#ROW80 Check-in #1

Well, here we are at the end of the first week of this Round of Words in 80 Days. I have to say I’m pretty pleased with how my writing has gone. Neither university or choir has started back for the year, so writing was the only goal I had to concentrate on. I completed my two hours of writing, though it was mostly on Thursday and Friday nights, rather than Tuesday and Friday – I confess I was a bit procrastinate-y early in the week. I decided I need to qualify my “for an hour a week”, since I spent a lot of time staring at a blank page. Therefore I have stipulated for myself that I need to write at least 500 words in my hour. On the other end of the spectrum, if I reach 1000 words before my hour is up, I may call it a day, though I can by all means keep going if I’m on a roll. Over the week I probably wrote about 2500 words on a couple of different projects.

I did come to a conclusion, though. You may remember in my last post I mentioned that one of the stories I wanted to work on was one I started when I was seventeen. Upon actually opening up this story, I realised that even though I could probably still maintain the voice of the main character, the fact of the matter is that it is a very seventeen-year-old story, and at this point I don’t think I’m really interested in the characters enough to really revisit them and try to improve them. The first version of the story is complete, so I don’t feel like I’m abandoning it while its still unfinished.

Incidentally, something I forgot to mention in previous so far posts this year: while I was home on Christmas holidays, I came across a folder containing, amongst other things, two half-finished stories I had written, one when I was about eleven and the other when I was thirteen. At first, I didn’t think I was going to be able to bring myself to read them, but I did. It is nice to have confirmation that I have definitely improved as a writer in the last ten years. For the age I was, I suppose they weren’t too bad, though.

I’m also really excited that along with my original writing, I have been inspired to write some fan fiction again. The last time I posted any was this time last year, when I was still freaking out about the Sherlock series 2 finale (I tend to get rather emotionally invested in the lives of fictional characters sometimes). For the rest of the year, I didn’t spend much time in fandom at all, which makes me feel a bit sad. Of all the things to get me back in the fandom groove, it was the new Disney movie, “Wreck It Ralph”, which I have seen twice in this past week because I adored it. As they say on Tumblr, I have a lot of ~feelings about this movie.

Anyhoo, that’s my report for this week. You can find other ROW80 posts here. See you  next week!

~ Emily

8 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in #1

  1. Alex Wren says:

    Sounds like you’re doing good so far. Yay you!

    I have a folder in my closet with all of my old high school and college writing in it too. Luckily I pretty much hated writing poetry in high school, so I missed out on that particular embarrassment 🙂

    Like

    • Emily says:

      It was painful at times, particularly the one where I was going through my Merlin phase and figured I could clearly write something as good as Mary Stewart’s books. There were a lot of incorrectly used thee’s and thou’s. Fun times.

      Like

  2. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    I don’t know about anyone else, but I’ve just loved scrolling up and down the page, seeing this little worm on a hook follow me. What a gorgeous blog. It’s a lovely change.

    I kept a lot of my appalling early writing for years and in the end, kept the best and threw out everything else. It is great to look back and see you’ve improved. I’m glad you had the courage to peek and be encouraged! If you’re having trouble getting started writing, try some prompt sites or free writing (Google search will get you both). Those techniques help a great deal.

    Thanks for sharing where you’re at. I will look forward to more updates. Don’t forget that ROW80 is on Facebook if you’d like to stop by and get to know us better. https://www.facebook.com/groups/row80/

    Cheers.

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Haha, I know right?! I didn’t actually realise it had the little fish hooks and the fact that the fish move when I changed it, I just liked the font and such, but then I noticed, and I was, um, hooked. 😉 (Sorry)

      Like

      • Cate Russell-Cole says:

        LOL It made my day. I am sitting in a dull office, tired and churning through bills. It brightened things up. 🙂

        Like

Talk to me! :)

