#ROW80 Check-in: Back to it!

row80So after we decided we needed some time apart, it was only a week before A More Complicated Fairytale was calling me up and telling me it can’t live without me and begging me to come back to it and as such I’ve written 1836 words since my last post. Which was great, because as fun as Operation: Sugarplum is, AMCF is my baby. There’s a scene for the second draft that I’ve been rolling around in my head for a little while now, but it only properly started coming together enough for me to write down on Thursday and Friday. Main thing I learned from this scene: Felipe is really good with kids (in a Matt Smith kind of way for any Doctor Who fans who’ve ever watched footage of him hanging out with the kids on the set). This will make for the most adorable scene when Felipe meets Cait’s sister, who is a bit of a Prince Felipe fangirl (another thing I realised when fleshing things out for the second draft).

On the Operation: Sugarplum front, I have only written a little bit more, but the Imperial Ice Stars Nutcracker on Ice DVD I ordered arrived on Friday and so I spent the evening watching it. I saw it live last year and adored it, so when I started writing O:S, I decided I needed the DVD in my life. It’s pretty much the same cast I saw, too, which is pretty cool. I had Grand Intentions of writing while I watched it but that failed rather dismally because it was so pretty and I couldn’t look away. I did end up with ALL THE FEELS though, and a bit of a crush on the guy playing the Nutcracker (seriously, he was adorable and bashful and I wanted to squish him and maybe he is how I am imagining Max in my head now). I also figured out how the Sugarplum Fairy will make an appearance in Operation: Sugarplum so I’m looking forward to introducing her now because I think she will be an interesting character once I start getting to know her.

A scene from The Nutcracker on Ice performed by the Imperial Ice Stars. Screencapped by me, which led to me getting totally distracted by the music and the pretty and the feels all over again.

A scene from The Nutcracker on Ice performed by the Imperial Ice Stars.
Screencapped by me, which led to me getting totally distracted by the music and the pretty and the feels all over again.

I also splurged yesterday and treated myself to a Samsung Galaxy Note. I had been intending to buy a tablet for when I go to Europe and the UK at the end of the year, but lately I’ve been handwriting four or five pages at work each day and since I’m not home every evening to type it up, it piles up. Typing up eight or ten pages when I do have the time for it is pretty tedious. It occurred to me that if I had a tablet l could take to work with me, that wouldn’t be an issue. This one comes with a knock-off  version of Office with which I can save .doc and .docx files. It also has that handwriting function whereby l can handwrite on the screen with a stylus or a finger and it converts it into text. That is what I am doing now; it works really well, so if I don’t want to completely give up handwriting (and l do enjoy handwriting), I don’t have to. Win-win.

As for this coming week, I am only working Monday. I have two four-and-a-half hour train trips; my friend and I are going to see Josh Groban in Sydney on Tuesday night, so there will be lots of writing time while I am traveling. Thursday is a public holiday and Friday my boyfriend has to go into hospital for day-surgery, and they’ve told him he’ll need someone with him afterwards because he’ll be a bit out of it, so I am taking a day of carer’s leave. So with all that spare time, I have no excuse to not write ALL THE WORDS this week. Having said that, though, last time I saw Josh Groban in concert (way back in 2007; boy needs to give some more love to his Aussie fans), I was on Cloud 9 for about a week afterwards, so, you know, that could happen again. He is my favouritest. I know that’s not a word, but that’s how much of my favourite  he is.

Anyway, on that note I am going to head off and finish off my To Do List for today, have some dinner and maybe do some more writing. Hopefully the ROW80 linky will be up soon. Ttfn!

~ Emily

8 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Back to it!

  1. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Oooh, I love new hardware! Just don’t have any excuses for anything new at the moment, unfortunately, but I can vicariously enjoy through you! *g*

    Congrats on all the progress, and hopefully even more with the new toy! Best wishes to the BF for a speedy recovery.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      🙂 Thanks, Julie! My passion for my writing has been really invigorated this year. Last year I wrote barely anything, so it’s been really exciting getting so much done this year, so far I at least.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

