#ROW80 – Write ALL the words!

So you know that moment where you realise your side characters and their subplot are far more interesting than your main characters and decide to write about them instead? Yeah, that happened to me on Monday night. I had a very unsuccessful writing session on my lunchbreak and decided I needed to take a break from Lotte and Henri… so I thought I would consider Jameson and Mireille and their backstory for a while… I was going to do it in the form of a short story, but then I wrote 1607 words in the space of an hour and a half, and that was only an opening scene in which they meet! They’re on opposite sides of a war at the moment, so there needs to be learning to trust one another, and bonding and betrayal of country and then betrayal of each other and all that good stuff.

So, yes, guess what my WIP is now? It feels good, though, having a solid idea to work with, and knowing that I’m getting somewhere. I’m vaguely worried that I’m going to be plagued with gender stereotypes, but I’m trying to ignore that fact at the moment.

Anyway, other things I have learned this week: yWriter is great for planning, but I think I need to write my actual WIPs just in one big Word document, and leave gaps with big red letters saying “I HAVE LEFT A SECTION HERE AND NEED TO COME BACK TO IT” when I get stuck. I think that is where I got stuck with Lotte and Henri’s story, I had a great plan, and lots of character bios and stuff, but trying to divide the story up into chapters and scenes as I went along interuppted my flow. I’m actually going to print out all the plans and notes and stuff and keep aside for later, since I’m going to be working on the other story for now, and yWriter does create a lot of folders to store everything, and they’re all over my “Stories” folder and kind of annoying. I am a bit OCD when it comes to my My Documents folder.

I’ve been trying to get a bit done on Mondule 2 of Andrew Jobling’s One Word at a Time course, which I mentioned a few posts ago that I had signed up for. I’m… not that enthusiastic about it, to be honest. I figured out tonight that I think that’s because he’s a motivational speaker first and foremost and writes like one. The course is about getting you in the right mindset to write a novel, which is somewhere I already am. I’ve got one manuscript at the editing stage, and another story ready to go. I know I can do it. I find the ROW80 community a lot more helpful when it comes to needing the encouragement to keep going, I guess because we all have a common goal, it’s not a generic module that’s sent to everyone in exchange for a fee. I’ll see the thing through, of course, but I’m glad I got such a good deal on it (I only paid 20% of the usual fee).

On that note, I feel a bit bad as I don’t think I commented on a single ROW80 check-in from last Sunday. I have this thing about not commenting unless I actually have something useful to say, and this week, I just didn’t feel like I could contribute much at all. I don’t know why. 😦 Will definitely try to make this up in the second half of the week.

Anyways, I guess that is all I have for this week. Catch you all again on Sunday. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “#ROW80 – Write ALL the words!

  1. Jessica Fritsche says:

    It sounds like you have a really interesting story being born out of your subplot…I alternately hate and love when that happens! Just tonight I had an extremely minor character start being much more funny and interesting than I planned on him being, elevating him to a supporting character role. πŸ™‚

    Good luck writing All the Things…I’m right there with you!

    Like

    • spaciireth says:

      Thanks Jessica! Those sorts of things that come as a surprise can be frustrating – in my NaNoWriMo last year, two of my mains kept on flirting with each other when they were supposed to just be good friends. I had to give them a stern talking to! I think it’s a good thing, though, it means we’re uncovering the story as it reveals itself to us, rather than forcing it to be written in a certain mould.

      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. kathils says:

    I have the same problem about commenting. πŸ˜‰ If everyone’s beat me to it, well, …. I think sometimes the role of what we think are our main characters, is to introduce us to our *real* main characters, because they’re too shy or too busy to do it themselves.

    Like

    • Emily says:

      This is a good way of looking at it! Jameson was probably being all broody and tucking himself up in Professor Winterthon’s castle and not wanting to talk about it.

      Like

  3. Audrey Tomorrow says:

    I type my story in Word first and then transfer over to yWriter later… but as I have multiple and switching POVs, it’s a bit easier for me…

    I tried chopping and transferring my old manuscript into it and it’s far more difficult…

    Motivational speakers never do much to actually motivate me… so many are either people who had success and don’t admit that luck had a good hand in their fortune… or have had no success at all and find wealth in telling others how to succeed…

    Like

  4. Mark Wilcox (@tbturbine) says:

    I constantly put notes in places about what I want to write when I come back or when I get to that point in the story (I prefer to write my stories linear)

    Do not put your work in a single document. It’s just too hard to move things around.

    Personally – this is why I use Scrivener because it makes this simple to do and makes publishing to anything (for print, PDF, Kindle, Nook) a 1 click experience.

    But if you really want to stick with Word – then use 1 file per scene. And then merge back together at the end.

    You get more flexibility and if you do for some reason lose a file – it’s only 1 scene and not everything.

    Like

  5. Laura Parish says:

    Well done to you.
    I am also not good at commenting on other’s blogs. It’s due to me being extremely disorganised so I am sorry it took me a while to stop by.

    Your story sounds ace. ywriter sounds interesting? I’ve never heard of that. x

    Like

    • Emily says:

      That is perfectly all right, I know exactly what it’s like!

      Thanks! As far as I can tell, having never actually used Scrivener, yWriter is a free, more basic version of it. You can divide your writing up into scenes and then insert the scenes into chapters, etc, and there is a bit for putting in character bios, locations, items, etc that feature in the story. It can be handy, but I tend to a) keep all that in my head and actually struggle a bit to write it down unless it comes up in the story and b) write in quite a linear manner, so the chapters/scenes aren’t so much an issue.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

