#ROW80 Check-in – Ups and Downs but Mostly Ups

So, it had been a while since I did any work on last year’s NaNoWriMo manuscript. Every time I looked at it, I just kind of went, “… blah.” I thought I had lost interest in it, and last night I was wondering whether I should just write it off as a now-I-know-I-can-write-a-book-though-I-will-never-really-do-anything-with-it thing, and go on to bigger and better projects. At this stage last night, the title I had planned for this post was “Is this a cop-out?” I decided, however, that I would at least pick it up again and see if I could do a bit more editing and see how I felt about it then…

Once I got back into it, I realised it wasn’t that bad. The necessary-to-the-plot time travel does make it convoluted and I’m going to have to work on that, but I am glad I picked it up again. I’m going to keep it in a more prominent place and maybe take it to work a couple of days this week to work on during my lunch break. I went through 17 pages of it today, so I am rather happy with that.

Writing-wise, well. In my last post, I said I had found a prompt for a new short story. That… didn’t go so well, I got stuck fairly quickly with that. I think tend to get stuck when I work from prompts because I create a scene based on the prompt (such as my drunk character being stuck in a museum) but then once I actually have written what the prompt suggests, I realise I have no resolution in mind. I actually wrote two different versions of the “drunk in a museum gets advice from the afterlife” thing, and was unable to finish either of them. I’ve got a few other little shorts like this, they’re all just saved in a folder on my laptop. I was talking to my boyfriend about this, and he suggested maybe setting aside one day a week where I go back and see if I can add anything to these scenes/finish them off. So I think I’m going to do that.

In the meantime, since I set aside that story that I did all the planning for and then couldn’t seem to write, I’ve decided to return to the idea I mentioned not too far into this round, of the chick lit piece but with characters who are nerdy and silly and a bit more like me than the characters you normally see in this genre. I don’t know how it will pan out, but I have an idea of the beginning, the middle and the end which is better than I’ve been doing, so fingers crossed.

That’s all from me this week. Check in with other ROW80 writers here.

18 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in – Ups and Downs but Mostly Ups

    • Emily says:

      Haha, until I did NaNoWriMo last year, I didn’t think I was wordy enough to write anything but! Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  1. Eden says:

    Maybe the prompt is playing too pivotal a point in your stories? Maybe you should pick a story you like and rewrite it with the prompts before trying a fresh piece? Just a thought.

    Cool on the NaNoWriMo story… It’s nice to find value in something you thought was a lost caus.

    Like

    • Emily says:

      I think that is part of my trouble – I tend to make the prompt the entire plot, instead of letting it evolve into something.

      Yeah, I’m really pleased about that. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

      • Eden says:

        You’re welcome. I have a similar problem with my flash fiction pieces. The only way I found out of it was to have characters I knew so well that they almost wrote the next scenes on their own. It’s one of the reasons I write fan fiction on occasion. It’s almost required that those characters will act a certain way, even if we try to redirect their actions.

        Like

      • Emily says:

        Ah, yes, fanfiction is good for that. I enjoy not having to worry about exposition, usually everyone knows how it fits into the overall setting already.

        Like

  2. Ali Dent says:

    The good thing is you are still working. You are positively moving forward. That’s great. Have you read James Scott Bell’s Plot and Structure or Hooked? Both are helpful to get the story moving from start to finish.

    Like

    • Emily says:

      I haven’t, but I have been thinking I should take a look at a few books like that just for some guidance. Thanks for the suggestions! 🙂

      Like

  3. Breezy Vee says:

    Good Job on going back to your NaNoWriMo! I’m eagerly waiting until Nano comes this year so I can take a swing at it! I love the Idea of the drunk in the museum, hopefully setting it aside and coming back to it like your boyfriend suggested reaps some benefits!
    Brittney

    Like

    • Emily says:

      NaNo was great fun, and it felt like such an accomplishment at the end! Good luck with giving it a go yourself! The prompt is quite fun, I think I need to work out exactly what advice he’s going to get, and then I’ll be able to run with it a bit more.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  4. ronetw says:

    Hey, great blog post, good to see your making progress. I’m very much the same as you when it comes to projects, certainly old ones, its sort of like you can’t just let them die… and so they sit there in folders and then you open them up a few weeks later and think hmm can I do anything here… and 99.9% of the time for me, I usually end up seeing the project through to conclusion.. keep up the great work 😀

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Thanks! Yeah, I hate leaving things abandoned, particularly once it’s started making the journey from my head onto paper. We’ll have to see what happens, I guess.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

Talk to me! :)

