A New Musical Discovery and #WIPpet Wednesday

I have a new obsession, and I’m basically taking the opportunity to talk about it everywhere. I don’t know if anyone who reads my blog is actually anywhere near as passionate about musical theatre as I am but I’m going to just ramble about it anyway. New obsession is in the form of a new musical called The In-Between, which is so new, it only has a concept album at the moment. Here’s the synopsis from the website:

inbetweenNineteen-year-old misfit and perpetual underachiever, Flick Wimple, has always lived in the shadow of her caring but neurotic elder sister, Alice. Since their parents died in a car crash, Alice has had to become more of a mother to Flick – a responsibility that traps them both and heightens their love-hate relationship. Resigned to the way things are, Flick determines to expect nothing exceptional from life and give little in return.

She is forced to re-evaluate, however, when one day she steps through the wrong doorway and finds herself trapped in the space between parallel worlds; the place known as the In-Between. There she is met by the mysterious, if slightly nerdy, Guide Calicus; a young man who has spent his entire life leading people between worlds. He offers Flick the chance to leave her problems behind and journey to another world and, as he leads her through the In-Between, the two begin to form a close bond, causing him to wonder what it would be like to live a life of his own.

But all is not right in the In-Between; other Guides are starting to go missing and tears are appearing in the walls… Ultimately, Flick must make a choice; to hold on to her past, her sister and the world she knows, or risk everything to try and save much more…

Doesn’t that sound kind of awesome? I’ve listened to concept albums before, but never before there has been a full production album to go with it, so now I’m sitting here going, “What do you mean this isn’t a full-fledged West End hit yet?” The music is really catchy and all available to listen to for free on YouTube. I also bought all the sheet music and actually pulled my keyboard out for the first time in months. Just you watch, these songs are going to turn me into one of those people who films themselves singing and posts it online (maybe. I can play piano and I can sing but I have trouble doing both at once).

Aaaaanyway. It’s WIPpet Wednesday! *waits for fanfare*. And since I’m speaking about music and musicals and things, here’s a link to Sunday’s post where I talked about Pinterest boards for my WIPs and also linked to some songs that have a certain resonance with my WIPs.

wippetwednesday

I really wanted to share the Really Dramatic Bittm that I wrote last night, but then I decided not to because if I’m clever, I can make sections of the 2000 words or so I’ve recently written last the next few Wednesdays (well, at least for next week, too). So instead I give you twelve lines from a scene which is basically the beginning of the Drama. Felipe has left the hospital where Cait is working, but they are attacked by a faction of people from the opposing country, who believe he’s still there. Cait gets up and starts getting herself dressed enough to go outside and confront them.

“I’m going out there,” Cait replied. “The sooner they’re made aware that Felipe is no longer here, the sooner we’ll be out of danger.”

“Cait, how do you know that? Gallit men are unforgiving, who’s to say they won’t just take you and have their way with you to justify coming all this way to themselves?”

“Hattie, I have to do something.”

“Then we’ll come with you,” Meg declared, also going to the stand and pulling her robe down.

“Meg, you can’t, you’re too –”

“Don’t tell me I’m too young, Cait. There are only four years between us and if this hospital is overrun by Gallit forces, I’m going to be just as in danger as anyone else. They might even go for me first because I’m younger. So if you’re going out there, so am I.”

Meg has been quite a revelation since I began writing this scene (which is new to this draft). Before, Hattie was really the only one of the roommates who said or did anything; the others were just kind of mentioned and there to fill up space. But Meg now continues to get More Awesome. Lizzie is still just kind of there doing not very much, though, so maybe I might adjust it so there’s the three of them sharing.

If you would like to join in on WIPpet Wednesday, do feel free! All that is required is that you either post an excerpt of your current WIP or write the opening of a new one, that somehow corresponds to the day’s date (so 12 lines for June 12, etc! We encourage creativity with this :D). Then come on over to the linky, leave your info and come and stop by a few of the other WIPpeteer’s blogs. We also support each other on Twitter using the #WIPpet and #WIPpeteers hashtags. As always, thanks to K. L. Schwengel for hosting. πŸ™‚ I shall be off now, and shall catch you all soon!

~ Emily

24 thoughts on “A New Musical Discovery and #WIPpet Wednesday

  1. Kate Frost says:

    I do love musicals. I can act but I can’t really sing or dance otherwise I would so love to be a musical theatre performer! Flick Wimple is a great name.

    Meg is ballsy and I like that and I do hope her, Cait and Hattie go charging out there to confront the Gallit men and show them what they’re made of… hope they stay safe too!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Of the three, singing is definitely my forte, but dancing is my downfall. I can actually do it if I have a decent amount of rehearsal time, but that’s no good to me in an audition!

