#ROW80 Check-in: Music for characters and also Pinterest

This weekend I went to visit my sister, and was not expecting to get much writing done. However, there is something about sitting on a comfy lounge chair in front of a blazing fire while one’s brother-in-law casually strums a guitar that is conducive to getting one’s writing groove on. That is, when I wasn’t dozing off with the pleasantness of it all. I also made sure that despite dozing on the train and coach, I got in a decent amount of writing while travelling in both directions. All up, I have ten handwritten pages which I will convince myself to type up once this post is done (luckily, I typed most of this up on Thursday before I went away, so it shouldn’t take me too long).

In other news, I would like to announce formally that, okay, yes, I get it now. Pinterest is kind of awesome. Buffy Greentree convinced me a while ago when she posted about it that maybe I needed an account, but I didn’t really invest any time in at first, so even though I had registered, I was still sitting there thinking “I don’t get it.” On Thursday, though, I had a little bit of spare time and I started actively using it to finally assign pictures to my characters, mostly for A More Complicated Fairytale, but a bit for my other stories as well. And, well. I lost most of my evening, even though I did have plans of doing other things. Oops. My account is here if you want to have a poke around. The AMCF board is the fullest at the moment, but hopefully I’ll flesh out the other two as time goes on. Actually, the Operation: Sugarplum board does give the illusion of being nearly as big, but that’s only because I have seven pictures of castles in snowy landscapes in there. I have since made a board just for castles, because why not?

Secondly, I keep meaning to talk about my character and story playlists and link to some of the songs when I’m writing WIPpet Wednesday posts, and I keep forgetting. But now is as good a time as any, right? I know I’m not the only one who gives my characters theme songs; sometimes they’re songs that fit the character, sometimes a particular point in the story… I find it really helps with inspiration. What follows are a few selections for your listening pleasure (apologies for the YouTube spam), along with links to WIPpets and such where they fit in.

Remember Cait’s first impression of Prince Felipe? Kate Miller-Heidke sums that scene up pretty succinctly in her song God’s Gift To Women.

The next song is “Some Nights” by fun. and it is basically Felipe’s actual theme song. It deals with insecurities, doing things you don’t necessarily want to do but have to… and the video is set in the Civil War or some such, which is kind of relevant, particularly post-this scene. You can skip to about 1:00 for the song, they do a fair bit of scene stuff first.

Oh, yes, and warning for some strong language. The strongest thing Felipe ever says is “Damn” and then he apologises for that, but that’s only because of the period the story’s set in and anything worse would feel a bit out of place. In a different setting, Felipe would probably totally talk like these boys.

So far for Operation: Sugarplum I haven’t really got any songs that sum up the characters or particular scenes (unless you count the Nutcracker score XD) but I do have a few for Max and Clara’s relationship as it develops. While half the reason for writing this story was to write a version of the Nutcracker where the romance could be more than just a puppy-love thing, it’s still fairly subtle and more of a little added dose of a different kind of magic scattered amongst the rest of the story. I wanted music that would reflect that. “With You” from Pippin is one of them, and the first one that YouTube didn’t fail me on, so here you go. Random fact: I went to school with this guy. I hadn’t really spared him a thought since we left school until I ran into this video tonight. I wish he’d sung like this at school more often instead of rock music. 😄

Those of you who have been following my blog for a month or more may remember Sir Aidan from my first two Story a Day in May stories (here and here in case you want to refresh your memory). Even he got his own theme song, because you really can’t ignore it when a set of lyrics fit so spectacularly with your character.

Considering his history with Prince Felipe in the second of those two stories, it might be a bit ironic that it is the man I cast as Felipe singing the song (ignore the hair. For the love of god, IGNORE THE HAIR. FELIPE DOES NOT HAVE THAT HAIR), but I enjoy a bit of irony, don’t you? Also, without saying too much, you may be seeing more of Sir Aidan in the near future. 😉 It was going to be in this week’s WIPpet, but I think I’ll post something from the stuff I’ve written this weekend, because there’s rather a lot of drama happening in that! It’s a new scene that never happened in the first version, and I’m pretty happy with how it’s coming along.

Anyway, with that in mind, I shall be off to type all that up. At least tomorrow is a public holiday, so I can stay up a bit later if I like. But I want to get more written tomorrow! So not too much later! Exclamation mark! See you later!

~ Emily

12 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Music for characters and also Pinterest

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks! 😀 Some Nights is one of my walking albums. Except then random other pedestrians get subjected to me attempting to sing along.

      Like

      • kathils says:

        It’s a good thing no one can hear me singing in my truck!

        BTW, forgot to add, haven’t gotten into Pinterest yet and trying to avoid it. I’m afraid it would be one more ginormous bright shiny I couldn’t put down.

        Like

      • Emily Witt says:

        It is TOTALLY one more ginormous bright shiny you can’t put down! I’m too far gone now, but perhaps you can keep going for the rest of us.

        Like

  1. Ruth Nestvold says:

    What a cool way to use Pinterest! I just might start playing with it after all. 🙂 I too have long resisted (SO much social media to eat up one’s writing time!), but finding images for stories is a wonderful idea!

    Congrats on the writing and have a great week!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Haha, yes, that’s why I avoided it for so long as well! I already have accounts everywhere, and didn’t really need another one! I don’t know what I would use it for if I wasn’t already in the habit of printing off pictures of characters and settings, but it will save me a lot of ink and paper in that regard!

      Like

  2. Elizabeth Anne Mitchell says:

    I’m with Ruth–what a great use of Pinterest. My account has been dormant for several months now (blush), but this might get me back into it. I love the music–that is something I have gotten into recently.

    Have a great week!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I avoided it for a while because as I have said to others, I am trying to cure myself of my compulsion to sign up for every new thing on the Internet. But now I am converted.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

