#ROW80 Check-in: Figured it out! I think!

row80Thank you for your responses on my mid-week check-in! I haven’t responded to all of them just yet but I plan to! Generally the consensus on the POV question was if it feels right in the story, then go for it. Which is sort of what I’m doing, though I have made a small list of a few other scenes that I think could be from other POVs as well, so that it’s not completely out of the blue when I switch to Meg’s. As I said to Kate in response to her comment on my post, when I began the second draft, I had planned on having a few scenes from Prince Felipe’s POV but had never been able to get quite into his head. Mostly because I don’t want to reveal too early that he’s actually not as much of a prat as he pretends to be. There’s a point where Cait has to realise this, and I want to the readers to realise it at the same time.

However, I did manage to write a scene the other day which follows Felipe… it’s not so much from his POV, but from a couple of other characters past whom he dashes and I think it works quite well. It takes place just before this scene as he gives his guards the slip not long before he’s supposed to attend a lunch date with one of the visiting princesses. I’ve also got a chunk of Meg’s scene written, though it may need some brushing up once I’ve nutted out an initial version.

Another thing I realised is that the changes in POV would probably be less jarring if new chapters opened with them, even if I then return to Cait’s POV later in the same chapter… thing is, the story didn’t actually have chapter breaks up until now, so I’m currently playing around in Scrivener inserting them and working out what will be where. Initially I’d decided that the story was too short to require them, but I think they will be better than line breaks for this… speaking of word counts, between all these new scenes I’ve been writing the past week, I’ve added about 3000 new words to this draft. The story might end up closer to the 30000 words I’d originally estimated than I expected.

And in other news, my friend Kate Frost launched her novel The Butterfly Storm on Wednesday and you can buy it from Amazon US or Amazon UK by clicking on either of those handy links. Kate’s also doing a blog tour, the first interview for which can be read on Joanne Phillips’ blog here. Do check it out!

That’s about it from me for now! I’ll catch you later!

~ Emily

9 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Figured it out! I think!

  1. Nadja Notariani says:

    Hi, Emily! Thanks for stopping by my blog and giving a *cheer* for those lightning strike moments. Ha!
    Writing a specific POV scene can be tough – especially if you are having trouble getting into one character’s head – or not wanting to reveal something that would need revealing if readers experience a scene through a particular character. Although…it may add interest and added tension for the reader to KNOW…and then to see how you spin the reaction from the UNKNOWING opposing character in the scene. Ahhhh….fun with characters! Ha.
    Best of luck with your scene breaks and chapter divisions this week. ~ Nadja

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      No problems Nadja!
      It is tricky, but fun with characters is right! I’m still experimenting but things are starting to work better than they were a few days ago! Best of luck to you, too!

      ~ Emily

      Like

  2. Beth Camp says:

    POV is such a challenge. On earlier drafts, sometimes the characters are not as fully developed as they will be later. Then later, what’s a jarring POV shift to our readers we may not even see! So good reminder to start new chapters or sections with a different POV, even if you wind up changing those chapter breaks (and POV) later. I’m deep in revision and have a POV shift right in the middle of a chapter. I can’t figure out how to change it . . . yet. May the coming writing week go well for you!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      That’s definitely been the case here! The character who is now demanding POV scenes was barely even mentioned in the first draft. Thanks for your comment! I hope you figure out something with your own POV shift easily!
      ~ Emily

      Like

  3. Ingrid Engen says:

    POV is one of those things I never really sit down and think about until past my first draft. That’s embarrassing to admit…but I get in one character’s mind and then start writing, and it’s usually only at a second draft where I add a second POV. Definitely consider how late you’re throwing in a second POV, since as a reader, that bothers me when I think the entire story is going to be told from one POV and then halfway through the book, there is a second voice appearing. Best of luck to you as you consider your edits! ~Ingrid

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      *nods emphatically* That is what I was worried about when I realised a few days ago that there are certain scenes that might not work from my MC’s perspective; I definitely don’t want the reader to think, “Wait, what? Where’d Cait go?!” Hopefully these scenes that I add in earlier will work and ensure that confusion is avoided.
      Thank you for stopping by!
      ~Emily

      Like

  4. Kate Frost says:

    This writing malarky is tricky stuff! I think your idea of starting new chapters with a switch in POV makes a lot of sense and I completely get what you mean about not wanting to give too much of Felipe away by showing bits from his POV too early. I like the idea of the reader finding out at the same time that it dawns on Cait that he’s not such a prat.

    And a BIG thank you for the shout out about The Butterfly Storm launching! What a lovely surprise and much appreciated. 🙂

    Like

  5. isikyus says:

    Like your discussion of the issues of switching POV’s! I’ve been doing this quite a bit in my WIP, and you’ve made me realise just how little I’ve considered the consequences it has for the reader.

    Like

  6. L. Marie says:

    I don’t think I commented on your blog theme change. Nice. I also switch POVs in a novel. I switch at the scene breaks. I find that I have to keep writing one character’s POV, then switch over to another character’s. I can’t write the two POVs on the same day.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

