#ROW80 Check-in: Just My Luck

It would be just my luck that after announcing how good it is to be back, I have an accident with my computer which results in it getting dropped from about waist-height, which in turn results in the hard drive needing to be replaced. This happened Wednesday night, so I got it into the shop Thursday afternoon after work. Last thing I heard was that the drive would need replacing, and they would get back to me with how much data they would be able to recover, and how much that would cost me. I’ll probably hear from them sometime today (Monday) about that. Most of my important stuff is backed up, and luckily the most important photos from my trip to the zoo last Monday are on a USB drive because I promised people at work I would bring them in.

Despite that, though, I’ve been working on my chapter outline for my Camp NaNoWriMo novel. That’s going to be my focus for the rest of the round. I’ve probably nutted out about the first 20000 words. That’s about as much as I actually wrote down a plan for last Novermber, and then I… winged? wung?… the rest of it. I’m at a bit of a fork in the road with regards to one part of the plot, in that I can’t decide which of my characters is going to take the other prisoner (they are on opposite sides in a war and run into each other during some kind of covert mission). I think it will work better one way, but I’m still pondering my options.

Anywho, I’m writing this at work, and am not paid to write ROW80 posts, so I’d best go and, you know… work. I’ll try to catch up with some of your posts on my lunch break! 😀

3 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in: Just My Luck

  1. Eden says:

    Sorry to hear about the boom, Emily. Good to know you have most everything backed up. (Thanks for the reminder!)

    Another Camp NaNoWriMo person? Cool!

    I think a third party is watching both your characters and takes them both as prisoner. 😉

    Like

  2. Tia Bach says:

    Stuff like that can send me over the writer’s edge. Glad you rebounded.

    I hope to do NaNoWriMo this year, but Camp NaNo scares me. Three kids running around does not tend to increase my daily word counts. 😉

    Like

Talk to me! :)

