#ROW80 Check-in: Ceci n’est pas une check-in.

First of all, thank you to those who wished me luck with the job I was going for in my last post. Unfortunately, I didn’t get it, but I’m sure that just means there’s something even better waiting around the corner for me. They did say they were impressed with my interview, so perhaps I’m on a merit list and something else might come up they can offer me.

Anyway. This is not really a ROW80 Check-In, as I have nothing different to say from my last couple of check-ins. What I would like to do with this post is ask you guys for some suggestions. The premise of the story I have in the planning stages is a demon is stripped of his powers and forced to learn to live like a human. It’s okay, though, there’s a Secret Government OrganisationTM to help him with that. One of the ways they assimilate these guys into human culture is with a weekly movie night; the demons and other unearthly beings watch the classics and examples of various genres and are generally pretty confused by the fact that we would waste our time watching these, but at least they understand the pop culture references now.

So, my question to you guys is this: what movies would you show a demon who has no knowledge of the medium or human popular culture? I asked my LJ friends a couple of days ago and you can see their responses here. I have a list of about 25 already, including things like Casablanca, The Sound of Music, Toy Story, Star Wars, The Avengers, Mean Girls, The Prestige and The Godfather, along with some notes like “I need some James Bond in there somewhere…” or “Do I have too many kids movies?” . But I want about 50, my thought being that the Secret Government OrganisationTM would have them run on about a yearly cycle. Even if most of them don’t actually get mentioned in the story, I would like to have the list. You know, for world-building purposes. And stuff. I already created character sheets with the SGO’s letter head on them, just because I could. 😛 No one will ever see them, but I think they look cool.

Anyway, yes, any suggestions would be appreciated. I mentioned James Bond, but my knowledge of James Bond is actually severely limited, so some help with that would be good. And just suggestions in general. Thank you in advance! You guys are awesome!

3 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Ceci n’est pas une check-in.

  1. Nadja Notariani says:

    That is a difficult challenge…selecting movies, that is…lol.

    If the focus is pop culture that offers perspective on the reality of western culture, then maybe I’d suggest the Bourne movies for some CIA action type info…and maybe Ocean’s Eleven for the criminal element. Maybe some counter-culture flick such as The Matrix or Inception. Perhaps some war movies such as Blackhawk Down or Saving Private Ryan.

    I don’t know what else to suggest! Good luck compiling your list!

    Like

  2. Jess Witkins says:

    Yah, I like Nadja’s suggestions, because you’d need to have them watch and understand war in some aspect so they know how humans react.

    I would then add some great dramas like All That Heaven Allows, Slingblade, The Hours, The Constant Gardener, The Fountain, October Sky. Yes, I know those are all over the place, but that’s the way my brain is working today.

    Interesting project!

    Like

  3. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    Hmmm, considering demons lie and have heavy biases, it doesn’t matter what you show them, they would skew it a weird way anyway… hey, that could be fun to play around with! Sorry I have been so late checking in, my health has been bad. Keep on plugging away at your writing. It’s really good to see out of the box ideas like that. It’s that essence of creativity which makes it all so rewarding! 🙂

    Cheers, Cate (ROW80)

    Like

Talk to me! :)

