#ROW80 Check-in #2: I’m Never This Productive! (+ Mission101 Update)

row80You guys. You guys. I wrote about 5000 words this week. NaNoWriMo weeks not withstanding, I am NEVER this productive, even if I’ve got a shiny, new story on the go. I am so confident with this WIP right now (weird, considering the plot bunny came to me in a dream; very rarely to I manage to flesh dream!ideas out enough to write them), and so pleased that this year is shaping up to be so much better than last year. Basically the progress I reported on Wednesday continued. I went to see the pantomime my housemate was in yesterday, and then took my laptop to the library next door to the theatre, and got an hour or so’s writing in.

I also finally managed to cast my main character today. This is something that I started doing when I did NaNoWriMo 2011, just so I had some kind of reference to look at. In my head,  characters’ looks are often a bit hazy, so I cast them either as an actor I’m fond of, an actor who plays a similar character or, if all else fails, someone random found on a Google image search who matches the description I’m trying to go for. That way I have some sort of visual reference. My main character in this story, which we will call AMCF because I don’t want to refer to it by its full title just yet, was proving difficult. The Prince already had a face, but hers wasn’t coming to me too easily (the images in my head may be hazy, but they are also specific, if that makes any sense whatsoever). I was watching the latest episode of Once Upon A Time today and realised that while still not completely there, Emilie de Ravin’s face is about as close as I’m going to get without sitting down with a sketch artist or something. So that made me happy. I actually came to the realisation while sitting in church this evening and had to bite a finger to stop myself from saying something excitedly.

… It’s the small things, right?

That’s honestly all I have to say on writing for the week (might have been a bit longer had I kept it all for today, but I wanted to share on Wednesday), but I haven’t done an update on my 101 Things in 1001 Days project here in a little while. Since I was posting my most recent update on LiveJournal just this morning, I figured I would copy it over here as well. The list of 101 goals can be found by following the link at the top of this page. Today’s update was as follows:

1. Watch all the James Bond films (2/25)
I have now also watched From Russia With Love. Sadly missed Skyfall at the cinema so will have to wait for the DVD.

13. Visit the National Film and Sound Archive for my own interest and not for something that requires my presence there.
14. Go to an ARC screening at the NSFA (can be combined with #13 bus not counted as #13)

Completed both of these yesterday. We only had about half an hour to look around before the movie, but we managed to see most of the permanent exhibition space. Highlights included costumes from Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, which is one of my favourite movies, and an interactive sculpture… thing based on the film clip for Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know” (awesome song, look it up!). The movie was a new print of the director’s cut of Terry Gilliam’s “Brazil” which was… very Terry Gilliam. Interesting, but a bit weird, and not very exciting.

16. Read 75 fiction books
I read the four Winnie-the-Pooh books while I was at my parents’ place over Christmas, so they have been added to that list. Considering how long I have loved the Winnie-the-Pooh Disney cartoons (honestly since I was about 5 years old), I can’t believe it took me this long to read the books!

58. Try 25 new recipes
Over the Christmas holidays, I made gingerbread, quiche lorraine and velvet mocha flan (basically a chocolate-coffee cheesecake). These were all amazing.

63. Get my hair trimmed at least once every three months
Got my hair trimmed in December, so this one is in progress now.

70. Establish with Mum whether we are going overseas together next year (i.e. 2013), or if I’ll do a second trip with her the following year.
I’m going to consider this complete, even though we didn’t really come to a definite decision. The fact is that my mother is basically my grandmother’s carer, and any travel plans would depend on what the situation was with her. So at the moment, we’re working on the assumption that Nan will still be with us at the end of this year and that I’ll be doing that trip alone. Mum and I can do another trip in a year or so if possible.

Completed Goals: 6/101
In progress: 5/101

Now I’m off to maybe do some more writing before bed! See you all on your own check-ins! ♥

~ Emily

14 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in #2: I’m Never This Productive! (+ Mission101 Update)

  1. Rebecca J Fleming says:

    Glad I’m not the only one who tries to cast my novel characters 🙂 I pretty much have an actor in mind for every character in my WiP (I’m also a Once Upon a Time fan and can’t wait for the new episodes to start). In fact I had written out several scenes for one of my human villains, as well as a bio and description, and then one day I was watching TV and an ad came on for BBC’s Sherlock, and as soon as I saw Benedict Cumberbatch, I was like “OMG THAT’S MY VILLAIN!” He really looked exactly the way I envision my character looking. Great work on the writing progress, here’s hoping you can keep up the momentum this week 🙂

    Like

    • Emily says:

      I love when that happens! I had one character in my head for a couple of years before I wrote the story he was a part of, and then when American Horror Story started, I was watching the pilot and the creepy blonde kid was exactly what I had been imagining. BC would make an amazing villain by the way. 😀

      Like

  2. Chris Kincaid says:

    How great that you were able to write so much this week. And fantastic that you now have your main character firmly in mind. Your list of 101 things is great. I need to do that. Good luck to your Mum taking care of Nan. That’s where I am right now. My daughter wants to return to Africa with me this spring, but I really don’t know if I can leave my mom for two weeks. Plus just the news that I am going back to Africa might kill her and I hate that kind of guilt.
    Best of luck meeting all of your goals.

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Yeah, my mum’s in a similar position – we’d probably be able to get people who can take care of Nan for a few weeks, but she would just be so stressed out that mum is on the other side of the world.

      I am loving the 101 Things project; the check-ins are really good, you always realise you’ve done more than you thought. Thanks for stopping by!

      ~ Emily

      Like

  3. Laura says:

    I cast my characters too. My latest hero is Tom Hiddleston (Loki in Avengers) and speaking of Once, my heroine is Ginnifer Goodwin. I LOVE Once Upon A Time.
    Great job on the goals. x

    Like

  4. alberta ross says:

    can’t say I ever have – and my characters are fairly hazy in my mind -I can see them, smiles, crinkles and wrinkles but wouldn’t be able to describe them really – I don’t know film stars well enough – good tho’ you are happy to have found yours and excelent progress on the 101 things – and 5000 words well done – all the best for this coming week:)

    Like

  5. Eden says:

    Another character caster here! The problem comes when I’ve been around a character long enough that both s/he starts changing and growing as I change and grow… and the old actor/character doesn’t seem to fit anymore. Has this happened to you?

    The 101 Things project is really cool. The only thing is…what made you decide to start it? (I won’t say too much about the Star Wars movies, but…)

    Like

    • Emily says:

      I haven’t really been doing the casting long enough to have had that problem, but I know my characters change that way sometimes, so I’m sure I will run into it.

      I was actually inspired by a LiveJournal friend who had done it from 2006-2009 and has a second round going now. There is an LJ community that I am basically doing it through, though I believe it started through dayzeroproject.com which is set up so you can do the 101/1001 project, or set smaller, shorter-term goals.

      Like

      • Eden says:

        Ah… well when your characters get to that point, have fun with them. They don’t stay young forever *sniff sniff*

        And thanks for the info on the 101/1001 project. I’ll be sure to look into it.

        Like

  6. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    Hi Emily, it looks like Kait has hit some trouble and we have no mid-week check-in. So no one is left out, please come over to our Facebook group and leave a link to your check-in post and we will be over to visit. The page address is https://www.facebook.com/groups/row80/ Alternatively, email me at katiecrcole@gmail.com and I’ll pass your post on. I know Facebook isn’t everyone’s cup of tea!

    Should we have no Linky on Sunday, we’ll just keep working this way until things sort themselves out.

    Cheers!
    Cate (Round 1 Sponsor)

    Like

Talk to me! :)