      Meg and Cait do – Hattie is a little bit older and more wary. As for the staying safe part… well, where would be the fun in that (for me, that is, maybe not so much for them)?

      Like

  2. kathils says:

    For some reason this morning, I can’t “Like” anyone’s WordPress posts. 😦 The button just sits there, greyed out and “Loading. . .”

    In any case, I Like. πŸ™‚ Here’s hoping Cait’s plan works out. Could be very scary and very bad otherwise. Meg sounds like she could develop into quite the secondary character if you’re not careful. πŸ˜‰

    And “Flick Wimple” is an awesome name. Makes me wish I had a character in something named that.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I often have that trouble when I’m secretly visiting blogs at work – we are forced to use an outdated Internet Explorer which is not fun.

      It… sort of works but not really? I mean, the men leave the hospital, but… (more on that next week). Meg is kind of eating my brain! I don’t know whether to love her or hate her!

      Isn’t it? I think I named a character Flick once back in the days of “I will start all the stories ever but never finish any of them” but surnames are the bane of my life and I tend to avoid them if I can so I tend no never have particularly cool-sounding full names.

      Like

      • kathils says:

        Most of my characters don’t have surnames. The ones that do came to me that way — whole name, all at once. Who am I to argue?

        Like

  3. katemsparkes says:

    Go, Meg! Gotta love when characters step up and show a writer who’s the man. Er, woman.

    For some reason, your posts don’t show up in my WordPress reader. I’m going to un-follow and re-follow you… please don’t take “KATEMSPARKES is now following your blog!” to mean that I wasn’t before. Silly reader…

    Like

  4. elaine jeremiah says:

    This was great Emily. The musical sounds fabulous – what an original idea. I enjoyed your excerpt from AMCF too and I’m with Kate – I hope Cait and her friends go out and confront those bullies! (OK I know they’re seasoned soldiers but they’re still bullies!!) πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Doesn’t it sound cool? I hope it goes on to be a huge hit with productions everywhere (eventually)! You made me giggle with that – the men they have the most to do with are definitely bullies! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. L. Marie says:

    Great excerpt! And like Kate, I can’t get “Like” to work either. I love that Meg is getting more awesome. Also, The In-Between sounds great!!! I hope a book comes out of this.

    Like

  6. Sarah says:

    I love those moments when characters start to push their way into your writing and suddenly you are like “oh… you’re THAT kind of person, hmm? Did not expect that. Awesome!” Meg sounds pretty… awesome! I’m a musical buff myself, so “The In-Between” definitely catches my attention. The plot sounds really intriguing! I was a drama theatre nerd in high school and took a few college courses, but somehow I just got too nervous to make much more out of that hobby.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It’s always a happy surprise! πŸ˜€

      I’m a theatre buff, too. I didn’t study it after high school but I’ve done about one show a year since I was 13. I get really awful stage fright before I go onstage, but the second I get out there, I’m fine. I really hope that The In-Between goes on to be wildly successful – that was why I didn’t mind spending more than I usually would on the sheet music: I’m happy to throw all my support at it!

      Like

  7. Eden says:

    What out for Meg… pretty soon she’s going to start taking over. Both ‘Listii and ‘Ssellii started out as the quiet auxiliary character . Now look at them …

    Take my word for it–Meg’s bucking for her own spotlight (sounds like she deserves one too. gal has some fire in her).

    Ooh… musicals! You spoke (wrote) a dangerous word there. I have SO many albums from Broadway releases it isn’t funny. I mean, who in her right mind has almost 30GB of mp3s involving showtunes on her harddrive?

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      You say that like it’s a bad thing! My music library is only about 30gb all together and reasonably varied, but a very large percentage of its content is show tunes and the other genres are all squeezed into the remaining bit.

      And Meg is doing exactly that! I think she is going to have a scene all to herself in the end, I just have to figure out how it’s going to go (see the post I posted after this one for more on that).

      Like

      • Eden says:

        Oh, it’s no bad thing, Emily… I love my music selection (I have a total of 80 G altogether… a lot of classical, showtunes and then some pop, rocks, industrial, etc… Truth is, I’m always looking for more music to add to my collection, so if you have suggestions…. πŸ˜‰ )

        Yep, I know about Meg… Those secondary characters are sneaky that way.

        Like

  8. Raewyn Hewitt says:

    Go team Meg! I love the very pragmatic way they discuss the possibility of the Gallit men taking the opportunity to have their way with Cait. Looking forward to reading more about the Really Dramatic Bit too! (I love it when they surprise you as you’re writing).

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It was a bit of a surprise! I got to a point and then I was like, ‘Okay, how do I get out of this one? Oh, he could… can he do that? Should he do that? Yes, I think he should.” And it was awesome.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

