(Early) #ROW80 Check-in: A mixed bag

Well, as you may be able to tell from the title, the couple of weeks since my last ROW80 post have been a bit of a mixed bag. On the one hand, I’ve still been reading lots, which is great. I’m currently reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, which has been on my To Read list since the author was one of the pep talk writers for last year’s NaNoWriMo. It’s got a fairly slow plot, but the language is very poetic and just plain pretty, so I’ll be keeping going with it, I think.

Writing has been going up and down; I’ve had some really good thoughts concerning my WIP, but in other ways I’ve been struggling to get past the planning stages… I’ve handwritten a few pages, but keep realising other things I’ve got to figure out and then I get all worried thinking about those and get distracted from just writing the parts I shouldn’t be worried about. Ergh…

In other news, I have decided to attempt the 101 Things in 1001 Days challenge. While I’ll be using the Mission 101 community on LiveJournal as my main place to update my progress, I’ve also posted the link on a page here and will post my progress along with ROW80 and other updates. I’m really excited about it; there are a lot of things on there that I’ve had on my To Do list for a long time, and maybe with this I’ll finally get my butt into gear and do them.

So that’s me for this week. Hopefully I’ll have things to say in the last few check-ins of the round. See you all around! 🙂

8 thoughts on “(Early) #ROW80 Check-in: A mixed bag

  1. Morgan Dragonwillow says:

    Emily I understand not feeling ready or seeing issues with a story and stalling the actual writing of it. The thing is it will never be perfect and you just have to begin. Once you have it on the page then you can change things if you need to or just write to the end and begin to edit. It is good to have at minimum a basic outline. I won’t ever begin a book again without it. But the most important part is, just write.

    Peace to you,
    Morgan

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Thanks for your encouragement, Morgan! Of course, the trick is putting the theory into practice. But I’ll get there! Thanks for stopping by!

      ~ Emily

      Like

  2. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    Hi Emily, writing is always a mixed bag and it can be hard trying to work out how much time should go to planning, or have I over-planned? Should I let it all work itself out when I am writing? It’s a different process for everyone. You discover what works for you by trial and error. The main thing is to enjoy the writing journey. Both planning and doing can be very rewarding.

    I hope you find your way through and that you gain a great deal of enjoyment from the process. Best of luck!
    Cate (ROW80)

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Thanks, Cate, that’s very true! This is the first time I’ve actually planned a story so thoroughly, and while I know it will benefit me in the long run, sometimes it’s a bit distracting. Thanks for the encouragment, though!

      ~ Emily

      Like

  3. alberta says:

    really enjoyed Night Circus- as you say poetic and pretty or I actually thought beautiful but that’s a personal thing:) slow is sometimes very satisfying – keep smiling:)

    Like

    • Emily says:

      It’s really gorgeous language! I wish I could be half as atmospheric in my writing. I’m on a mysterious-circus kick now thanks to it, I am planning on watching Carnivale soon to keep up the trend.

      Like

    • Emily says:

      So very true! I think I’ve managed to smooth out some wrinkles now, so I should be able to end this round on a high note, at least! Thanks for stopping by, and for your encouragement!

      ~ Emily

      Like

Talk to me! :)

