A Week of Getting Organised and Realising Things

A Round of Words in 80 Days

I had grand intentions of getting my 1000 words written on the weekend, but that didn’t happen and I had to make do with the 300 I wrote during my lunchbreak on Friday. However, that is okay, because at least some things about the story I want to write ocurred to me. Firstly, I don’t think it would ever have made it as a NaNoWriMo plot, because that would require research (it’s set in England at the beginning of World War 2) and I, quite frankly, am lazy. That’s why the majority of my stories are either fantasy or set in the future, or whatever, so that I can argue, “Well, this is how it happens here, so ner.” Second, I don’t think this will be a particularly long story. While I don’t know exactly what is going to happen past the opening scene, yet, I don’t think it’s going to be that much… I guess that will remain to be seen. when I get more stuck into it. Thirdly, in my head, my main character and her boyfriend resemble the barista at the coffee shop I frequent of a morning, and the guy who may or may not be her boyfriend, but at least helps her out some mornings. This may have something to do with my main character working in a cafe, and my brain making connections. I don’t know. Considering both Katie and her possible boyfriend are completely adorable, I don’t completely mind.

My NaNoWriMo, all printed out and shiny.

In editing news, I didn’t get much of that done either, BUT! Lookie at the picture! I felt quite excited just holding it in my hand. The reason that I didn’t get any editing done was because first, I felt I ought to read the whole thing and remind myself of exactly what happened (there was SO MUCH I didn’t remember) and then secondly, because it has time travel and alternate time streams and things, I wanted to draw up a timeline for the events and that took longer than expected. Afterwards, because I’d been sitting on the floor and leaning right over to do it, my stomach felt all weird, so I stopped doing anything really, and came to type this up. But the read-through was fun. There are typos galore and plot inconsistencies, but a lot of those I had already realised and made a note of when I was writing initially.

There was one bit section that I realised is going to have to be rewritten when I get to it, but that’s fine. Mostly, one large chunk is actually superfluous, but if I delete that, I would then have to delete half a scene that I really like. Basically, I came up with an alternate purpose for the scene I like, meaning that I can take out the chunk I don’t need. I have a feeling this may mean losing quite a few words, but there are probably going to be more added at the end and in other places, so it shouldn’t be too much of an issue.

It occurred to me earlier that I have two 2500 word essays due on January 30, which is only twenty-two days away, so I should probably start researching those first and foremost. I am not particularly interested in the topics, but they are due, so what can I do? We’ll have to see how I go cramming everything in.

8 thoughts on “A Week of Getting Organised and Realising Things

  1. Tanya Reed says:

    Any writing means at least you’re writing.

    I hear you about the lazy part. I’m the same…maybe that’s why when I don’t write fan fic it’s mostly fantasy as well. 🙂 (Well, that and I don’t know how to make stuff happen when there’s no swords and magic and stuff.)

    I love how your nano story looks. 🙂 I’m in the middle of typing mine up. Fun stuff.

    Good luck for your next week’s writing!

    Like

    • spaciireth says:

      That’s very true.

      Lol! I used to try just writing stories about everyday life and magic and stuff started happening in them anyway, so I gave up and went with it.

      Good luck for you, too! 😀

      Like

  2. Natasha says:

    I totally love your printed NANO copy!! I printed mine at work and doesn’t look so nice but I love it anyway.. secretly, I keep it in my bag with me all the time. I’m a nut but I worked so hard on it. The read through for m me was fun and crazy… so many typos but its my heart on those pages. Its sooo far from done but that’s what ROW80 is helping me with 🙂

    Try to take it one step at a time with your writing. I was getting on myself a lot trying to fit everything in.

    Like

    • spaciireth says:

      Hee, thanks! I’ll admit I kind of just kept holding it and looking at it with a stupid look on my face. I have it in my drawer at work right now, with a plan to taking it out at lunch and hoping people will ask me about it. Lame, I know, but considering I spent all my lunch breaks during November at my computer, they all knew what I was up to, so I’d like to share this end of the process with them as well.

      Yes, I think that’s what I’ve got to do, and try not to bite off more than I can chew. I always get this way with a new year, I expect my enthusiasm will wear off in a while, and then I’ll have all these half-finished things. Heh.

      Like

  3. Natasha says:

    LOL!! Not lame!! I totally did the same thing. I spent all my lunch breaks at my job writing too. My entire office was routing me on! A little sad when I didn’t finish…but I kicked but none the less.
    I think we are all that way to some extent in the new year… You will rock it I’m sure..Half or full finished!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

