#ROW80 Check-in: Doctor Who woes and editing fun

This morning I woke up to the news that Matt Smith will be finishing his Doctor Who tenure with this year’s Christmas episode. Then I had tickets to the screening of The Dalek Asylum and The Angels Take Manhatten at my local cinema, so this evening I am awash with Doctor Who feels and didn’t get any writing done. I didn’t get any done yesterday, either, because I was visiting travel agents in the morning, then I was working overtime in the afternoon, and then I was treated to dinner from the boyfriend afterwards and didn’t feel like writing afterwards. And while we’re listing excuses, I got rather distracted this week by First of Her Kind, by WIPpet Wednesday buddy K. L. Schwengel, because it’s really good! (here is a link where you can get it for yourself.)

I did, however, get a reasonable amount of editing done on A More Complicated Fairytale prior to the weekend. In fact, I’m about a third of the way through it. This is the first time I’ve actually revisited a lot of it since, you know, writing it, so it’s not hard-going or anything. And the story is basically there, it’s just rewording things here and there and making sure that everything makes sense with the new opening. I will need to rework an upcoming bit and open up the document with the feedback from my beta reader gave me for the next section.

I have basically solved the issue I was having with Operation: Sugarplum, though it means not going in the direction I wanted to with this particular character. Which is a shame, but I’m sure she’ll be just as awesome this way.

That is basically it for this week, so have a video of a local muso I recently discovered. I really like this song because it pretty much sums up how my writer brain works. And he’s pretty adorable. This song is called “Mysteries Begin”.

9 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Doctor Who woes and editing fun

  1. kathils says:

    Thanks for the shout out! So glad you’re enjoying First of Her Kind. 🙂 Great video. You’re right, he’s adorable. Oh, and the song is pretty good, too.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Right?! I mean, I know his run has been pretty much the same as Tennant’s, but we had plenty of warning then, and he wasn’t telling us two weeks before the announcement that he’d be back the following year. His may well be the first regeneration that makes me cry. Never would have expected that when he was first cast!

      No problems, enjoy it! I finished it last night and now I’m really looking forward to book 2.

      Like

  2. Buffy Greentree says:

    I was shocked by the last episode of the season, and it was only when I realised there would still be a Christmas special that I calmed down. But just the 1 episode? Is very sad.
    There is something very comforting about editing work you haven’t looked at for a while, and finding it doesn’t actually need that much work. So well done on a good first draft!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yeah, I was a bit stunned, we had plenty of warning with the last two, but now we only have a couple of episodes to psych ourselves up for it! 😦

      Like

Talk to me! :)

