#ROW80 Check-in #11, #WIPpet Wednesday and “Oh god, I HAVE NO HAIR!”

Well, the year’s first ROW80 round comes to an end tomorrow. This round has been fantastic for me, I both began and completed the first draft of my novella, and it’s now with my wonderful beta readers for a couple of weeks. While I haven’t really done much else in the way of writing in the last week or so, this morning I did start nutting out an opening scene for my modern-day retelling of The Nutcracker and my characters are even nerdier than I expected, which is pretty awesome.

I’ve cast the two leads, though as often happens when I cast my characters, I’ve made them a mixture of a few pre-exisiting personalities. On the page I have set up for Clara Steele, my lead female, I have pictures of Clara Oswin Oswald (the new Doctor Who companion), Lizzie Bennet (from the Lizzie Bennet Diaries) and Darcy Lewis (from Thor). For my male lead, I have Josh Groban (photos from his slightly hipster photoshoot for his latest album) and Daniel Gordh as Mr Darcy in the Lizzie Bennet Diaries (the characters from this series are kind of in my head and determined to be paid attention to at the moment; I spent last weekend catching up on episodes 45-98). The characters are both university students and for the first time I seem to be managing to write uni students like the people I went to uni with and not cooler, fictional versions of such. Not that there’s anything wrong with “cool” characters, but nerdy is kinda what I’m going for here. There aren’t enough nerds in fiction.

Find other ROW80 bloggers on the Blog Hop here.

Anyway! Today is Wednesday, so it’s time for another WIPpet Wednesday! 😀


The rules are as follows: post an excerpt from your current WIP that somehow corresponds to the day’s date. Today is the 27th, so I could post 27 lines, an excerpt from Chapter 27, etc… You’ve met both of my characters where they are at the beginning of their story in previous WIPpet Wednesdays… the 27 lines I’ve chose today are from the end of the story, after all the character development and ~feelings and things.

Felipe was sitting in his usual armchair, reading. His cane was leaning on the side of the chair. He looked up when Cait entered, and recognising her, snapped the book shut and stood up, only stumbling slightly and supporting himself with a hand on the chair. Cait had not moved much further once she was far enough inside for the guard to close the door behind her, so he quickly grabbed for the cane and began making his way towards her. As soon as she saw him, she felt a lot of her nervousness disappear, and she began walking towards him as well, meeting him halfway. 

“I wasn’t sure you’d come,” he said, touching her hair, then her face, and then placing his hand on her arm, all as though to assure himself she was really there. 

“Why wouldn’t I have?”

“Because after our last meeting, I had convinced myself you hated me.”

Cait grinned. “Sometimes I do,” she replied.

“Well, then, I’m fairly sure you won’t ever forgive me for this,” he said, and before she could ask what for, he had leaned forward to kiss her. She almost laughed; if he had tried this when they had first met, then she certainly wouldn’t have had any of it, and would have refused to ever speak to him again. Now, though, she found she was perfectly happy to kiss him back. How far they had come.

This scene gives me all the warm fuzzies, I have to admit.

And in final news (kinda rushing along with this post now, because it is rather past my bedtime), my hair is all gone! Well, not quite, but. Well, see for yourself:

  

I don’t actually have any photos of the short version from the back, they are on my friend’s phone and I am yet to see her to get them off her, but I’m really happy with how it looks. No qualms about turning up to a job interview in the morning with that. I have always been one who runs her fingers through her hair, though, and it stops rather a lot earlier than it used to. If you would like, you can find out about the World’s Greatest Shave and sponsor me here. Now to sell as much of the fundraising baking I did on the weekend to the work folk tomorrow.

Speaking of tomorrow, if I want to wake up in time, I’d really better go to bed now, it’s nearly 11. Goodnight! I will catch your check-ins over the next couple of days, and I’m sure I’ll see many of you in the next round! 😀

~ Emily

12 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in #11, #WIPpet Wednesday and “Oh god, I HAVE NO HAIR!”

  1. ReGi McClain says:

    Felipe uses a cane? Wasn’t he the uber-sexy palya’ a week or two ago? And didn’t Cait dislike him tremendously? You weren’t kidding when you said there were some changes!

    Cute haircut! How did the fund-raising go?

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Yes, yes and yes, but this is 22000 words (and nearly two years within the story) later! Meanwhile there has a war (that’s where the injury requiring the cane comes from) and a lot of actually getting to know each other and having a few honest conversations. When you rad the whole thing, it does actually progress quite gradually/logically (I think, anyway. That’s why I’ve sent it to betas, after all!)

      Like

      • ReGi McClain says:

        I seem to be saying things the wrong way lately. I wasn’t trying to imply the story moved too quickly or anything like that. (I did notice the chapter difference. 🙂 ) It was my apparently ineffective way of saying, “I’m paying attention because I find your story interesting.”

        Like

  2. Buffy Greentree says:

    ROW80 success! A whole novella is great going.
    Hope this doesn’t sound nitpicky and I realise its still in the drafting process, but you appear to have a habit I’m trying to beat out of myself at the moment: beware the run on sentence! If you read it aloud you might see what I mean.
    But the story is sweet 🙂

    Like

Talk to me! :)

