#StoryADay in May Day 9 – Fairies at the bottom of my garden

I didn’t post a Story A Day post yesterday because I was busy journaling and trying to figure out a personal thing, so that counted as my writing for yesterday. But I’m back now! Been on a bit of a fairies kick today, and I would go into more details on that because I love fairies, but I only have seven minutes to post this before midnight, so have a story! Trying to capture a child’s voice again today, but as I said, it’s late, so my judegement is flawed! But how did I go?

Click the image to be taken to the Story A Day website

Click the image to be taken to the Story A Day website

There are fairies at the bottom of our garden.

I know, I’ve seen them. I snuck out one night when the moon was full, and there they were, dancing in the moonlight. I’d always imagined that spot down by the bottom fence would be a good spot for them. It was secluded and overgrown around the outside, but there was a patch in the middle that was somehow clear. I only saw them for a moment because then the gnome that was standing guard for them saw me and he was only small but his face was terrifying! He turned to the fairies and he must have told them they might be in danger, because they all disappeared in a flurry of wings and whispers (at least, it sounded like whispering to me but fairies are tiny so it could have been s houting). The gnome started lolloping towards me and I shrieked and ran back inside. He didn’t come past the door (I wonder if maybe by some fairy magic he wasn’t able to?) and we just stood staring at each other through the glass for a minute, before he seemed satisfied and wandered back off the way he’d come.

So I know there are fairies at the bottom of my garden. But I think they prefer to be left alone.

~*~
P.S. I am still in the midst of responding to comments on previous posts! I will get there, I promise!

3 thoughts on “#StoryADay in May Day 9 – Fairies at the bottom of my garden

  1. catherinelumb says:

    There’s so much in this piece to play with…and the idea of fairies at the bottom of the garden is a classic. I like the addition of the gnome, and the longer sentences does remind me of a kid breathlessly trying to explain what happened to someone else.
    Good effort, and good luck with the rest of the month! I have to write my story for today now…Hmmm, might have to borrow your theme if that’s al right!?
    Take Care, Cat x

    Like

Talk to me! :)

