be fab to meet you in November. Hope your winter isn’t too cold. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I haven’t seen the Kenneth Branagh one, only pictures, but I really want to track it down because my housemate says she and her mum used to watch it and that it was really funny! I’m so psyched about November – I can’t wait to meet you guys, either! 😀

      Like

  2. Rebecca J Fleming says:

    Sounds like an awesome writing night! Just like the sleepovers my friends and I used to have, though it mainly involved computer games (since no one else was interested in writing). I am also a fan of using sugar highs to fuel my writing lol Glad you also got some words out of it 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It was just like the ones we had as kids (though mine used to just involve everyone piling onto the sofa bed in the living room and watching movies). It was awesome! And yeah, getting words in during that time was a good bonus!

      Like

  3. Debbie_e says:

    That pyjama party sounds like so much fun.
    I love much Ado About Nothing Too and I’m really looking forward to the Joss Whedon one. My favourite was seeing it at the Globe Theatre though, that was awesome.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It was a lot of fun, yes! 😀

      Ahh, I am so jealous! I am not going to be able to see anything at the Globe when I am in the UK this year, for they will be between seasons. But this is what I get for traveling in winter in order to do Doctor Who things. Next time…

      Like

  4. Elizabeth Anne Mitchell says:

    I’ll join the chorus–I really want to see the Joss Whedon Much Ado–I love Benedick and Beatrice and their repartee so well.

    Also, I am totally jealous about the sleepover. Being the hermit crab I am, I do enjoy small parties (and sugar) a lot, but have a hard time maintaining friendships (my youngest put it succinctly, that I s*ck at friendship. Harsh but true).

    Have a wonderful week!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      They really are wonderful, aren’t they?

      I actually totally know what you mean about maintaining friendships – apart from these guys, I have a very small friendship group and I sometimes consciously don’t even put the effort in that I probably should… so I’m glad we have our regular meet-ups and other things like the sleepover so that I’m actually interacting with people.

      Thanks! You, too!

      Like

  5. Tammy J Rizzo says:

    Sounds like you had a real blast at your party, and you got some words from it, too! Yay! And you lucky blankity-blank, getting to see Whedon’s Much Ado! It isn’t playing anywhere in my area. I’m gonna have to wait for it to come out on video. I have to miss the glory of Nathan Fillion on the big screen yet again. WAAAAAH!

    ::jealous::

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I was really lucky, I missed out on the first screenings a couple of weeks ago, and thought that was going to be it, but then they decided to schedule some more this weekend. I was going to see Monsters University on Friday afternoon, so I booked for this at the same time to make sure I didn’t miss out.

      Like

  6. Lara McGill says:

    Joss is a genuis! I absolutely adore that man. And Nathan Fillion, of course. Much Ado is also my favorite Shakespearean comedy. Richard III is my favorite tragedy. I love the opening soliloquy.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I have to admit that I don’t really have that great a knowledge of the tragedies; I get kind of bored with them. I know the famous ones, but I’m much better versed in the comedies. Judging by the fact that I both bought the Kenneth Branagh version on DVD today, and booked myself a ticket to see the production that’s going to be on in London when I am there at the end of the year, probably safe to say Much Ado is also my favourite of them.

      Like

  7. jwrichardson says:

    An overnight writing party sounds awesome. I should try to round up some writers and host such a thing at an all-night coffee shop or pancake house. That’d rock.

    And the Nutcracker–by ETA Hoffmann? What inspired you to put that on your reading list in July? I usually give it a read in December…

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Dooo iiiiit! We don’t really have all-night eating-places in my city, otherwise I’d totally suggest it to my crazy bunch.

      That’s the one! And the answer is, Research! One of my WIPs is a modern-day adaptation of the story, and even though I was more familiar with/inspired by the ballet, I feel like I should know the original source material as well. I’ve read this version which is beautiful, but quite abridged, so I really need to get on with it if I want to get my version properly outlined and figure out what I’m doing with it.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

