#ROW80 Check-in: a hectic two weeks!

Whew, where has the time gone?! Between traveling home for five days to help my grandma celebrate her 85th birthday, and then the chaos that accompanies moving house confronting me the second I got back, my goals have been barely touched. I did get a fair bit of reading done while I was away, and since coming back I’ve written a few pages, but that is about it. This weekend was also a write-off, as I had two days of singing/choreography rehearsals for the production of Guys and Dolls that I am in, and when I got home from those, I had no desire to do anything apart from lie on my bed and pat the cat. However, I am determined that come tomorrow, I will get things back on track. I really don’t want this to turn into Round 2, Mark 2.

 There was also the problem that I misplaced the notebook in which I had written the opening to my new WIP while moving. I knew  it was in one of the two boxes to still be unpacked, but it was annoying. I continued writing in the notebook at the back of my diary, but dammit, I wanted that bit! Mostly because I wanted to type up what I had and I couldn’t do that if I don’t have my opening paragraphs… having said that, I recently found it, but have I typed anything up yet? No.

Speaking of that story, you know you’ve been marathon-ing Buffy the Vampire Slayer when you realise you are unconsciously mimicking Joss Whedon’s voice in your own story about demons. As much as I love Joss, I’m kind of hoping I don’t keep it up; while it’s fine for writing fanfiction, it’s not my own writing voice and I don’t want to get a chunk written and then having it sound completely different and off, or get bored because I can’t keep it up anymore.

Anyway, my housemate and I decided we would throw on an episode of Buffysince we’re both quite tired but neither of us want to head to bed just yet, so I shall wrap this up. See ya’ll on Wednesday. 🙂

12 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: a hectic two weeks!

  1. crystalwriterak says:

    Hugs – Just remember small steps at a time, builds a mountain. (or something like that). Every thing you do towards a goal is a step in the right direction. You do more if you take baby steps, than if you do nothing.

    Like

  2. Lauralynn Elliott says:

    Wow, you’ve been so busy! Sometimes, we just can’t get it ALL done. You’ll get back on track. 🙂

    I do Buffy marathons sometimes, too. I’ve watched my DVD’s so many times. Joss Whedon is awesome.

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Haha, yep, it’s been a bit crazy, but is finally starting to settle down, I think!

      I have seen a few random episodes (and watched ‘Once More With Feeling’ many, many times!) but this is the first time I’ve watched it from beginning to end. I’ve just started Season 4. So far Season 2 is my favourite, but I’ve still got plenty to go.

      Like

  3. Em says:

    I have mountains of my last finished WIP to type up, I think I am saving it for a rainy day! You have been busy and hopefully now you are all moved you will find yourself in more of a routine. Have a great week and see you Wednesday 🙂

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Even just today has been a marked improvement on the last couple of weeks. Now I have some free time ahead, I think you are right, a routine should emerge. Thanks for stopping by!

      ~ Emily

      Like

    • Emily says:

      I know right?! I do wish it wouldn’t! Ah well, that is the sort of thing we have to learn to juggle. Thanks for stopping by!

      ~ Emily

      Like

  4. EM Castellan says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog Emily, it’s nice to meet you! Don’t worry about making slow progress, even a little bit of writing here and there is good. Plus you get extra points for watching Buffy. I’m a huge fan of the show and I love watching old episodes from time to time. My favourite season is the 3rd one, although Season 6 is pretty awesome too 🙂

    Like

    • Emily says:

      I’ve been slowly picking up the pace a bit, and am pretty much back into a routine now, which is nice.

      This is my first time watching Buffy right through; I had seen the musical episode many times and a few other scattered episodes here and there, but never watched it properly. So far Season 2 has been my favourite, but I’m only up to the beginning of Season 4, so there’s plenty of time for me to change my mind.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      ~Emily

      Like

  5. Nadja Notariani says:

    Summer is the hardest season to stick to my goals…all those beaches calling my name – the water parks my boys beg to enjoy – the picnics to attend – the family to visit/entertain. I’ve had to work late at night to keep up with my WIP. …anyway…this is one writer feeling your pain. Ha!

    A move only compounds the situation. Oy Vey! Once unpacked, you’ll hit your stride again – with a vengeance. :}

    Like

    • Emily says:

      I’m actually in the middle of winter at the moment, but I totally know what you mean about the summer! I was trying to do a summer course last summer, and being Australian, that meant assignments were due on New Years Day and ridiculous things like that. Never again!

      Like

Talk to me! :)

