#ROW80 Check-in #10: Laziness, Uni and the World’s Greatest Shave (again)

This post is fairly long, so bear with me. First of all, I’m going to repost my previous post, just because I think this post will get a bigger audience, and this is something important to me. Apologies to those followers who have already seen it once.

This Wednesday, I will be shaving off my hair for the World’s Greatest Shave. The WGS is an initiative of the Leukeamia Foundation, to raise money for research into blood cancer and to provide support for those suffering this terrible disease, as well as their families. I’ve been wanting to participate for a few years now, but I’ve kept putting it off. This year, however, I’ve decided to bite the bullet!

This is my hair at the moment, all 20 inches/50 cm of it:

Of course, an event like this relies on the genorosity of sponsors, and as such, I’m putting out the call. If you have a little spare cash, even just $5, I would be very grateful if you would consider sponsoring me. The URL for my own efforts is The URL for my page is http://my.leukaemiafoundation.org.au/spaciireth or you can sponsor my team at http://my.leukaemiafoundation.org.au/TeamPage.aspx?teamID=75612. I’ll post up photos along with my final ROW80 post for this round on Wednesday.

On that note, on the writing front, I have been rather lazy since finishing my WIP first draft a fortnight ago. I only fixed the couple of formatting issues and sent it out to my betas yesterday. However, now it is sent, so that’s exciting! I can get on to reading these three different editions of The Nutcracker that I have in order to research for the modern retelling I have to write. I already have the premise, an idea of main characters and at least the first bit of plot… I just need to figure out exactly what the conflict is and… the rest of the story. So I’m hoping reading the original story will help with that. Or you know, if nothing else, give me ideas for throwbacks.

And regarding my third ROW80 goal,  remember how my third goal for this round of ROW80 was to spend Saturdays at the National Library studying? Well, after nearly having a panic attack (or at least working myself into a headache-inducing tizzy) when I was there on Monday afternoon (making up for having to work Saturday and therefore not being there then), and then discussing my options with my boyfriend and my mum, we came to the conlusion that might actually be better for me to drop this current enrolment and think about something else in a year or so. As I posted on LiveJournal, my main reasons for this were as follows:

a) I applied for this degree within six months of finishing my undergrad and in the nearly two years since then that I’ve been working, my priorities have changed. I would rather get more museum qualifications than a librarianship. Two years ago, I desperately wanted to go back to the National Library to work, but now I’d much rather get a job at the National Film and Sound Archive or the National Gallery. (I feel like such a snob throwing around all these “National” institutions, but, well, it is what you apply for if you have my degree and live in Canberra. And someone has to work there, so it might as well be me, right?). Ideally, I’d like to work in some overseas institutions at some point in my life as well, and the places I’d be most interested in working would respond better to museum qualifications than library ones, I think.

b) I really think that part of my struggles is the distance-learning. I’m not cut out for it, I’m not dealing well with it, and I think that’s part of the reason I’m not performing well. The two museum qualifications I’m looking at are both through ANU, which is, you know, my “local” uni, which means I’d have a student card and I can go into the library, find the general area with the books on my subject and then empty the shelves and read all the books. Which is how I had so many sources for my undergrad essays (I was at ANU for that one, too).

When the best hope I’ve got of finding sources is the Internet (which really only gives me journal articles) and the National Library (which is a non-lending library) where I’d have to just try searching various things related to my topic and requesting things to be brought up from the stacks, it makes things much more difficult.

c) Okay, there is every possibility this makes me sound lazy, but… I’m twenty-three years old. I have a good job, and an interview next week for one a pay grade above the current one. I don’t need a Masters degree just yet, and honestly, there are other things I’d rather be doing, such as the Italian lessons I’ve got on Tuesday nights and choir, which is on every Thursday and sometimes on Mondays, because I always say yes to solos and things which require extra rehearsals. And then whinge about said extra rehearsals later, but shhh. I’m taking a break from choir after our May concert, but I want to start going to my writer’s group meetings (I’m theoretically a member, but they meet on Thursdays, so I very rarely see them, except at weekend events). I want to hopefully get the story I’ve just finished up to publishing standard by the end of the year and get my writing out there. “By the end of the year” basically means “by the end of October” since I’ll be travelling in the final two months of the year. I don’t want to be doing these things I love and feeling guilty because I should be home studying something I’m not enjoying.

Anyway. I kind of got distracted from this post because my housemate, neighbour and I decided to watch some old episodes of Doctor Who (and by “old” I mean end of 2005, yeah I know… I actually am a Classic Series fan, Jon Pertwee was my first Doctor ♥) so it is my bedtime now because I have to be up for work tomorrow. So I shall say goodnight, and see you on your own check-ins, and then again on Wednesday for our final one! ♥

~ Emily

2 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in #10: Laziness, Uni and the World’s Greatest Shave (again)

Talk to me! :)

