#StoryADay Day 13 – Scared of the dark.

I am scared of the dark. I really don’t like it. For a long time, even turning the light off to go to sleep really bothered me, to the point where I’d make sure I went to bed well before my parents so that if I left my door open, there’d still be some light coming in and I’d be asleep by the time those lights were turned off.

I’ve gotten past that, but I still don’t go outside after dark if I can avoid it. Sometimes it’s because I’m scared there’s a vampire or a zombie or some other kind of creature waiting to get me. It doesn’t matter that the rational part of my brain is insisting that those things don’t exist. Other times, it’s vaguely more realistic: if I’m walking down a dark street, even just down to the service station to get some milk, I’m convinced that every car that passes is going to slow down and someone’s going to get out and drag me away or kill me in the street. I always feel so relieved when they drive straight past.

Deep down, I know it’s pretty silly. But a healthy dose of paranoia never hurt anyone, right?

Click the image to be taken to the Story A Day website

Click the image to be taken to the Story A Day website

~*~

Yes, this story is about me. I made a compromise with myself. I was allowed to let today’s Story A Day slide if I wrote 500 words on each of my WIPs… but it soon became clear that wasn’t going to happen, which meant I had to write my Story A Day… I was trying to think of something supernatural to go with, but this is what happened instead. Describing an interesting/annoying quirk about myself seemed simple enough to go with.

3 thoughts on “#StoryADay Day 13 – Scared of the dark.

  1. L. Marie says:

    I used to be terrified of the dark and believed that werewolves and vampires existed. My mother tried to have the rational conversation with me: “They don’t exist.” But I didn’t believe her. I think deep down, we’re all still afraid of the dark. Thanks for sharing this personal story.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I remember when the Silence in the Library Doctor Who episode aired, and the Doctor has that line about how so many cultures have a fear of the dark, but where does it come from and all my friends were like, “Ahh, scared of the dark forever now!” and I was surprisingly not scared of that particular villain, and sat there smugly going, “Who’s laughing now? See? I’m NOT crazy!”

      Like

Talk to me! :)

