#ROW80 Check-in: A Solid Start

Well, this was a much better start than that of Round 2! I don’t want to get too excited, since we are only three days in, but so far, so good! Goal number 1, to work on one of my writing projects for half an hour a day, has been met and then some. I now have a rough two-page outline of 75% of a new story. I’ve also cast the two main characters and a couple of the side charactersΒ  (I always cast actors in the roles – often my mind casts them and then I just have to figure out who the random face in my head actually is and find pictures of them that match the picture in my head). I’ve also got halfway through the fan fiction I promised my Live Journal friends I would write.

I’m readingHollowland by Amanda Hocking, and while I don’t think I read for half an hour yesterday, I will probably make up for that after my dance class tonight, so that is Goal Number 2 taken care of. Goal 3 will take effect now that Check-ins are happening and I can actually comment on ROW80 blogs. As for Goal 4, to interact with the ROW80 community more on Twitter and Facebook… I have done this a little on the Facebook, but still working on Twitter. However, I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it.

Anyhoodle, I have to walk to to my 6:30 dance class, which means leaving at about 5:40, which is in 20 minutes, so I’ll wrap this up here. I’m heading home to my parents’ place on Friday and staying there until next Wednesday, so I might miss the Sunday check-in, but I’ll see how I go. Until then, au revoir! πŸ˜€

22 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: A Solid Start

  1. Darlene Steelman says:

    Doing outlines to stories is one of my favorite parts! Good luck with your characters.. I am sure they will whittle their way into your head and just jump right out on the page.
    I love that you walk to your dance class… genius!
    Good luck this round!

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Thanks, Darlene! I am rather attached to these characters at this stage, so I hope everything goes well.
      Haha, the walking is more a result of having no car, and thus being forced to be active. If I could drive, I am sure I would be much lazier!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      ~Emily

      Like

    • Emily says:

      Indeed! Many’s the time I’ve said, “Oh, I’ll just quickly check my email and then get on with writing, etc”… *1 hour later* … “Ohh…”

      Like

  2. Jess Witkins says:

    Woo! Go Emily, you’re well on your way for Round 3! Keep us posted on how you like Hocking’s book and how the WIP is going. You’re already off to a phenomenal start by outlining it all and getting some character sketches down. Nice work!

    Like

  3. AmyBeth Inverness says:

    Off to a good start!
    For character inspiration, I used to look at Model Mayhem which is a networking site for professional models looking for work. I used to be able to narrow my search by all kinds of criteria, but now when I go to the site the only “narrowing” is male vs female.

    Like

  4. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Good going on your goals, Emily! Interesting that you cast actors for the characters. I’ve gone searching for faces but I’ve never used actors. πŸ™‚

    Have a nice visit with your folks and a great rest of the week. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Emily says:

      The first time I did that, my main character was based on one from a show I watched, so that was how it started… it always helps that any given actor has a lot of pictures on Google Image Search to choose from. πŸ˜›

      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      ~ Emily

      Like

  5. Christina says:

    I cast actors as my characters too! But a couple of them have changed once or twice (or maybe even five times….) as new actors pop up.

    How are you enjoying Hollowland so far?

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Haha, yes, I do the same thing! A few of my characters just have two different people on their profile, if I think they both suit.

      Hollowland isn’t too bad, hasn’t really jumped out at me, but it’s interesting enough that I’m keeping going with it.

      ~ Emily

      Like

Talk to me! :)

