#ROW80 Check-in: Not too shabby

I am writing this on Thursday morning, as I was out last night, and Thursday morning on the east coast of Australia is still Wednesday night in a reasonable chunk of the world. My friends and I wine-and-cheesed it up last night as we got the last bits and pieces together for our novels, and NaNoWriMo kicked off this morning with pancakes in my living room. I got 924 words knocked before I headed off to work (where I am now, hence the brevity of this update), and when I left my housemate was at about 500, having started about 20 minutes after me. She doesn’t leave for work as early as I do, though, so she had time to get more down. My hope is to get a few hundred more written on my lunch break and then clock off  work at 4 but stick around to reach 1667 before I actually leave. I have choir tonight, so I want to make sure I’m on track before then.

I was glad for the opportunity to consolidate my notes last night; my general outline was fine, but some of my more specific notes tended to contradict each other a bit. Over the last couple of weeks I wrote the opening 3000 words of the story, which I was quite happy with, though I am a bit worried I’m making my Secret Government Organisation a bit too nasty. I don’t want them to be horrible, but the fact of the matter is they don’t really care much about the demons they’re taking in. It’s up to my MC to prove to them that demons are more than just pests. I also have a random other character who just invited herself to have a more major role than I had ever planned for her. But as I am all for more female represenation, I do not see this as a bad thing.

Anyway, that’s about all I have for now. As I said, I’m at work at the moment, so I should actually get back to my data entry (ergh). Shall catch you all on Sunday! Good luck Wrimos! And other ROW80 participants who aren’t as crazy as the rest of us! 😀

5 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Not too shabby

  1. shanjeniah says:

    Emily – Sounds like you are off to a good start. And I love when characters let me know that I didn’t see them in the way they truly are…last novel, one character truly surprised me with her love of children, because I had imagined her as having little use for them.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

