#ROW80 – Quick check-in today

I feel like Sunday has snuck up on me this week. The last few days have been a mixed bag in terms of my new goals. While I’ve written 980 words this week overall (close enough to my old goal of 1000 words/week), and edited 14 pages, the writing hasn’t been particularly regular. I did write 275 words on Thursday, but then on Friday I fell asleep on the couch almost as soon as I got home from work and didn’t really get up again except to relocate to my bed. Yesterday I was at a function with some old uni friends which involved watching all 9 hours of the BBC series Sherlock, so nothing got done then.

Today, no writing got done exactly, but I did do some brainstorming on Skype with a friend who has her own WIP that she’s just started recently. We discovered we’ve both got the issue of not being particularly politically-minded ourselves, but writing plots that involve politics of one kind or another (mine is a fantasy, hers is a dystopian future, so it can be made up to a point, but we want it to be convincing). I’m also finding my other trouble is that I’m telling, rather than showing. Usually I have no issue with “Show, don’t tell” so I’m not why I’m finding it hard this time.

I’ve also made a few visual references for characters (for the most part, I base their physical appearances on famous people who I can easily Google Image Search). My MCs look like Belle from Beauty and the Beast and Bernard from Megamind respectively, while MC1’s father is the Robert Downey Jr. Sherlock Holmes. Having watched the most recent episode ofย Once Upon A Time (1×12, for if/when people are reading this down the track),ย I think my Professor-at-the-magic-spy-school-who-has-a-tragic-past is going to look like that show’s Rumpelstiltskin/Mr Gold.

So yes. It’s now a bit after 8pm, so I think I might try to do some more plotting for that tonight, or find some more pictures, or perhaps even start on the next module of Andrew Jobling’s One Word at a Time course. It’s a good course, I guess, but I am relieved I only payed $60 and not $300. You can tell it’s written by motivational speaker, and while that’s all good and well, there have been more than a few times where I’ve just been like, “Dude, tone down the hyperbole”.

And on that note, I say goodnight!

6 thoughts on “#ROW80 – Quick check-in today

  1. Audrey Tomorrow says:

    I have the same issue with show, don’t tell at the moment… fortunately, I have a work shop group who are going through and marking where I tell…

    I also need to create visual references for my characters.

    Like

    • spaciireth says:

      I think I need to look into finding a group like that somewhere in my town.

      They are very handy! Even if they don’t completely correspond to the image you have of your character in your head, it’s good to have something in front of you.

      Like

  2. maidrya says:

    Hmm…I would like to have a function that involved watching 9 hours of Sherlock! Instead, I just play hookey and watch it on my own. ๐Ÿ™‚

    980 words for the week and 14 pages edited, sounds like respectable progress to me. Good luck this week.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

