#WIPpet Wednesday – Don’t worry, it’s all part of his plan! (+ #ROW80 Check-in)

wippetwednesday

Yay, it’s July 3! I’ve had this WIPpet Wednesday planned for about three weeks, ever since writing the three paragraphs that I’m posting! 😀 What’s WIPpet Wednesday? It’s that time of the week when a group of writers come together to share a snippet from their current WIP that somehow correlates to the day’s date. Hence three paragraphs for the 3rd., though you may choose 3 words, sentences, something from chapter 3… We encourage creativity in this department. Then add your post to the linky and check out some of the other posts on offer. Thanks once again to K. L. Schwengel at My Random Muse for hosting.

Okay, so you know how Cait got taken prisoner by the Gallit men (post-that scene, but I’ll leave the link there anyway)? And then Meg went off to get the prince to go rescue her?  Well, a rescue party appears, Cait is being held at gun-point by her captor while he tries to cut a deal with Prince Felipe and then… this happens.

“Don’t you see they’ll just kill you, too?” Cait’s voice caught on the lump that had formed in her throat. The possibility of losing the prince forever this time was suddenly all too real.

By this time he was only an arms length away from her and Simian, and he finally dropped his eyes to meet her gaze. “I’m sorry, Cait.”

The next second passed in a blur. Cait opened her mouth to try to argue again, but was cut off by the impact of a blow the prince himself dealt to her head with a weapon he’d seemingly produced from nowhere. She fell sideways as questions swirled through her mind, but were quickly replaced by a painful throbbing. She was dimly aware of Simian cursing and more shots being fired, but then the blackness overtook once more.

This, along with those POV issues I’ve talked about in previous posts, is what made me decide I needed chapter breaks in this story. Because a line break just doesn’t really cut it after that. See the title of this post for relevant assurances/answers to questions concerning Prince Felipe’s motivations here. I was actually thinking about this scene in bed last night and it may change slightly, but the consequences will still be the same, so it can remain like this for today. 🙂

Fun fact: you know you’ve been watching too much Foyle’s War when Cait starts developing speech patterns very similar to Sam Stewart (that took me a while to shake but I had to; Sam’s adorable, but she and Cait speak very differently), and Prince Felipe, whom you’ve always had a very clear picture of in your head, starts resembling Andrew Foyle, the son of the titular character, instead. This wouldn’t have been such an issue – one could even argue a sort of vague resemblance between Julian Ovenden, who played Andrew, and Hadley Fraser, who I’ve always pictured as Felipe – except my brain is taking this resemblance as far as the 1940s RAF uniform and flying gear and the whole kit and caboodle. And I’m like, “No, brain. Wrong armed force, and wrong time period! They don’t even have planes!” And then my brain’s like, “But look! Dashing British guy with war-induced PTSD. The fact that AMCF is set in a fictional kingdom notwithstanding, he practically is Felipe already!” And I’m still like, “No. Planes.”

… Yeah, this sort of conversation is pretty par for the course inside my head.

As for writing and #ROW80, at time of posting, I have probably spent 45-50 minutes working on AMCF so far this week. It might be closer to the full hour but I’m erring on the side of caution because I was watching TV and such while I was writing at home last night, so… (Related: why has no one forced me to watch Pushing Daisies before now?!). I should at least make that up to the hour at work today, and hopefully a bit more. I’ve gotten my sponsor duties off to a good start by visiting all the goals posts for my assigned number, plus some others on top of that. By the way, my sponsor post goes up on the ROW80 blog July 15th. Keep an eye out! 😉 I haven’t done anything regarding short stories yet, I might wait til the weekend for that.

I think that’s about it. I now return you to regularly scheduled Wednesday morning(/Tuesday evening). Catch you later!

~ Emily

26 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday – Don’t worry, it’s all part of his plan! (+ #ROW80 Check-in)

    • Emily Witt says:

      It’s more of spur-of-the-moment “Crap,-what-can-I-do-that-might-possibly-get-us-out-of-this” plan, but it works, so that has to count for something, right? 🙂

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks! Indeed they do. This was actually the result of me actually sitting and going, “Okay, they’re here, but how do they get out?” This seemed as good an option as any.

      Like

  1. Raewyn Hewitt says:

    I love it when you know you have the perfect post for the date. Like Cait I didn’t see that blow coming. Would love to be fly on the wall when she wakes up and realises what just happened.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      This was one of those things even I didn’t see coming much, and sort of stared at my screen for a moment after going, “Wow, Felipe. Um.” Their first conversation afterwards is quite interesting, yes. 😉

      Like

  2. Gloria Weber says:

    First, sorry about not pushing Pushing Daisies, but I never watched the last 3-4 episodes because ABC (channel it aired on) started really screwing with the schedule and didn’t advertise they were airing the episodes. They just did it. And the stupidest thing they ever did was cancel that show.

    Lastly, I see why you wanted to do a chapter break there. Totally chapter break time. And I love it when people’s motives come into question. When the main character can’t read them perfectly. Very true to life. People often throw curve balls despite how well you think you know them.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I have a feeling getting to the end of the series is going to break my heart into tiny, tiny pieces, particularly since I gather it never got a chance to properly wrap up, but I’ll watch it anyway because I’m a masochist like that.

      It’s definitely too much of a big moment for anything less than a chapter break. And I love those moments, too!

      Like

  3. L. Marie says:

    Love the twist you added with that hit! I didn’t see that coming! Yay! And I love Foyle’s War. I had the hugest crush on Anthony Howell and Michael Kitchen. Ha, and I can totally see what you mean by Julian Ovenden.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yay, that’s pretty much the reaction I’m going for! 😀
      I pretty much have crushes on all the regular FW cast at the moment. I’ve been meaning to get around to watching it for a while, but only just recently discovered my local library has all of it on DVD. I’m about halfway through the third series now.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Indeed they are! I have come to realise that! (After doing two NaNos and the first draft of this without them). Thanks for the comment, I’m glad the action comes across well, it’s not really my forte!

      Like

  4. shanjeniah says:

    I got so wrapped up in the OUCH! factor, that I forgot this was supposed to be a ROW80 sponsor visit. =/

    Sounds like you are moving along nicely with those goals. Once again, I am still getting my sponsor post in shape while others are having theirs scheduled…one day, I WILL be on time with that…

    Now I am poised for that conversation when Cait wakes up….

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I think that’s a good thing, right, since you got so caught up in it? 😀

      I had my sponsor post relatively ready to go even when I first signed up; I had basically been saying I would be a sponsor when I knew I had something I could turn into a sponsor post. Took me a while to find some inspiration, but I got there. I have another sort of idea for one, so I might do another round as well (though I’ll be traveling for next round, so not then).

      I realised I had to rewrite the scene where she wakes up – in first drafts, Cait has this tendency to deal remarkably well with things, and then I have to go back through and yell at her to let it have a bit more impact.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

