#ROW80 Check-in: what I learned on my week off

I learned something rather important this week. I learned that when I have too much spare time, I get lazy. You know how I had two four-and-a-half hour train trips this week? I wrote maybe 1000 words on the way up, and nothing on the way back. On Thursday, a public holiday, I wrote the blog post I posted here and about 100 words on my stories. Friday I wrote just under 500 words, which was an improvement, but still not much, since I had the day off, and at least three hours hanging around the hospital with nothing to do while my boyfriend was in surgery. Considering I can write between 300 and 400 words in each 20-30 minute break I have at work (and I have three of those each day), this is really quite dismal. Ah, well. It’s back to work tomorrow so hopefully I will get back into my routine.

This is really all I have to say because as I said, I haven’t actually done anything this week, so since I saw Josh Groban on Tuesday and decided he is the most perfect being in existence, have a clip of him singing the tweets of Kanye West:

~ Emily

13 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: what I learned on my week off

  1. katemsparkes says:

    It’s ridiculous how much I love that Josh Groban thing. πŸ™‚

    You’re not alone in the non-productive thing, either. I hate to admit it, but I use my time better when I don’t have much of it. :/

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thanks! It’s just one of the standard WP ones, but I do enjoy it. And everyone loves the worm!

      Thank you for the kind wishes. BF is doing fine, and hopefully I should get my writing groove back when I go to lunch.

      Like

  2. Kate Frost says:

    I’m the same, I’m always far more productive when I have lots of things going on than when I have endless amounts of time. Your excuse this week though was being distracted by Josh Groban… πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. kathils says:

    I’ve got the same problem. For some reason I get more done on my breaks at work during the week than I do at home. I think it’s a distraction thing for me. Too many bright shiny things at home.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      You’re welcome!

      So true! “I could be writing, but it’s only 10am, I can play Candy Crush Saga for a while and then write in the afternoon… or the evening… or tonight… I’ve got plenty of time!” Arrgrhhhh!

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I knew there was a saying to that effect, but I couldn’t remember the exact wording. So thank you for that! It’s so true, too! Once you get lazy, you just keep being lazy!

      Like

Talk to me! :)

