#ROW80 Check-in #8: Request for beta readers

I had grand plans of finishing my WIP today. But then I got distracted by various things, and ended up only getting a couple of hundred words written today. That’s okay, though, another couple of days and it’ll be there. In light of that, I would like to put out a request for beta readers for a romance novella of about 21000 words, involving a prince who is a bit of a prat and the outspoken townsgirl who refuses to like him until he starts being less of a prat. It’s set in a quasi-Victorian era, and there is a war going on between the characters’ country and the neighbouring one, against which the romance is set.

If it sounds like your cup of tea and you would be willing to give it a look over, fling me an email at fuzzyagent999[@]yahoo[dot]com[dot]au. I’ll probably have it ready to send out before the end of next week. At the moment, I will just be looking for general feedback, like whether the characters are likeable, whether the plot is interesting,whether there are plot threads that I began and then forgot (I’m aware of one of these, but as far as I know, there might be others)… that sort of thing. Also any suggestions for titles might be good, as I currently have nothing. My working title is “A More Complicated Fairytale” but I don’t actually like that at all. And I am terrible at titling.

In other writing news, I finally reread my NaNoWriMo story from last year. I had convinced myself that it was really, really awful but then I started rereading the ending (the most “awful” part) and realised it was nowhere near that bad. I mean, you know, it’s of a NaNoWriMo standard, but it can definitely still be used. I’m actually thinking of making it a shorter work, like the one in the above paragraph. I think I work better within that word length frame than longer.

And in other other writing news, I was listening to Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker suite on repeat the other day, and was inspired to start nutting out a modern-day retelling of the story. Mostly because whenever I listen to the pas de deux from the ballet, all I can think is, “This is the most romantic piece of music ever, I cannot reconcile this with the fact that the characters are supposed to be about twelve (or younger).” So, after discovering there is nothing online that can help me with this, I decided to write my own. So far I only have a few vaguely connected ideas, but I’m working on it.

Anyway, so specific goals progress this week:

row80Write for an hour on Wednesdays and Fridays, or until 500 – 1000 words (minimum) is reached in each session.
Well, I haven’t really been timing, but I wrote Wednesday, Friday, yesterday and a bit today, for a total of 3807 words for the week. So not a bad effort. I didn’t quite reach the 10000 words for February mark, but if you allow for the fact that February is a short month, and therefore allow me a couple more days, I did reach 10000 words within the length of any other month. So I’m counting it. 😛

Spend Saturdays at the National Library working on uni stuff.
Ahem. Well, my semester doesn’t technically start until tomorrow, but I was going to be good and studious and go to the library yesterday to get a bit of a head start. The universe was conspiring against me, however, as first, my phone was turned off overnight (my fault entirely, I admit; I had changed some settings and turned it off to reboot it) and so my alarm didn’t go off, resulting in me sleeping in until 9am. Then about an hour later, my sister called me to say they were in town for her partner’s niece’s 21st birthday, and would I like to catch up. I don’t get to see them very often, so I said yes, and ended up spending a good portion of the afternoon with them. Then despite good intentions to study at home later in the afternoon, I ended up being completely distracted by the House DVDs that my housemate put on, despite having never really watched the show much and only having a passing interest in it. Amazing what catches your attention when you’re procrastinating.

I think I might try to spend a couple of evenings at the library this week, since next weekend is a long weekend and my mum is coming down to visit. I’m sure she’d be cool with me spending a morning or two studying, but I would rather be spending the time with her. Wish me luck with that.

Attend choir on Thursday nights.
Check. I was looking forward to a Thursday off this week, but received an email today saying there had been a change of plan and we would be having a rehearsal after all. That was a bit disappointing, since I had been hoping to make it to the Italian conversation classes this week. Those classes are one reason I am going to take a break from choir after our concert in May, as well as the fact that my writing group meets every second Thursday and I only see them on the irregular weekend events at the moment.

Write a ROW80 check-ine very Sunday.
This is it. 🙂

That’s about it from me. Once again, if you are able to beta, that would be fabulous and you would have my eternal love and affection. And gratitude. I will see you on your own blogs, and next Sunday here! 🙂

~ Emily

4 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in #8: Request for beta readers

  1. alberta says:

    Not really a romance reader -sorry – this is moi -who once laughed at a guy because he started quoting poetry to me as we sailed across the Adriatic:( I mean really! come on! – no thjink I will pass on the romance but well done for getting to beta read stage – I know how ‘other’ things eat away at plans, all my sympathy – all the best for this coming week:)

    Like

  2. Jennette Marie Powell says:

    Congrats on finishing your story! It sounds great, and I’d volunteer to beta read, but I’m struggling to keep up with the responsibilities I have as it is. Good luck with it, though – and congrats on the word count!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

