#ROW80 – errrghhh.

I was doing so well, you guys. I had my new story, and my new goals, and I was meeting them. And then the weekend exhausted me and I got nothing done and I haven’t got much done since then. I’m bothered by the fact that my two MCs fall rather heavily into blatant gender stereotypes, not something I want to happen at all, and also the fact that I don’t know anything about warfare or governments or any of the other stuff that is kind of actually important to my setting. Writing this is making me think of the song “Die Vampire, Die!” from the musical [title of show] (yes, that’s what it’s called), which is about getting past all those hurdles to express your creativity. But I’m having a bit of trouble actually following the song’s advice right now. Not to mention I’m writing job applications and things, since my contract is up for renewal, and due to bureaucracy, can’t just be renewed, it has to be advertised this time around. So basically I’m just feeling worn out and listless, and I know you’re supposed to try and work through that, but… blah.

In other news, PayPal Strong-arms Indie Book Publishers Over Erotic Content. Because adults can’t figure out what they do and don’t want to read for themselves, clearly, and they need a company that has nothing to do with books to decide what’s moral or not for them. Yep. Glad we cleared that up.

Oh, also. Y’know that writing course that I’m not enjoying? I realised that I could sneak ahead because the modules are actually hosted on the guy’s website and the files names are all the same except for the module number. Anyway, in the module about starting your manuscript is this tip (though I am paraphrasing): “Don’t worry about spelling and grammar – just get your words down on paper… you will have an editor to help you polish it up.” The first part of that, sure, I’ll get behind that. But I really hate the idea that you can just write your stuff and then an editor will “fix” it and make it nice for you. You’ve got to pull the hard yards yourself. This possibly bothers me more because I knew a girl a while ago who was convinced she was writing something amazing when she clearly had no idea about punctuation, grammar or generally making sense, but got really upset with me when I pointed this out to her and told her she would need to fix it up a great deal before she submitted it anywhere. I believe her exact words were “Stop sh*tting over what I love.” Now, I don’t have particularly thick skin, something I know I need to work on if I’m going to make it in the industry, but I know that I’m going to have to work hard and that not everyone’s going to love me. She didn’t quite seem to grasp this.

Anyway, that is my rant for today. I’ll go now and let you read some happier posts from other ROW80ers.

7 thoughts on “#ROW80 – errrghhh.

  1. Ryan King says:

    You mean.. that wasn’t a happy post? Hehe. I hope things work out with your contract. Sounds like you didn’t do a lot of research or enough. You know what? Don’t let that stop you. Mark where you need to fill in the gaps and keep writing anyway. Do the research for it later. After all, it’s only a 1st draft. Edits are coming! Good luck 🙂

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Yes, research is where I tend to get lazy. It is a fantasy and set in its own world, so to an extent, I can just make it up myself, but it’s kind of… getting the feel right, I guess, and having my exciting scenes making sense.

      Thanks for your encouragement! =)

      Like

  2. Camille LaGuire says:

    One way to do research for the stuff you make up is to read fiction by people who know more. No, it’s not good research for facts, but it is good research for feel.

    As for your writing friend who didn’t like people pooping on stuff she loved…. she loved her bad spelling? Making corrections in spelling and punctuation is not a negative comment on the writing, or the characters or the world. It’s just a negative comment on the spelling and punctuation.

    But, you know, a lot of people aren’t really writing to be read. They’re writing to be admired.

    Like

    • Emily says:

      Thanks for that suggestion! That is definitely what I want to work on first – it’s more the background against which the story is set, rather than being absolutely integral to the plot, so…

      I… don’t really know? I don’t think she realised it needed as much work as it clearly did, and thought it was perfectly fine in its first-draft-scribbled-down-to-get-it-out-of-my-head state.

      That’s a really good way of putting it! I think she was definitely in the latter category.

      Like

  3. KM Huber says:

    The last sentence in Camille LaGuire’s comment is priceless and perfect.

    As for your post, I thoroughly enjoyed it; your writing style is refreshing. Regarding research, I suggest writing through your story first, if you don’t mind facing a lot of revision. Depends on what is urging you on, story or research.

    Look forward to more great posts.
    Karen

    Like

    • Emily says:

      It was rather, wasn’t it?

      Aww, thanks for that! 😀 That does seem to be the theme coming through the comments here, and I think that is what I will work on doing. There is a LOT of it that is more character-based than setting/plot-based, so that stuff should be easier to work on.

      Thank you for the follow! =)

      Like

  4. Jessica Fritsche says:

    I understand about the research–I stalled out in my alt-historical fantasy because I had a lot of holes to fill in. I’m all for research if it’s necessary to lay the groundwork, but if you need to just fact check for realism later, I’d keep writing through it and just note where you want to look stuff up. 🙂

    Good luck, hope the rest of your week gets a little better and everything with your contract pulls through nicely!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

