#ROW80 Check-in: Ends of series and back on track

Back in 2001, when I was twelve years old and still in primary school, I discovered a book called Artemis Fowl. It was an urban fantasy about a twelve-year-old Irish criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl, who decided to kidnap a fairy and hold her to ransom in order to recoup his family’s lost fortune. I was pretty hooked, and followed the series as subsequent books came out. I have always listed Eoin Colfer amongst my favourite authors since then, and the Artemis Fowl series amongst my favourite books (you may remember Artemis was one of the five characters I would have over for dinner). A couple of weeks ago, the final installment, The Last Guardian, was released; I finished it last night.

Artemis Fowl and the Last Guardian

Now I don’t really know what to do with myself. I was choked up for the majority of the final 50 pages or so, was reminded of all the reasons why I’ve loved these characters for the past eleven years, had my emotions toyed with, and the conclusion just fit so well with the rest of the series, finishing off with an epilogue that makes you think, “Only Artemis… :’D” and then a final paragraph that made me promptly burst into tears. I found myself overcome with proud maternal feelings for Artemis, who has come so far in eight books, from bratty, self-centred criminal mastermind to intelligent young man willing to sacrifice himself for the sake of his loved ones. While a few of the reviews I’ve read on GoodReads suggest that had I not had a soft spot for the series since I was a pre-teen, I may not have been as happy with it as I was, but I’m going to ignore this fact in favour of nostalgia. At least for now. I do sense an reread of the entire series in the near future, since I have read many of the books only once and have a terrible memory for tiny-but-important details.

Anyway. As to my ROW80 goals and whether I have achieved them more so this week than the previous couple. Well, yes and no. As you can probably gather, I’ve been doing a lot of reading. After finishing The Last Guardian, I started Jennifer Rainey’s Thoroughly Modern Monsters this morning and will probably finish it tonight before going to sleep, as it is quite short. After that, I will probably start Leviathan, my friend’s copy of which I have had on my bedside table for I wouldn’t know how long and have yet to start. So reading is quite thoroughly taken care of.

I commented on four or five ROW80 check-in posts on Monday morning, which is roughly what I was managing back in Round 1, and I’m fairly sure it was five, so that meets my goal for Sunday’s check-in. I interacted a little bit with people on my writing Twitter, but could still be improving on that. There was very little on the Facebook front, too.

It seems, however, that my writing is the goal that has been neglected this week. Not entirely, though. Having finally found the book with my outline and the first few paragraphs of new WIP in it, I was able to get that all typed up into one document, along with what I’d written in another book while that one was AWOL. I have a song for my MCs, which I have taken to listening to while writing about them. It’s Kate Miller-Heidke’s Last Day On Earth and I have a whole montage of the story’s climax in my head that it accompanies. Sure, so Last Day on Earth in the story is a little more literal than the one in the song, but hey. It works. I also wrote a couple of little scenes that will happen later in the story.

Yesterday, not much writing happened, as I had friends over for dinner, then we watched a movie, and then I got busy finishing Artemis Fowl. Today also I haven’t written anything, because as you might have been able to tell from the opening paragraph of this post, I was still trying to sort out all my ~feelings. I had planned to write some fan fiction as therapy (which I would have then counted as my flash fiction for the week, because I tend to write fanfic just as quickly), but the second I sat down and tried, I found the characters’ voices wouldn’t come to me. Bah. I haven’t entirely given up though, even if it is starting to get late by now.

Tomorrow is my 23rd birthday, and I’m taking the day off work, but I actually plan on using at least some of that free time for writing. My boyfriend is making me pancakes for breakfast and then we’re probably going to go see a movie, but I should be able to work something in around that.

Anywho, this post has got rather lengthy on me, so I shall finish off here before you all get bored (hopefully this has not already happened). I shall see you around, or on Sunday if not before! 😀

4 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Ends of series and back on track

  1. Dahnya Och says:

    Happy early birthday!

    I never read Artemis Fowl… perhaps when I finish Save the Cat! I’ll give the first one a try! I love me some YA UF…

    Good job on your goals – and good luck the rest of this week!

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Thank you! 🙂

      As I said, part of the reason my love for it is so great is very possibly because I have such nostalgia for it and sort of grew up with it. But having said that, I still recommend it wholeheartedly, because the more fans, the better! 😉

      Thanks for stopping by!

      ~Emily

      Like

  2. KM Huber says:

    Happy belated birthday and hope your day was all you wanted it to be.

    You sound like quite a reader, and it is hard to finish those books that we cherish, especially a series. I remain fascinated by the idea of fan fiction and from what you say, perhaps I will try it someday.

    I like your honesty about your goals; I think that’s the key to succeeding with writing. Hope you have a great round of ROW 80.

    Karen

    Like

    • Emily says:

      I was writing fanfiction from the age of 10 or 11, before I even had Internet access or knew it had a name and was actually something people did. I think I was always going to discover online fandom in one way or another. It is an interesting way to explore characters you already enjoy.

      Definitely agree with you about the honesty – I think that’s the only way to actually learn from these processes. Hopefully we’ll make good headway once we learn how to juggle things.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

